The Boys, Amazon TV show

TS6so
post Jul 28 2019, 10:55 AM, updated 4y ago

135 posts

The Boys - Absolute power corrupts absolutely.

The premise is a world where the bad guys is the superheroes. If you want to experience out of the box superheroes story, look no further. You have a parody of Justice League who are rotten to it's core. A powerful corporation running them like only a capitalist fat cat wet dream. Every moves and motivation fueled by greed and staying in power.

Taking cue from Watchmen, Who watches who? The Boys is the only obstacle that stood in the path of The Seven diabolical plans. To quote the famous Nietzsche words - To fight a monster, you have to become one. Karl Urban's Butcher is amazing as the foul mouthed leader of the Boys that has a talent in making inappropriate puns like the Spice Girls reference in the trailer. It's a race to the bottom who can out-evil each other. Homelander is the creepy Superman clone who masked his depravity with a smile. The TV show pivots to some fresher ground that surpasses from the book. The evil deeds of the Seven made a lot more sense and ties everything together tightly. Season 2 is moving to uncharted territory with this season's finale cliffhanger.

This is an improvement over Preacher show, another bat shit crazy creation of Garth Ennis. If you want the unhinged amoral sex and violence, The Books is the place to be. Necrophilia, bestiality, pedophilia, unimaginable killings and the whole nine yard.
nomozeyafe P
post Jul 28 2019, 03:31 PM

Probation

Are you looking for a review or just promoting lol...

gaeria84
post Jul 28 2019, 05:15 PM

837 posts

Looks like ripoff of justice lords/ injustice
TS6so
post Jul 28 2019, 07:33 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Jul 28 2019, 06:15 PM)
Errmmm....the books predates Injustice. Garth Ennis, the second waves of successful British writers that cross the pond to Murica. Watch first then only you bitch over it. The world larger than just the big two....
kraziekd
post Jul 29 2019, 08:51 AM

117 posts

i finished watching it yesterday.. Amazon really is making good series now.. I really love the story.. i dun even care it doesn't follow the comic because I feel the casting is on point.. I read the comic and was really surprised by how gory and sexual it was.. the series tune down both elements.. but I dun mind much.. I hope to see more heroes in the second season like Tek-Knight and others.. this series is definitely better than Preacher

kind of feel bad for The Deep as the series goes on despite how douchy he was in the first few episodes
TS6so
post Jul 30 2019, 04:03 PM

135 posts

Just found out in season 2, there gonna be Stormfront appearance. The Nazi superman.
noir7559
post Jul 30 2019, 05:35 PM

Take My Advice, I Don't Need It
592 posts

Butcher & Homelander are definitely the best character(s) on the show, both the character & portrayal

sidenote, after watching The Boys, i'd definitely more terrified of the Homelander than Thanos though laugh.gif

This post has been edited by noir7559: Jul 30 2019, 05:35 PM
greyshadow
post Jul 31 2019, 11:20 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Pretty good show!

kinda surprised to see Simon Pegg playing such a trivia role, maybe as a tribute to the original comic version of Hughie, which is a Simon Pegg lookalike

can't wait for season 2 tho!
Phantom Renegade
post Aug 1 2019, 07:37 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Jul 28 2019, 05:15 PM)
Its a very good show.

You should try and watch it...
gaeria84
post Aug 5 2019, 11:13 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jul 28 2019, 07:33 PM)
Errmmm....the books predates Injustice. Garth Ennis, the second waves of successful British writers that cross the pond to Murica. Watch first then only you bitch over it. The world larger than just the big two....
But wasn't Justice Lords back in 2000? hmm.gif
I simply adored Injustice's storyline, eventhough it was just a video game

Still trying to finish the series. It's pretty good, but still liked Injustice storyline from the game better
Still can't help feeling that homelander = superman, queen maeve = wonder woman, a train = flash, the deep = aquaman, black noir = batman, starlight = starfire/stargirl laugh.gif

After watching what homelander did with the passenger plane, I suddenly got a deeper appreciation for this classic scene

Klesk
post Aug 5 2019, 11:14 AM

3,469 posts

damn this show exceeds all expectations! the current wave of current superheroes movie assault by Marvel and DC, this is definitely a breath of fresh air. Homelander and Butcher casting is on point, i think Karl Urban is playing the best role in his career! plus he's not even a brit!
Btw the actor playing hughie is actually the son of Dennis Quaid and Meg Ryan, no wonder he looks so familiar
TS6so
post Aug 5 2019, 11:44 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Aug 5 2019, 12:13 PM)
But wasn't Justice Lords back in 2000?  hmm.gif
Just because you are familiar with one thing doesn't mean the other holds no ground. Warren Ellis and Mark Millar also did their version of JL clone in The Authority and The Planetary. They are just using stereotypical convention in a deconstructed serious storylines. Kurt Busiek also has his Astro City that has silver age JL tone tackling different things you don't see in Marvel and DC. The list will just go on and on.

The Boys differs from the rest is in its corporate monetization and celebrity culture commentary.

I get it...nuance is not your thing...lol...
greyshadow
post Aug 6 2019, 11:41 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Aug 5 2019, 11:13 AM)
But wasn't Justice Lords back in 2000?  hmm.gif

Still trying to finish the series. It's pretty good, but still liked Injustice storyline from the game better
Still can't help feeling that homelander = superman, queen maeve = wonder woman, a train = flash, the deep = aquaman, black noir = batman, starlight = starfire/stargirl  laugh.gif

After watching what homelander did with the passenger plane, I suddenly got a deeper appreciation for this classic scene

Homelander plane rescue scenes is taking a potshot at the classic Superman's plane rescue tongue.gif

gaeria84
post Aug 6 2019, 12:10 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 6 2019, 11:41 AM)
Homelander plane rescue scenes is taking a potshot at the classic Superman's plane rescue tongue.gif
Fly down 132 times? laugh.gif

Namelessone1973
post Aug 8 2019, 10:31 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(kraziekd @ Jul 29 2019, 08:51 AM)
i finished watching it yesterday.. Amazon really is making good series now.. I really love the story.. i dun even care it doesn't follow the comic because I feel the casting is on point.. I read the comic and was really surprised by how gory and sexual it was.. the series tune down both elements.. but I dun mind much.. I hope to see more heroes in the second season like Tek-Knight and others.. this series is definitely better than Preacher

kind of feel bad for The Deep as the series goes on despite how douchy he was in the first few episodes
The scene where he rescued the dolphin was both funny and sad especially they slow-mo the dolphin crashing through the windscreen. The really made fun of all the cartoon Aquaman jokes about talking to fish. Actually, it made me realised and appreciate that Jason Mamoa made Aquaman cool instead of just a comic relief.
TS6so
post Sep 3 2020, 06:32 AM

135 posts

The first 3 episodes gonna drop in a day or two.

If you haven't watch a single episode, now is the time to start binging as that cliffhanger from season 1 really kicks you in the nutsack.
musiclover06 P
post Sep 3 2020, 07:20 AM

Probation

QUOTE(6so @ Sep 3 2020, 06:32 AM)
The first 3 episodes gonna drop in a day or two.

If you haven't watch a single episode, now is the time to start binging as that cliffhanger from season 1 really kicks you in the nutsack.
Just finished last night and man, that cliffhanger was something I wasn't expecting at all rclxub.gif so excited for the new episodes!!
TS6so
post Sep 5 2020, 12:02 PM

135 posts

Wow...just wow, you thought you've had an idea how depraved Homelander was, the second season kicks up couple of more notches. At the same time Stormfront and Edgar shows who's the real big bad. Impressive follow up to first season.
TS6so
post Oct 10 2020, 10:04 AM

135 posts

In the words of Butcher. Effing diabolical!!! What a great 2nd season. Literally mind-blowing...lol!!!
swks26
post Oct 10 2020, 02:49 PM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

That ending though

0.0278sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:03 AM