Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V40th Anniversary, Happy 40th!

Savor_Savvy
post Nov 11 2020, 07:21 AM

2,743 posts

Anybody having the hi-reso 1/100 models?

Looks steep at RM500.
Savor_Savvy
post Jun 28 2022, 06:25 PM

2,743 posts

15 years ago, I stopped collecting Gunpla. Now I would like to reignite the hobby. Started with basic gunpla tools, and a MG RX-78-2 v3.0. Wish me luck.

Was hoping to get a MG Astray Amatsu, if there's one from Bandai.
Savor_Savvy
post Jun 29 2022, 11:19 AM

2,743 posts

QUOTE(Marcion @ Jun 29 2022, 08:39 AM)
Only daban got either you can buy black or white, else get both
But I read somewhere, that this kit is hard to build due to its parts. Need to do some manual adjustment.
Savor_Savvy
post Jul 2 2022, 12:47 PM

2,743 posts

Do the water decals from Dalin contain the same exact stickers found in the kit? Or mostly for the body only?
Savor_Savvy
post Jul 10 2022, 07:33 AM

2,743 posts

Any idea how to topcoat a Unicorn Gundam? Masking tape?
Savor_Savvy
post Jul 24 2022, 12:46 PM

2,743 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Jun 19 2022, 02:11 AM)
Straight away use the Nanye nipper. You don't need those Plato nipper.
My fake plato 170 lasted me 4 MG kits.
Savor_Savvy
post Sep 7 2022, 03:01 PM

2,743 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 5 2022, 02:31 PM)
just starting gunpla
finished a NG, HG then an MG

then saw some cheap Daban HG Banshee & Unicorn, and MG RX78-2 v3, hands got itchy so bought them all without first researching about Daban models

Last night first try with the banshee... errr... and kinda regret paying for it already, the kits doesn't seems to snap fit very well, plenty of gaps, and some smaller parts doesn't even stay in place... sad.gif
So I guess I'll need to use cement to fix those smaller parts that doesn't want to stay put...

then I'm confused, which kind of cement to go for?  went to my local hobby shop, too many choices there, extra thin la, SP la, ABS la... etc...  icon_question.gif
I am using the Cement SP, because my local shop carries this. Cement is great for Plastics, but for ABS, especially if you broke the waist with the ball joint, then get the Elephant Superglue and use that. Cement cannot tahan.

Daban or any other bootlegs are nice, but only for display. Not fit for any poses. Consider top-coating them after applying water decals. Personally, I am using Mr Super Smooth Clear Matt and Dalin decals. Awesome results without painting.
Savor_Savvy
post Feb 22 2023, 02:31 PM

2,743 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Nov 3 2022, 10:41 AM)
saw some good 11.11 deals on Daban PG kits on taobao

anyone had experience with the Daban PG sets? 

I have only tried their HG & MG set once, their HG quality is pretty bad for me, but MG I've tried is kinda not bad, still got tonnes of things to fix, but nevertheless you get what you paid for

So now fingers itchy to try their PG sets hmm.gif
Daban PG kits are okay. I tried the PG Strike. Ended up selling it because I still prefer MG.
Savor_Savvy
post Feb 22 2023, 03:21 PM

2,743 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Feb 22 2023, 03:14 PM)
my daban PG Strike is still WIP since CNY holiday... taking my own sweet time  rolleyes.gif

still got PG Unicorn and PG Blue Frame collecting dust at the corner....

love the 1/60 size, perfect for my ailing eye sights and sausage fingers tongue.gif

MG is just nice, but I'll probably never touch another RG kits...
RG, although nice, albeit small, and it's killing your fingers.

0.0368sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:10 PM