Anyone using honda ex5 FI?, Feedback needed

SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:18 PM, updated 7y ago

282 posts

Hi Sifus,

Anyone using Honda ex5 fi for daily ride? How is the bike overall? I know the older gen carbureted ex5 bike was rock solid. I need to get one on installment basis as i am walking everywhere or taking the free bus. Unless travelling far then only take the paid bus / lrt. Have a dream of getting either a bezza / axia / saga flx before 2020 as we need a family vehicle. Until then thinking of getting a bike like the honda ex5 for daily use. So reliability is important.

Anyone can share their experience using one? I have heard using the fuel injected system can get faulty easily. How far its true I dont know. Hope someone could share. Thanks sifus.
SUSdadah
post Jul 26 2019, 08:21 PM

161 posts

to go around town is ok. Tried my friend ex5 on highway once and really i dont recommend u to go ride highway with ex5
SUSKhai92
post Jul 26 2019, 08:22 PM

228 posts

Vario
pretty23
post Jul 26 2019, 08:23 PM

1,791 posts

What problem you heard ?
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:24 PM

282 posts

No not on highways. Just to send my kids to school and back. 2 dotters are walking to school and back and my son is sent using the free bus because its far abit. Then simple rides to markets and stuffs with wife.
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:25 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Jul 26 2019, 08:23 PM)
What problem you heard ?
Just read today that one guy had 2 problems within a year due to fuel injection.
SUSskyblu3
post Jul 26 2019, 08:27 PM

157 posts

I ride this.

Top speed not fast enough. 130kmh only.

SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:28 PM

282 posts

Speed is not an issue. Reliability is what i want. Im an old fag anyways.
pretty23
post Jul 26 2019, 08:33 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Jul 26 2019, 08:25 PM)
Just read today that one guy had 2 problems within a year due to fuel injection.
The EX5 main issue is the drum brake. Other issue is not a big deal.
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:35 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Jul 26 2019, 08:33 PM)
The EX5 main issue is the drum brake. Other issue is not a big deal.
I see. Whats the issue with the drum brakes you heard?
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Jul 26 2019, 08:36 PM

937 posts

i’m motorbike seller.

i suggest you take top up a bit for lc135 or vario 150 (if you ok with scooter).

or lagenda 115zr fi.

my side of reasoning is honda sparepart department very messy, we ordered many items either don’t have stocks or farking ridiculously expensive.

i won’t say ex5 110 fi is bad, but you can have better choice with that amount of money.
CyrusWong
post Jul 26 2019, 08:38 PM

1,643 posts

i’m motorbike seller

top up a bit you get ferarri

why ride when you can drive
pretty23
post Jul 26 2019, 08:38 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Jul 26 2019, 08:35 PM)
I see. Whats the issue with the drum brakes you heard?
Although EX5 is not fast speed model but the original drum brake really suck, can't brake in expectable distance. The Honda improve the engine cc but still not improve to disk brake. Do you think there is a problem?
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:39 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(cHaRsIeWpAu^^ @ Jul 26 2019, 08:36 PM)
i’m motorbike seller.

i suggest you take top up a bit for lc135 or vario 150 (if you ok with scooter).

or lagenda 115zr fi.

my side of reasoning is honda sparepart department very messy, we ordered many items either don’t have stocks or farking ridiculously expensive.

i won’t say ex5 110 fi is bad, but you can have better choice with that amount of money.
I see. I heard honda’s reliability is legendary. First time hearing this mess about spare parts and high prices. Whats the price of lc135 and vario 150 boss?
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:40 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Jul 26 2019, 08:38 PM)
i’m motorbike seller

top up a bit you get ferarri

why ride when you can drive
That’s all i can afford bro.
arza04
post Jul 26 2019, 08:41 PM

303 posts

I use Honda vario for daily abuse to work. Good acceleration and saves fuel a lot

I recommend this scooter if ok with scooter and want brand new.

If u prefer cheaper bike, get used kapchai like LC/wave/future/lagenda or new yamaha avantiz

This post has been edited by arza04: Jul 26 2019, 08:42 PM
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:41 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Jul 26 2019, 08:38 PM)
Although EX5 is not fast speed model but the original drum brake really suck, can't brake in expectable distance. The Honda improve the engine cc but still not improve to disk brake. Do you think there is a problem?
Sounds like there could be. Problems with brakes should be a big no no.
arza04
post Jul 26 2019, 08:43 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(cHaRsIeWpAu^^ @ Jul 26 2019, 08:36 PM)
i’m motorbike seller.

or lagenda 115zr fi.

I use vario, minor accident twice...no parts to replace leh
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:43 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(arza04 @ Jul 26 2019, 08:41 PM)
I use Honda vario for daily abuse to work. Good acceleration and saves fuel a lot

I recommend this scooter if ok with scooter and want brand new.

If u prefer cheaper bike, get used kapchai like LC/wave/future/lagenda or new yamaha avantiz
Whats the price of new / used vario?
kucingrimau
post Jul 26 2019, 08:44 PM

197 posts

If your concern is the fuel injection, then I can confirm worry free operation. Been using for 2 years now. Parts are available everywhere, btw.
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Jul 26 2019, 08:45 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Jul 26 2019, 08:39 PM)
I see. I heard honda’s reliability is legendary. First time hearing this mess about spare parts and high prices. Whats the price of lc135 and vario 150 boss?
lc135 and vario 150 cash price otr around 7.5 to 7.8k.

honda bikes itself is good, just that their sparepart department messy. let’s put it in this way: i selling their bikes with confidence, then 6 months passed, customers started coming back to my shop to service or repair their bikes. but then when i ordered the things, this don’t have that don’t have. i also dulan selling their bikes already.

This post has been edited by cHaRsIeWpAu^^: Jul 26 2019, 08:45 PM
pretty23

1,791 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Jul 26 2019, 08:41 PM)
Sounds like there could be. Problems with brakes should be a big no no.
Got cons sure got pros. The engine damn reliable and durable. It never let you down.
SUSRagingBalls

282 posts

QUOTE(kucingrimau @ Jul 26 2019, 08:44 PM)
If your concern is the fuel injection, then I can confirm worry free operation. Been using for 2 years now. Parts are available everywhere, btw.
I see , that’s great to hear.
raquinz
post Jul 26 2019, 08:46 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jul 26 2019, 08:27 PM)
I ride this.

Top speed not fast enough.  130kmh only.
130km/h fast la lo.110cc onli..
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:47 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Jul 26 2019, 08:45 PM)
Got cons sure got pros. The engine damn reliable and durable. It never let you down.
What good is a reliable engine if the brakes fail you at a crucial moment?
pretty23
post Jul 26 2019, 08:49 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Jul 26 2019, 08:47 PM)
What good is a reliable engine if the brakes fail you at a crucial moment?
So you will always remember don't speedy like Mat Rempit.

You always remember in you brain, original EX5 brake is suck and don't speed.
arinpresto
post Jul 26 2019, 08:50 PM

36 posts

Ysuku better.

Join the groupie.
arza04
post Jul 26 2019, 08:50 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Jul 26 2019, 08:43 PM)
Whats the price of new / used vario?
7.1 to 7.5k for new. Used quite hard to get since its just launched Q3 last year. Oh btw if u are a top speed demon this scooter not for you because its speed cut limited at 120km/h despite being a 150cc scooter. But still a nice scooter because of the large underseat compartment that can store helmet

This post has been edited by arza04: Jul 26 2019, 08:51 PM
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:51 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Jul 26 2019, 08:49 PM)
So you will always remember don't speedy like Mat Rempit.

You always remember in you brain, original EX5 brake is suck and don't speed.
But i note your point.
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:52 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(arza04 @ Jul 26 2019, 08:50 PM)
7.1 to 7.5k for new. Used quite hard to get since its just launched Q3 last year. Oh btw if u are a top speed demon this scooter not for you because its speed cut limited at 120km/h despite being a 150cc scooter. But still a nice scooter because of the large underseat compartment that can store helmet
How many helmets can it store bro?
arza04
post Jul 26 2019, 08:52 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Jul 26 2019, 08:52 PM)
How many helmets can it store bro?
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:53 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(arza04 @ Jul 26 2019, 08:50 PM)
But price is out of my range bro. biggrin.gif
SUSdexaran
post Jul 26 2019, 08:55 PM

146 posts

better get wave 125 fi, big under seat storage
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 08:57 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(dexaran @ Jul 26 2019, 08:55 PM)
I see. Noted bro.
brkli
post Jul 26 2019, 08:58 PM

592 posts

if tight budget, get a used honda wave 110, or new SYM E Bonus 110..
kucingrimau
post Jul 26 2019, 08:58 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(dexaran @ Jul 26 2019, 08:55 PM)
I second this. suspension is good. wide seat. and disc brakes front and rear.
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:00 PM

282 posts

Storage i can solve by getting a givi box mounted. What i need is reliability and affordability. So far the ex5 seems to tick all the boxes. Unless there is something i dont know about.
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:01 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(kucingrimau @ Jul 26 2019, 08:58 PM)
I second this. suspension is good. wide seat. and disc brakes front and rear.
How is the engine reliability bro?
linkinxmen
post Jul 26 2019, 09:03 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(cHaRsIeWpAu^^ @ Jul 26 2019, 08:45 PM)
lc135 and vario 150 cash price otr around 7.5 to 7.8k.

honda bikes itself is good, just that their sparepart department messy. let’s put it in this way: i selling their bikes with confidence, then 6 months passed, customers started coming back to my shop to service or repair their bikes. but then when i ordered the things, this don’t have that don’t have. i also dulan selling their bikes already.
location of your shop ah, might go there someday.
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:03 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Jul 26 2019, 08:58 PM)
if tight budget, get a used honda wave 110, or new SYM E Bonus 110..
Budget is not just tight but very tight. sad.gif
On,y can get it on installment plans.
SUSdexaran
post Jul 26 2019, 09:04 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Jul 26 2019, 09:01 PM)
very reliable, my dad clock 20000k but old version (use carb instead of fi)
just change oil when time
basically same maintenance as other bike
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:05 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(dexaran @ Jul 26 2019, 09:04 PM)
very reliable, my dad clock 20000k but old version (use carb instead of fi)
just change oil when time
basically same maintenance as other bike
I see. Good to know that.
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:08 PM

282 posts

I also keep hearing the carb is more reliable than fi.
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:12 PM

282 posts

The only worry in getting a carb bike is that it could be too old to be considered reliable anymore.
brkli
post Jul 26 2019, 09:15 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Jul 26 2019, 09:03 PM)
Budget is not just tight but very tight.  sad.gif
On,y can get it on installment plans.
SYM E Bonus 110 cheaper than EX5.
kucingrimau
post Jul 26 2019, 09:16 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Jul 26 2019, 09:01 PM)
Been using for 3 months. So far so good. I chose this bike because I think high chance it's gonna be reliable. Because my wife using it and I don't want her to get stranded anywhere when I'm at work.
ah_suknat
post Jul 26 2019, 09:16 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

ITT

Ramai kantoi 1200 a month
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:17 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(kucingrimau @ Jul 26 2019, 09:16 PM)
Been using for 3 months. So far so good. I chose this bike because I think high chance it's gonna be reliable. Because my wife using it and I don't want her to get stranded anywhere when I'm at work.
Thats great to hear bro.
croydon
post Jul 26 2019, 09:21 PM

535 posts

This post has been edited by croydon: Jul 27 2019, 04:24 AM
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:22 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Jul 26 2019, 09:21 PM)
dun forget to install front disc brake for better braking.... cost rm3-4xx new and local part.. original part cost more
You mean on the ex5?
kucingrimau
post Jul 26 2019, 09:23 PM

197 posts

As a general rule of thumb, no matter what bike you choose make sure you don't ever open the engine apart. The shop mechanic may say "cleaning carbon off the piston and top chamber" to improve performance. Or "adjust tappet" /"change small chain" because engine becoming noisy. Just decline and do normal engine oil/oil filter/spark plug change whichever is necessary. Speaking from experience.
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:25 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(kucingrimau @ Jul 26 2019, 09:23 PM)
As a general rule of thumb, no matter what bike you choose make sure you don't ever open the engine apart. The shop mechanic may say "cleaning carbon off the piston and top chamber" to improve performance. Or "adjust tappet" /"change small chain" because engine becoming noisy. Just decline and do normal engine oil/oil filter/spark plug change whichever is necessary. Speaking from experience.
Noted bro.
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:25 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(kucingrimau @ Jul 26 2019, 09:23 PM)
Noted that good point.
croydon
post Jul 26 2019, 09:27 PM

535 posts

This post has been edited by croydon: Jul 27 2019, 04:24 AM
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:27 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Jul 26 2019, 09:21 PM)
dun forget to install front disc brake for better braking.... cost rm3-4xx new and local part.. original part cost more
Might need to carefully plan and save first before i can get this done.
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:29 PM

282 posts

Budget is very tight due to supporting a family of 5.
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:35 PM

282 posts

Thanks for all your valuable feedback bros. Deeply appreciate it. Feel free to add more if available. 🙏

This post has been edited by RagingBalls: Jul 26 2019, 09:36 PM
UnknownH
post Jul 26 2019, 09:40 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Jul 26 2019, 09:08 PM)
I also keep hearing the carb is more reliable than fi.
Carb is old tech. They have pretty simple mechanism thus pretty easy to fix.
Fi is new tech(not really though, probably in kapcai). They're also reliable but due to their much more complicated how things work, they're harder to fix.

Just get the new stuff. About the brake, just change the brake shoe. Heck just get new wave. Huge compartment under seat. Practical.

This post has been edited by UnknownH: Jul 26 2019, 09:41 PM
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:41 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Jul 26 2019, 09:40 PM)
Fi is new tech(not really though, probably in kapcai). They're also reliable but due to their much more complicated how things work, they're harder to fix.
Just get the new stuff. About the brake, just change the brake shoe.
Agree. Good point. This is why I am hesitant in getting a used carb bike.

This post has been edited by RagingBalls: Jul 26 2019, 09:42 PM
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:44 PM

282 posts

Just get the new stuff. About the brake, just change the brake shoe. Heck just get new wave. Huge compartment under seat. Practical.
I am an old fag. The most i would be doing is probably 60 - 70 km/h. So a drum brake might be just fine for me. As long as it’s able to brake. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by RagingBalls: Jul 26 2019, 09:47 PM
e_X
post Jul 26 2019, 09:47 PM

584 posts

Buy used bike lah if low on budget, why always wanna buy new.
fridel
post Jul 26 2019, 09:49 PM

kuran ka? ok e oi?
1,659 posts

QUOTE(dadah @ Jul 26 2019, 08:21 PM)
to go around town is ok. Tried my friend ex5 on highway once and really i dont recommend u to go ride highway  with ex5
I ride cheap Honda 100cc bike from KL to tanjung malim at 1am ok saja

SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:52 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(e_X @ Jul 26 2019, 09:47 PM)
Buy used bike lah if low on budget, why always wanna buy new.
Yes probably not a spanking new bike. I am open to a used bike within 3 years old, as long as reliable and not thrashed up or rempited.
UnknownH
post Jul 26 2019, 09:53 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Jul 26 2019, 09:41 PM)
Agree. Good point. This is why I am hesitant in getting a used carb bike.
Lol there are much bigger concerns than the carb if buying used one. As long it's original and well, probably just need to blow air only. Leaking? Change gasket or check its float. Adjust air-fuel ratio? Main jet, pilot or the slide needle.
Like i said, carb is simple. laugh.gif
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:56 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Jul 26 2019, 09:53 PM)
Lol there are much bigger concerns than the carb if buying used one. As long it's original and well, probably just need to blow air only. Leaking? Change gasket or check its float. Adjust air-fuel ratio? Main jet, pilot or the slide needle.
Noted bro.
kucingrimau
post Jul 26 2019, 09:57 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Jul 26 2019, 09:53 PM)
Maybe simple but I doubt TS has time and money to spend on servicing a carb when he/she has to feed 5 mouths lol
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 09:59 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(kucingrimau @ Jul 26 2019, 09:57 PM)
Maybe simple but I doubt TS has time and money to spend on servicing a carb when he/she has to feed 5 mouths lol
Agree on this too. biggrin.gif
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 10:00 PM

282 posts

Right now i am confused and undecided so I will stick with walking and using the selangor free bus service for a while. biggrin.gif
UnknownH
post Jul 26 2019, 10:03 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(kucingrimau @ Jul 26 2019, 09:57 PM)
I don't see TS servicing by himself anyway. But I imagine fi would be much complicated and cost a lot more to fix than a carb.

Maybe similar to kapcai vs scooter hmm.gif
kucingrimau
post Jul 26 2019, 10:18 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Jul 26 2019, 10:03 PM)
I don't see TS servicing by himself anyway. But I imagine fi would be much complicated and cost a lot more to fix than a carb.

Advantage FI is no need to do any servicing. Disadvantage is difficulty starting with kickstarter once battery die. Usually if FI kaput (mine FZ150i 7 years never kaput yet) only thing to do is change out whole unit. It can set you back by rm350 for original.
UnknownH
post Jul 26 2019, 10:22 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(kucingrimau @ Jul 26 2019, 10:18 PM)
Advantage FI is no need to do any servicing. Disadvantage is difficulty starting with kickstarter once battery die. Usually if FI kaput (mine FZ150i 7 years never kaput yet) only thing to do is change out whole unit. It can set you back by rm350 for original.
TS worried about carb in used bike hence my long post.
Of course I'll pick FI anyway.
kucingrimau
post Jul 26 2019, 10:23 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Jul 26 2019, 10:22 PM)
TS worried about carb in used bike hence my long post.
Of course I'll pick FI anyway.
Oh ya. correct. sorry for derailing.
Balanced
post Jul 26 2019, 10:32 PM

877 posts

No love for modenas? Engine not bad what. My house been using the kriss 1 since forever
SUSlaoahpek
post Jul 26 2019, 10:34 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Jul 26 2019, 10:03 PM)

im using ex5 class, i supposed its carb.

i think its 23yo d....

do you think its still safe to ride? should i change ? but i dont feel like wasting money to buy new.
brkli
post Jul 26 2019, 10:34 PM

592 posts

as far as i know fuel injection use a fuel pump and electronics to control the fuel pump, if spoilt, mean replace the whole part. as for carb, it is high "servicable" as it is fully mechanical and only need to replace the components within that are faulty.

overall fuel injection is more efficient in mixng fuel and air as it is precise. that why u see all those "EEV" are FI..

This post has been edited by brkli: Jul 26 2019, 10:35 PM
Yung_Psyke
post Jul 26 2019, 10:36 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jul 26 2019, 08:27 PM)
I ride this.

Top speed not fast enough.  130kmh only.
bruh, i max out 90++ only , even that the seat vibrates like mad
wokies
post Jul 26 2019, 10:41 PM

298 posts

go to any bike auction...got 1 in puchong...better value for money..later service it at any of your prefered shop..
UnknownH
post Jul 26 2019, 10:48 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(laoahpek @ Jul 26 2019, 10:34 PM)

i think its 23yo d....

do you think its still safe  to ride? should i change ? but i dont feel like wasting money to buy new.
Why it's not safe? I don't know. Then don't.

QUOTE(brkli @ Jul 26 2019, 10:34 PM)
as far as i know fuel injection use a fuel pump and electronics to control the fuel pump, if spoilt, mean replace the whole part. as for carb, it is high "servicable" as it is fully mechanical and only need to replace the components within that are faulty.

overall fuel injection is more efficient in mixng fuel and air as it is precise. that why u see all those "EEV" are FI..
Ya ya.
brkli
post Jul 26 2019, 10:52 PM

592 posts

i think its 23yo d....

do you think its still safe  to ride? should i change ? but i dont feel like wasting money to buy new.
just take it to mechanic and check. for the engine it should be fine if you change your engine oil. as for those wear and tear parts like breaks, front and rear absorber, tyres, rims(if u usually hit pot holes) check if is still fine, if not just replace it. then you be good for yearsss..
croydon
post Jul 26 2019, 10:56 PM

535 posts

i think its 23yo d....

overhaul engine

any bikeshop can do, make sure use original part

SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 26 2019, 11:00 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Jul 26 2019, 10:56 PM)
overhaul engine

would it make better sense if we got an old mid 1990s or 2000s ex5 and overhaul the engine to be on the safe side. Would it be like breathing new life into it?

Would that be a viable option to getting a new / fairly used bike?

This post has been edited by RagingBalls: Jul 26 2019, 11:10 PM
croydon
post Jul 26 2019, 11:15 PM

535 posts

This post has been edited by croydon: Nov 17 2019, 10:35 PM
SUSlaoahpek
post Jul 26 2019, 11:20 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Jul 26 2019, 10:52 PM)
just take it to mechanic and check. for the engine it should be fine if you change your engine oil. as for those wear and tear parts like breaks, front and rear absorber, tyres, rims(if u usually hit pot holes) check if is still fine, if not just replace it. then you be good for yearsss..
QUOTE(croydon @ Jul 26 2019, 10:56 PM)
overhaul engine

okok thanks notworthy.gif
SUSRagingBalls
post Jul 27 2019, 01:26 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Jul 26 2019, 11:15 PM)
depend on luck

my EX5 since 2003 never overhaul
2008 - carb wave 125 rm150 since original carb got problem
2010 - clutch plate, auto clutch, timing chain cost rm100
2010 - top overhaul (DIY)
2012 - stator coil rm50 (not original)

current mileage 60k
I see. Looks like first 5 years would be problem free, then every. 2 years there will be some expense to change something. From what you have shared it looks like you are a very knowledgeable person who takes good care of the bike. This also means it would be a good idea to look for used bikes to buy that are under 5 years of usage to be on the safe side. Provided the person also took good care of the bike like you did.
TheLoneWolf07
post May 11 2021, 06:38 PM

37 posts

Using one since mid 2015 as my daily commute.
Mine had issues with:
1.Slipping clutch (Rm250 repair) still recurring after repair.
2.The cover is very noisy you'll have to use some sponges to selit here and there.
3. The original exhaust pipe rattles after 3 years use internal defects. It can get pretty irritating at 100km/h onwards. If you can bear it just leave it. If not replace it with aftermarket RM100 or Original RM320
4.Rear signal light assembly will break eventually. Mine did after 2 years plus (RM30 DIY issue). That is it.

Took the bike to Putrajaya and GohTong Jaya a few times. If you plan to use it as your daily commute not to race or modify it is a good choice. I believe problem only arise if you do some modifications to it.

No injection issues and no brakes issues. Underbone bikes are not meant for high speed, if you want to speed do it at your own risk.

Overall it is an enjoyable bike.
Moon1668 P
post Jul 27 2021, 04:29 PM

Probation

Ex5, very economical to use and easy to maintain
anthonywongy
post Jul 27 2021, 04:31 PM

227 posts

Get a comforter for ur butt on highway.
Overall its not bad for urban use.

Edited : wtf like that also kena lipot? Bodo kia.

This post has been edited by anthonywongy: Jul 27 2021, 10:32 PM
Moon1668 P
post Jul 27 2021, 04:34 PM

Probation

My choice, buy a new bike. Maintain it properly, read the manual properly and follow the instructions correctly.
If properly maintain, any bike is a good bike, and it’s true especially Ex5.
A used bike, don’t know how the previous owner treated the bike, before they sell it to you.
badai
post Jul 27 2021, 09:10 PM

998 posts

come2 let's report these new guys that keep digging old topic.
Moon1668 P
post Nov 12 2021, 09:20 AM

Probation

Ex5 is a good bike, the exhaust pipe rattling sound is just a small problem.
Just add a piece of Rubber to the screws before you tighten it, the sound should go away.
No problem.
Moon1668 P
post Nov 12 2021, 09:23 AM

Probation

Injection problem only happened when you ride till it’s empty. Always filled up your bike before your fuel tank is empty.
pretty23
post Nov 12 2021, 09:27 AM

1,791 posts

just notice got few /ktard sus include TS.

I got 1 tongyam ex5. Wow the 2nd hand value same like rock solid now. Don't know want to change FI model or not.

0.0315sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:49 AM