Accord 2.0 vs Passat 1.8 CL - Which one ?, Below rm150k OTR

TSLeft4Dead2
post Jul 25 2019, 06:01 PM, updated 7y ago

1,103 posts

Family premium sedan that <rm150k OTR (current promo price), to me is following but what more ? Mazda 6 is there but smaller / less comfort and >rm150k

Accord 2.0 - More common / spare part & reliable. Tech. Durable ?

Passat 1.8 CL - Better comfort and suspension. TSI. Conti look but new B8 batch reliable ?

This post has been edited by Left4Dead2: Jul 25 2019, 06:12 PM
changleonghao
post Jul 25 2019, 08:35 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Jul 25 2019, 06:01 PM)
Family premium sedan that <rm150k OTR (current promo price), to me is following but what more ?  Mazda 6 is there but smaller / less comfort and >rm150k

Passat 1.8 CL - Better comfort and suspension. TSI. Conti look but new B8 batch reliable ?
definitely passat. better engine, features, comfort, nvh, etc.
since Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia took over few years back, Malaysians started to enjoy the legendary vw reliability, performance and superb value.

6UE5T
post Jul 25 2019, 11:28 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(changleonghao @ Jul 25 2019, 08:35 PM)
definitely passat. better engine, features, comfort, nvh, etc.
since Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia took over few years back, Malaysians started to enjoy the legendary vw reliability, performance and superb value.

Wait what, legendary VW reliability?? šŸ˜‚ Are you a VW salesman?

Superb value? Until the RV drops like a stone that is.
legioss
post Jul 26 2019, 07:21 AM

466 posts

Passat is below rm150k? got such promotion?
mystvearn
post Jul 26 2019, 07:26 AM

6,639 posts

New accord coming soon. Better wait to see it?
KB1
post Jul 26 2019, 08:31 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jul 26 2019, 07:26 AM)
New accord coming soon. Better wait to see it?
apparently is arount 200k shocking.gif shocking.gif

dudester
post Jul 26 2019, 08:40 AM

1,229 posts

You are comparing brands at both ends of in terms of rv.

Car wise, Passat wins hands down period.
gld998
post Jul 26 2019, 08:40 AM

767 posts

Family premium sedan that <rm150k OTR (current promo price), to me is following but what more ?  Mazda 6 is there but smaller / less comfort and >rm150k

Top up and buy a Mercs or a BMW la... no brand and no face!
nebula87
post Jul 26 2019, 08:42 AM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

For spec wise and price range, Accord 2.0 is like a kosong spec. Top up to get the 2.4 version much worthy.

VW Passat, I admire the car but choose not to own it. Not enthusiast enough to own it.
SUSEnterYourName
post Jul 26 2019, 08:44 AM

186 posts

passat 1.8 is using dry clutch, it's better to get the 2.0TSI with wet clutch and much better equipment and the power is damn syok.

i think the passat 2.0TSI and optima GT are the best bang for buck u can get in this segment
albhong
post Jul 26 2019, 08:46 AM

314 posts

U will be "Very Worry" after you get VW. Hope you don't regret. Whether is value or rv, VW is rubbish.
( I owned a VW, 3 years old, piston crack, mecha fail x2, clutch fail x 3, water pump x, central lock x1, 3 times breakdown engine light on n tow to SC. Rounds up to 3-4 months car need to ICU in SC for each calendar year ) Sold the card after 3.5 years, from purchase price of RM 135K, trade in RM 33k. My old honda city purchase at RM 85k, 11 years old, trade in RM 22k.

Do consider and do your own research before buying VW, but buying a Jap car, definitely save you a lot hassle.

This post has been edited by albhong: Jul 26 2019, 08:47 AM
key3hky
post Jul 26 2019, 08:56 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(albhong @ Jul 26 2019, 08:46 AM)
U will be "Very Worry" after you get VW. Hope you don't regret. Whether is value or rv, VW is rubbish.
( I owned a VW, 3 years old, piston crack, mecha fail x2, clutch fail x 3, water pump x, central lock x1, 3 times breakdown engine light on n tow to SC. Rounds up to 3-4 months car need to ICU in SC for each calendar year ) Sold the card after 3.5 years, from purchase price of RM 135K, trade in RM 33k. My old honda city purchase at RM 85k, 11 years old, trade in RM 22k.

Do consider and do your own research before buying VW, but buying a Jap car, definitely save you a lot hassle.
wtf...3.5y lost 100k? that bad the RV?
changleonghao
post Jul 26 2019, 08:57 AM

152 posts

I’ve owned the Passat for 4 years now. Totally opposite experience with u. Just send for normal service. Everything was boring, like clockwork.
But the ride, comfort and handling is much higher level compare to Japanese cars. Not even Mazda 6 comes close.
RV doesn’t bother me unlike most ppl bcos the full value of the car is realized every time when driving it.
As long as ur healthy, can make money. But can never recover the years of shabby driving and lower level of experience.
TSLeft4Dead2
post Jul 26 2019, 09:11 AM

1,103 posts

QUOTE(legioss @ Jul 26 2019, 07:21 AM)
Passat is below rm150k? got such promotion?
Comfort Line, the basic one. Agent price lah. 2018 registered even cheaper
legioss
post Jul 26 2019, 09:24 AM

466 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Jul 26 2019, 09:11 AM)
i see in the website CL is rm179k, how low can you get? Do you still get that 5 years free maintenance package? same duration of warranty?
changleonghao
post Jul 26 2019, 09:25 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(legioss @ Jul 26 2019, 09:24 AM)
i see in the website CL is rm179k, how low can you get? Do you still get that 5 years free maintenance package? same duration of warranty?
can always nego with the salesman to get more discounts and freebies.

SUSEnterYourName
post Jul 26 2019, 09:40 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Jul 26 2019, 09:11 AM)
new car or pre reg 2019 car?
if new car is very cheap
theanswer
post Jul 26 2019, 09:49 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Jul 26 2019, 09:01 AM)
I'm baffled. Either this guy is living under a rock miles beneath the earth or just arrived from above and beyond lol.

Or prolly just lost his English dictionary hence the above happened.  laugh.gif .
he is trolling maybe. the way he wrote abt reliability i can sense the joke. chill guys. tongue.gif
TSLeft4Dead2
post Jul 26 2019, 10:01 AM

1,103 posts

QUOTE(EnterYourName @ Jul 26 2019, 09:40 AM)
new car or pre reg 2019 car?
if new car is very cheap
If refer here, it is https://www.carlist.my/cars-for-sale/volksw...8&max_year=2019
SUSEnterYourName
post Jul 26 2019, 10:07 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Jul 26 2019, 10:01 AM)
in this list, mostly or almost all are pre-reg car, still worth to get though
changleonghao
post Jul 26 2019, 10:12 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(EnterYourName @ Jul 26 2019, 10:07 AM)
in this list, mostly or almost all are pre-reg car, still worth to get though
be sure to learn how to check/inspect used car properly. also, don't leave any open issues when negotiation with the salesman.
prepare some amt of money for repairs, and changing of all fluids.

wiraone
post Jul 26 2019, 10:25 AM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

I'm driving 2013 Accord (not the latest facelift) 2.0vtil. I can say that IT IS UNDERPOWERED! On highway, I need to make way for MyVi. smile.gif
changleonghao
post Jul 26 2019, 10:26 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jul 26 2019, 10:25 AM)
I'm driving 2013 Accord (not the latest facelift) 2.0vtil. I can say that IT IS UNDERPOWERED! On highway, I need to make way for MyVi. smile.gif
MYVI - King of Highway
even merc/bmw shall make way for them.
widget
post Jul 26 2019, 11:39 AM

1,156 posts

MyVi is GOD car in Malaysia biggrin.gif

To TS, why don't you consider the Kia Optima EX too?
Although it's NA unlike the more expensive Optima GT Turbo, it's just been released this year and the specs is not tin kosong like the 2.0 Accord
Ginny88
post Jul 26 2019, 12:05 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Jul 26 2019, 11:39 AM)
MyVi is GOD car in Malaysia  biggrin.gif

To TS, why don't you consider the Kia Optima EX too?
Although it's NA unlike the more expensive Optima GT Turbo, it's just been released this year and the specs is not tin kosong like the 2.0 Accord
Optima EX 2.0 is just as underpowered as the Accord.
zy93
post Jul 26 2019, 12:34 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(changleonghao @ Jul 26 2019, 08:57 AM)
I’ve owned the Passat for 4 years now. Totally opposite experience with u. Just send for normal service. Everything was boring, like clockwork.
But the ride, comfort and handling is much higher level compare to Japanese cars. Not even Mazda 6 comes close.
RV doesn’t bother me unlike most ppl bcos the full value of the car is realized every time when driving it.
As long as ur healthy, can make money. But can never recover the years of shabby driving and lower level of experience.
My family own a passat 2014 as well, mileage now around 120-130k km. So far only normal service, and minor issue like headlight burnt. Of course the nvh is really good, it's like heaven and hell compare to my Honda city 2017. laugh.gif
zy93
post Jul 26 2019, 12:37 PM

23 posts

May I know which model you are driving? Because it seems like u are facing alot major problem šŸ¤”šŸ¤” or u drive it like race car brows.gif
changleonghao
post Jul 26 2019, 01:10 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(zy93 @ Jul 26 2019, 12:37 PM)
May I know which model you are driving? Because it seems like u are facing alot major problem šŸ¤”šŸ¤” or u drive it like race car brows.gif
must have been a troll.
kirakun
post Jul 26 2019, 01:31 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(zy93 @ Jul 26 2019, 12:34 PM)
My family own a passat 2014 as well, mileage now around 120-130k km. So far only normal service, and minor issue like headlight burnt. Of course the nvh is really good, it's like heaven and hell compare to my Honda city 2017. laugh.gif
That's really normal. Vios's nvh is totally crap compared to camry whistling.gif .
Castreal
post Jul 26 2019, 01:50 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(zy93 @ Jul 26 2019, 12:37 PM)
Although I’m not the person whom you’ve quoted, I’d like to share my side of the feedback on my VW experience.
I drive a Passat as well for the past 6 years, and I do encounter most of the issues mentioned above like piston crack, mechatronic issue x3, speed sensor issues, water pump, engine oil leakage… etc. these are all costly fixes!
And I think one of the main issues, highlighted by my mechanic was that I’m not driving it like a ā€œSports Carā€ that it is supposed to be. So to quote driving like a race car, yes, optimally we should be fueling up minimum Ron 97, Rev-up the engine every once in a month at least (maybe up Genting?), make sure we never get stuck in bumper-to-bumper traffic and so on, instead of fueling the economical Ron 95, and used as a day-to-day stuck in city traffic car.
Ginny88
post Jul 26 2019, 02:43 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(changleonghao @ Jul 26 2019, 01:10 PM)
must have been a troll.
Just because somebody else doesn't have the same experience as you doesn't mean he is a troll. Frankly I find your experience of a problem free Passat for 4 years very hard to believe but I'm not calling you a troll. You may just be extraordinarily lucky or a VW salesman.

This post has been edited by Ginny88: Jul 26 2019, 02:44 PM
wiraone
post Jul 26 2019, 02:59 PM

3,892 posts

BTW, my Accord ABS module went kaput a month after the 5 yr warranty finished and Honda replaced it FOC! Hopefully it can last for many years to go smile.gif Other than that, my Accord has been trouble free most of the time. That my experience owning a Honda. I've just go myself a second car, a Tiguan. Hopefully it will not have the same horror stories as what others have been telling on Passat smile.gif
widget
post Jul 26 2019, 03:28 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 26 2019, 12:05 PM)
Optima EX 2.0 is just as underpowered as the Accord.
Can't argue with that biggrin.gif
Unless the TS can up his budget by Rm10k-20k or so and get the Optima GT, before the new units are sold out

This post has been edited by widget: Jul 26 2019, 03:30 PM
6UE5T
post Jul 26 2019, 06:44 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 26 2019, 02:43 PM)
Just because somebody else doesn't have the same experience as you doesn't mean he is a troll. Frankly I find your experience of a problem free Passat for 4 years very hard to believe but I'm not calling you a troll. You may just be extraordinarily lucky or a VW salesman.
I suspect the later. šŸ˜‚
changleonghao
post Jul 26 2019, 06:56 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 26 2019, 02:43 PM)
Certainly VW won’t be top car company in the world if their cars are not world class.
Honda is nr 6 and makes great cars as well.

DM52
post Jul 26 2019, 07:21 PM

406 posts

U not pressed hard enough. I use 2.0 also, on city, smaller 1.6 can easily outrun me, but not on highway.

Above 110kmh highway speed, 2000cc feel much more powerful than 1.3 and 1.6, only when it reach 190kmh, its feel out of breath. From 110kmh to 190kmh, quite fast. From 0 to 110kmh feel like mati pucuk due to weight. But above 110kmh feel good.
wiraone
post Jul 26 2019, 07:27 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Jul 26 2019, 07:21 PM)
U not pressed hard enough. I use 2.0 also, on city, smaller 1.6 can easily outrun me, but not on highway.

Above 110kmh highway speed, 2000cc feel much more powerful than 1.3 and 1.6, only when it reach 190kmh, its feel out of breath. From 110kmh to 190kmh, quite fast. From 0 to 110kmh feel like mati pucuk due to weight. But above 110kmh feel good.
The max I went is around 170KM/h, no more than that smile.gif But if I'm cruising at 120KM/h and a MyVi coming from behind, I can't run away from it eventhough I've econ off. Need to make way haha.
changleonghao
post Jul 26 2019, 07:33 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jul 26 2019, 07:27 PM)
The max I went is around 170KM/h, no more than that smile.gif But if I'm cruising at 120KM/h and a MyVi coming from behind, I can't run away from it eventhough I've econ off. Need to make way haha.
Myvi = king of highway
DM52
post Jul 26 2019, 07:47 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jul 26 2019, 07:27 PM)
This one hard to say la. Myvi come with speed 180kmh, while u cruising at 120kmh. In a blink of an eyes u want to match that 180kmh speed, I dont think even 2.4 can do that. Maybe above 350nm of torque car can do this provided they full throttle their car. But usually I drive at 160kmh, even 740li give way and dont chiow left me behind. If looks at youtube video 740li, can easily touch 200kmh.Pull is crazy fast. Maybe fuel will go down very fast do full throttle.

Daily11
post Jul 26 2019, 09:38 PM

36 posts

Passat 1.8 more better, more comfy and sleek

This post has been edited by Daily11: Jul 26 2019, 09:39 PM
SUSmrlive005
post Jul 27 2019, 04:06 AM

114 posts

What VW you owe?

i have 2 VW golf gti and passat 2012, 200km miles on passat and i have no isssue, dont tell me i drive like kura2 one, i speed it to the max almost everytime i drive, i even barerly go to car services on time. i will 1000% suggest passat rather than accord that will cost you like a girl expenses (no hurt)
KennyKB
post Jul 27 2019, 11:50 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(mrlive005 @ Jul 27 2019, 04:06 AM)
What VW you owe?

i have 2 VW golf gti and passat 2012, 200km miles on passat and i have no isssue, dont tell me i drive like kura2 one, i speed it to the max almost everytime i drive, i even barerly go to car services on time. i will 1000% suggest passat rather than accord that will cost you like a girl expenses (no hurt)
You drove a Passat for 200,000 km without any breakdown, not even a mechatronic failure? This is worthy of being listed in 'Ripley's Believe It or Not!'

SUSmrlive005
post Jul 27 2019, 03:06 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jul 27 2019, 11:50 AM)
You drove a Passat for 200,000 km without any breakdown, not even a mechatronic failure? This is worthy of being listed in 'Ripley's Believe It or Not!'
Well i had suspension issue 2 years back, but they just replace 2nd one side (front left) stock cost around rm 1.5k and emission system that cost another rm 1.6k
so the big amount i ever spend is total rm3100 to maintenance my car

i dont think for passat this kind of replacement can call as problem

even my alza cost me tons of maintenance rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by mrlive005: Jul 27 2019, 03:10 PM
VeeJay
post Jul 28 2019, 03:33 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(mrlive005 @ Jul 27 2019, 03:06 PM)
Well i had suspension issue 2 years back, but they just replace 2nd one side (front left) stock cost around rm 1.5k and emission system that cost another rm 1.6k
so the big amount i ever spend is total rm3100 to maintenance my car

i dont think for passat this kind of replacement can call as problem

even my alza cost me tons of maintenance  rclxub.gif
I guess, many still driven by perception....which is difficult to change

I drive Passat CC 2011 model, the only thing i changed was wheel sensor..hmmm cant recall any other major thingy...other than wear and tear parts
albhong
post Jul 28 2019, 10:28 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(key3hky @ Jul 26 2019, 08:56 AM)
wtf...3.5y lost 100k? that bad the RV?
go survey around, you will get the answer. it is all fact shown online or even down the road.
albhong
post Jul 28 2019, 10:29 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(mrlive005 @ Jul 27 2019, 04:06 AM)
What VW you owe?

Cross Touran 1.4TSI. Probably i'm the bad luck guy.
albhong
post Jul 28 2019, 10:30 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Jul 26 2019, 01:50 PM)
Although I’m not the person whom you’ve quoted, I’d like to share my side of the feedback on my VW experience.
I drive a Passat as well for the past 6 years, and I do encounter most of the issues mentioned above like piston crack, mechatronic issue x3, speed sensor issues, water pump, engine oil leakage… etc. these are all costly fixes!
And I think one of the main issues, highlighted by my mechanic was that I’m not driving it like a ā€œSports Carā€ that it is supposed to be. So to quote driving like a race car, yes, optimally we should be fueling up minimum Ron 97, Rev-up the engine every once in a month at least (maybe up Genting?), make sure we never get stuck in bumper-to-bumper traffic and so on, instead of fueling the economical Ron 95, and used as a day-to-day stuck in city traffic car.
so we are the minority group - bad luck ppl.
Castreal
post Jul 29 2019, 09:46 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(albhong @ Jul 28 2019, 10:30 PM)
so we are the minority group - bad luck ppl.
We are definitely not the bad luck people, its just in the perspective. Saying we are minority because there are 2 or 3 forumers saying that their passat doesn't have any major issues is just genaralizing to the public base on 3 observations. Take a look at VW FB page, VW Malaysia Forums, have a talk with various Tow Truck guys (I've been "privilleged" to have been towed 6 times in the past 6 years), you'd find perhaps more truth in terms of the statistics around the faults and issues on VW cars. So on that, I think we are the average or even majority of the group, while the 2-3 people are outliers, super lucky people.

mewhoyou
post Jul 29 2019, 09:47 PM

243 posts

Family premium sedan that <rm150k OTR (current promo price), to me is following but what more ?Ā  Mazda 6 is there but smaller / less comfort and >rm150k

Accord is more comfort and Passat is more of performance...

I have 2017 Passat 1.8 TSI with Stage 1 Mod around 220-230 whp around 300 torque

This post has been edited by mewhoyou: Jul 29 2019, 09:52 PM
albhong
post Jul 31 2019, 10:41 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Jul 29 2019, 09:46 PM)
We are definitely not the bad luck people, its just in the perspective. Saying we are minority because there are 2 or 3 forumers saying that their passat doesn't have any major issues is just genaralizing to the public base on 3 observations. Take a look at VW FB page, VW Malaysia Forums, have a talk with various Tow Truck guys (I've been "privilleged" to have been towed 6 times in the past 6 years), you'd find perhaps more truth in terms of the statistics around the faults and issues on VW cars. So on that, I think we are the average or even majority of the group, while the 2-3 people are outliers, super lucky people.
Agreed....
danielisme
post Jul 31 2019, 09:12 PM

2,211 posts

Get used Lexus

0.0255sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:30 PM