Baby Insurance

RA_2366
post Dec 14 2022, 05:56 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Nov 27 2022, 10:39 PM)
Can anyone recco a before pregnancy baby insurance? If expecting twins, is there an insurance plan that can cover incubator costs?

So far I've only managed to research and found typical medical insurance with statement like "1 million ringgit claims" but actually more towards other medical treatments and not incubator or for/during labour (where the max is capped at RM10K only).

As I understand, incubator can cost around RM5K per night in private hospitals and if cover 2 weeks for twins, can go as high as RM100-150K. Sounds damn heavy damage. Hence, was wondering if there's an insurance plan that can cover this.
I don’t think any insurance company will cover that. With multiple pregnancy (twins, triplets, etc) the chances of preterm birth is high and most likely will incur incubator/NICU cost, which can be very high at private hospital. Insurance company will not insure since the chances are high. Plus, private hospital has limited incubators, so babies may need to be transferred to gov hospital if NICU is fully occupied/other complications happen.

Your best bet is government hospital. You can try your luck with gov hospitals that has Full Paying Patient (FFP) where the waiting time for checkup, etc is shorter and you get to pay for better accommodation. Not sure if they allow the mother to give birth under FFP and the baby admitted to NICU under normal public system, but it’s worth checking with the hospital.

Having said that, 100-150k/baby is the “worst case scenario”. I think average cost for twins is about 20-40k. The charge for incubator depends on the level of oxygen support needed, so it may not be 5k/night every single night.

My advise is to keep both options open. Do checkup at both private and gov. You can make decision on the hospital later depending on the term of the pregnancy.

0.0127sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:21 AM