1,436 posts

Task: Extreme OC

1. E2610 Wall Barrier Breaking
2. E6600 Super PI Lowyat.NET Record Breaking
3. Gigabyte P35T-DQ6 PCMark05 Challenge

Participants Member: coolice, irenic, sup3rfly, lolhalol, irangan
Date: 29/6 - 30/6

Recently a few of Lowyat.NET forumers who turned into close friends decided to form a small team just for the fun of OC. And finally Team K.O.C was formed with 8 team members currently, lead by coolice.

Last week, Shamino was kind enough to borrow us his DI/LN2 Pot for testing purposes. Therefore, we decided to perform a Extreme Cooling OC as soon as possible. In the beginning, we were not confident to perform a DI OC because we had none experience on it. Eventually, coolice decided to perform it using his DFI Infinity Dark and the adventure kicked-off.

The day started with coolice, irangan and me wondering around KL looking for DI insulation material. From Mid Valley to Subang, to Jalan Ipoh and finally we got all the stuff prepared. lolhalol assisted on getting some sources and we do the buying.

We reached lolhalol house around 7pm and immediately we started to setup the testing platform. So the Extreme OC commenced since then. At that time, irenic was still unavailable and told us he would be late for the event due to some personal affairs.

Once we reached lolhalol house, coolice was kinda worried that the DI would melt. Luckily lolhalol refrigerator was big enough to fit in all the DI. Then lolhalol and me were grumbling for dinner as all of us haven't settle for dinner yet. But coolice insisted to run the DI Benching first thinking the DI would melt. So there goes our dinner.

The DI, Dry Ice, CO2

Insulation Process

Fooling around with DI

This post has been edited by Sanko: Jul 2 2007, 12:37 AM
TSSanko
post Jun 30 2007, 04:38 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

Mounting 'Shamino Pot', First Try

Where is our Thermometer?

Here you go! We had not enough time to go Jalan Pasar to get one.

The DI after around 1 Hour

Look at the Shandy! It was 'Rock Solid Stable'

This post has been edited by Sanko: Jun 30 2007, 06:31 PM
TSSanko
post Jun 30 2007, 04:39 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

The first processor we tested was an E2160 which we bought it from rlhc17/raymond. Surely we do remember that the processor can be tuned up to 100% OC under WC. However, Extreme Cooling was not helpful. We couldn't bring it up any higher than we did before under coolice WC. So we were quite upset with the outcome.

Testbet 1
CPU : Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160 1.8GHz
Motherboard : DFI Infinity P965-S
RAM model : Micron OEM D9GKX DDR800
RAM capacity : 512MB x 2
HDD : Western Digital 80G
PSU : Corsair HX620W
VGA : Nvidia Galaxy 7300GT
Cooling : Dry Ice

E2160 under DI - 01

E2160 under DI - 02

E2160 under DI - 03

2 Sifu Trying for the Best!

This post has been edited by Sanko: Jun 30 2007, 06:50 PM
TSSanko
post Jun 30 2007, 04:40 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

After testing the E2160, we were kinda down especially coolice. So we decided to go yamcha together before proceed to the second test. Immediately after having dinner, it was already around 11pm and we headed back to lolhalol house. sup3rfly went back home straight because working 7.30pm the next day.

The second test is on coolice's personal E6600. Everyone of us was hoping to break our own Lowyat.NET Super PI 1M record. Finger crossed.

Testbed 2
CPU : Intel Core 2 Duo L629B364 E6600 2.4GHz
Motherboard : DFI Infinity P965-S
RAM model : Micron OEM D9GKX DDR800
RAM capacity : 512MB x 2
HDD : Western Digital 80G
PUS : Corsair HX620W
VGA : Nvidia Galaxy 7300GT
Cooling : Dry Ice

4.215GHz 468x9 1:1 5-5-5-15

4.309Ghz 478x9 1:1 4-4-4-9

4.413Ghz 490x9 1:1 4-4-4-9

4.501Ghz 501x9 1:1 4-4-4-9

This post has been edited by Sanko: Jun 30 2007, 08:24 PM
TSSanko
post Jun 30 2007, 04:40 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

During OC-ing coolice E6600, it was very very exciting. coolice was tweaking and at the same time worried about the DI. Both me and lolhalol job were to 'take care' of the setup so that nothing goes wrong. We were monitoring the DI while coolice was trying to tweak higher. The E6600 was easy reaching 4.6GHz. But we hunger for more.

Anyway, when coolice managed to OC to 4.62Ghz, his Super PI score already overtaken kcnyc's 11.359s with his 11.235s achievement.

4.620Ghz 512x9 1:1 4-4-4-9

After the 4.62Ghz achievement, we tried for 4.8Ghz but it couldn't boot. Then coolice try lower the clock speed to 4.7Ghz. It booted but it wasn't stable with all sort of errors like hang, blue screen and restart. However, after some tweaking, coolice manage to get a 4.703Ghz OC.

4.703Ghz 522x9 1:1 4-4-4-9

This post has been edited by Sanko: Jun 30 2007, 08:30 PM
TSSanko
post Jun 30 2007, 04:41 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

After looking at the Super PI 1M score, we thought that we might as well break the sub 11 barrier for Lowyat.NET forum. So here goes.

4.723Ghz 525x9 1:1 4-4-4-9

4.725Ghz 525x9 1:1 4-4-3-9 (Memset Tweaking)

This post has been edited by Sanko: Jun 30 2007, 08:39 PM
TSSanko
post Jun 30 2007, 04:42 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

Looking at coolice E6600 managed to hit 4.725Ghz, immediately we tried a PCMark05 run on 4.60Ghz clock speed and it PASSED. At that time, irenic was on his way coming to lolhalol house, bringing his Gigabyte P35T-DQ6 DDR3. At the mean time, i asked coolice to try 4.65Ghz on the DFI Infinity Dark to see whether it can pass PCMark05 or not. AND IT PASSED! On the DFI Infinity Dark!

Below is the link of the PCMark05 results. We were too excited and forgot to do a screen shot as we though we could do it on the Gigabyte P35T-DQ6 DDR3 later. Who had a legit PCMark05 can download the file below to check. After downloading it open your PCMark05 and right click on it. Choose option 'Open with Excel' or something like that. The details is all inside.

PCMark05 4.65Ghz Result

This post has been edited by Sanko: Jul 1 2007, 01:14 AM
TSSanko
post Jun 30 2007, 04:42 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

So we patiently wait for irenic to arrive to launch his Gigabyte P35T-DQ6 DDR3 under Dry Ice. Guess everyone knows why. For the Gigabyte OC Challenge of course! On the last day we had a chance to improve our score, why not!?

Once irenic arrived, coolice did the insulation on the Gigabyte P35T-DQ6 DDR3. It was not as easy as DFI Infinity Dark because of the huge chipset heatsink. coolice wasted around 2 hours for the insulation. Once everything was up and ready, we eagerly check the Gigabyte P35T-DQ6 DDR3 PC Health for Tempreture because DFI Infinity Dark couldn't read subzero temps. Check it out!

-71 Degree

At that time it was already 6AM in the morning and we don't have much DI left. So immediately we OC the Gigabyte P35T-DQ6 DDR3. To our shock it didn't even boot at 4.2Ghz. After doing some tweaking and changing the ram slot then we managed to get a 4.5Ghz OC. Then immediately we run PCMark05 but it keep on hangs. After an hour or so, the DI supply was all finished. Therefore we couldn't do anything but to stare among ourselves that we already tried our best. We thought that we couldn't at least do a 4.6Ghz PCMark05 to summit for the Gigabyte OC Challege. That's the sad ending for us and straight away we all 'fainted' in lolhalol house. irenic was the most comfortable one on the bed.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Jun 30 2007, 09:14 PM
TSSanko
post Jun 30 2007, 04:43 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

I want to kill this guy! Still can laugh after we fail to bench using a P35 Gigabyte Mobo for the Gigabyte Competition. How we wish that the DFI Inifinity Dark chipset can we switch to P35 chip and rebranded into Gigabyte!! Photoshop?!

This post has been edited by Sanko: Jun 30 2007, 09:24 PM
TSSanko
post Jun 30 2007, 04:50 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

Special Thanks to Shamino (VR-zone.com) for borrowing us the DI/LN2 Pot and all other K.O.C members for contributions.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Jul 1 2007, 02:17 AM
Hyde`fK
post Jun 30 2007, 06:41 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

I wonder what happened in the end. sweat.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Jun 30 2007, 08:48 PM

628 posts

err can both the e2160 n e6600 + mobo can still be use kah??? hahaha... nice try... oohhh, congrats on breaking the superPI 10s mark...
coolice
post Jun 30 2007, 09:01 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Jun 30 2007, 08:48 PM)
err can both the e2160 n e6600 + mobo can still be use kah??? hahaha... nice try... oohhh, congrats on breaking the superPI 10s mark...
e66 still using biggrin.gif ..erm..the rest unknown tongue.gif
yehlai
post Jun 30 2007, 09:31 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Congrats smile.gif another new record hv been set by u guys. Keep rockin' K.O.C flex.gif

This post has been edited by yehlai: Jun 30 2007, 09:56 PM
sup3rfly
post Jun 30 2007, 09:36 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

sigh cant join the fun coz need to work sad.gif
hope we can get out own pot real soon and then play more with DICE and LN2
TSSanko
post Jul 1 2007, 01:20 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

yehlai: thank for always being supportive. we really appreciate that. good luck to you on your oc journey too.

HaHaNoCluE: thanks. hope that the next run you will do a personal DI OC for us to tengok tengok.

Hyde`fK: when i first post this thread, i tot the topic will bring readers thinking 'What got BURN?' that cought your mind right? actually the DFI Infinity Dark small case but the Gigabyte P35T-DQ6 DDR3 was what worries us. eventually nothing got burn, thank god.

the tasks we did only the 2nd one was succesfully but that was a very plesent achievement. we were really satisfied. especially coolice when his target before doing the DI is to overtake kcnyc record. and not only we did it, we even did a sub-11s score.
Hyde`fK
post Jul 1 2007, 01:23 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Impressive achievements guy. Hope to see more of this. thumbup.gif
irenic
post Jul 1 2007, 02:08 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

it was fun to manage to taste the dried ice.. but too bad i was too sleepy last nite after spending the whole day finishing my assignment..

thx to lolhalol for providing me 'sleeping bag' haha..

later lets test my superclocked e2160 and qx6700 :-"
coolice
post Jul 1 2007, 02:15 AM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 1 2007, 02:08 AM)
it was fun to manage to taste the dried ice.. but too bad i was too sleepy last nite after spending the whole day finishing my assignment..

thx to lolhalol for providing me 'sleeping bag' haha..

later lets test my superclocked e2160 and qx6700 :-"
when is ur optical drive and printer oc test? tongue.gif
rlhc17
post Jul 1 2007, 03:05 AM

835 posts

good job guys thumbup.gif
next time can i join ka!!! drool.gif
sniper69
post Jul 1 2007, 03:24 AM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

mruzian
post Jul 1 2007, 03:56 AM

Androidify
744 posts

huhu extreem OC biggrin.gif
great work guys thumbup.gif
ciohbu
post Jul 1 2007, 05:17 AM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

nice work guys..hehe..keep it up..
overclockalbert
post Jul 1 2007, 06:00 AM

1,058 posts

nice OC result there K.O.C
really extreme man.

irenic
post Jul 1 2007, 06:25 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Jul 1 2007, 02:15 AM)
very soon mate.. are we gonna be the 1st to use dry ice on optical drive and ln2 on printer? rolleyes.gif
storm88
post Jul 1 2007, 07:03 AM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

wow..
lolhalol
u sms las nite just for this purpose ya? biggrin.gif
good work u guys have. but too bad i were toobusy yesterday sad.gif

actually i realised that the silent pipe not really able to handle overclocking like us

i manage to clock over 541 after removing the heatpipe and apply water block on the both chipset

Added on July 1, 2007, 7:16 am
QUOTE(storm88 @ Jul 1 2007, 08:03 AM)
wow..
lolhalol
u sms las nite just for this purpose ya? biggrin.gif
good work u guys have. but too bad i were toobusy yesterday sad.gif

actually i realised that the silent pipe not really able to handle overclocking like us

i manage to clock over 541 after removing the heatpipe and apply water block on the both chipset
edit: btw, i saw u guys using cosair PSU
i heard few working in Lowyat, the return rate & power failure rate is very high for cosair PSU. Why dont try to get other brand?

This post has been edited by storm88: Jul 1 2007, 07:16 AM
kerryking
post Jul 1 2007, 10:22 AM

553 posts

nice results..congrats man..
mine if i join u guys next time..hehe
TSSanko
post Jul 1 2007, 12:57 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

next time? that will be very long time liao i guess. cause we need to return the pot to Shamino. and K.O.C still doesn't have enough fund to buy a pot. sigh. anyone kind enough to lend a hand? sponsers? haha...

btw, stephen... although the return rate and power failure is high, i'm 100% confident with Corsair PSU. hehe...

This post has been edited by Sanko: Jul 1 2007, 12:59 PM
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 1 2007, 05:01 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Jul 1 2007, 02:15 AM)
i can send u a HP 4L laser printer n creative 4x cd-r drive if u wan... hahaha, they're around 10 years old so be gentle... lol... flex.gif

lolhalol
post Jul 1 2007, 06:21 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

oii sanko u never post the time line meh? like at wat time we did wat.... hehe...... irenic arrived last and left first..... haha.... ehh my room still smells like actetone man.... and my hands stil cold.... ironic thing is i had a futsal game at 4pm when we went to "sleep " at 8am.... haha... ehh sanko u snore dam freeking load man..even irangan could hear u over the phone
AceCombat
post Jul 1 2007, 06:39 PM

5,434 posts

lolhalol,coolice and all the gang members,nice job u ppl done there!!!!

proud for LYN!!!
casperito
post Jul 1 2007, 07:27 PM

662 posts

where's irangan?? onli talk through the phone aa?? like this then no "confirm kalah" one laa...
nyway.. good job guys... next time try to smuggle some LN2.. eheheheh...
coolice
post Jul 1 2007, 07:35 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(casperito @ Jul 1 2007, 07:27 PM)
where's irangan?? onli talk through the phone aa?? like this then no "confirm kalah" one laa...
nyway.. good job guys... next time try to smuggle some LN2.. eheheheh...
we edi found LN2,once we get dewar then we will do it with ln2 biggrin.gif
credit to irangan rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
lolhalol
post Jul 1 2007, 08:20 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

yeah man...credit to irangan to the ln2 and driving coolice around whistling.gif haha.... irangan did all the legwork for the ln2...dam nice... thx man...

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Jul 1 2007, 11:03 PM

irenic
post Jul 1 2007, 11:13 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

sorry la guys i had to leave early.. i got shooting at 11am that morning.. hehe
casperito
post Jul 2 2007, 12:40 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Jul 1 2007, 07:35 PM)
we edi found LN2,once we get dewar then we will do it with ln2 biggrin.gif
credit to irangan rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
wah.. irangan alreadi found 'cable' to get LN2.. cool...
ask him to open a bulk laa.. selling the dry ice and LN2.. ehehehehe
sure got a lot of people want one...
lohwenli
post Jul 2 2007, 12:45 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(casperito @ Jul 2 2007, 12:40 AM)
wah.. irangan alreadi found 'cable' to get LN2.. cool...
ask him to open a bulk laa.. selling the dry ice and LN2.. ehehehehe
sure got a lot of people want one...
Yeah, and how is he supposed to send it? By the time arrive all gone already..too hot.. cool2.gif

When u guys get the LN2 make sure you all try a few freezing experiments..frozen flower breaking like glass is a classic..
casperito
post Jul 2 2007, 12:52 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Jul 2 2007, 12:45 AM)
Yeah, and how is he supposed to send it? By the time arrive all gone already..too hot..  cool2.gif

When u guys get the LN2 make sure you all try a few freezing experiments..frozen flower breaking like glass is a classic..
err... that one he can manage himself laa... ehehehe...

experiment aa.. the suddenly a drop fell onto ur hand they say goodbye la to ur hand...
sempronic
post Jul 2 2007, 01:03 AM

986 posts

QUOTE(casperito @ Jul 2 2007, 12:52 AM)
err... that one he can manage himself laa... ehehehe...

experiment aa.. the suddenly a drop fell onto ur hand they say goodbye la to ur hand...
yeah...
something like that is not a toy to play with...
once touch consider gone...... sweat.gif sweat.gif
TSSanko
post Jul 2 2007, 01:11 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

we won't be touching LN2 before we get the dewar. and getting the dewar will cost us more than 2k. i'll run a team check see whose father is rich enough to err.... sponser a little to our team. haha... starting with irenic first is a smart move rite? hehe..
casperito
post Jul 2 2007, 01:14 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Jul 2 2007, 01:11 AM)
we won't be touching LN2 before we get the dewar. and getting the dewar will cost us more than 2k. i'll run a team check see whose father is rich enough to err.... sponser a little to our team. haha... starting with irenic first is a smart move rite? hehe..
ohh yes... that is a very smart move... ehehehehe...
or
ask irangan to go search for sponsors from tech company or something...
or
anyone in the team whose working, sponsor laa... eheheheheh
irangan
post Jul 2 2007, 01:43 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

@casperito
I cant go to the benching as they do it late at night and i need to work on the next day. I left after bringing them to get the dry ice and so on. hehe

bro, though the score is quite high but there is much to learn especially we going to compete in DDR3 board. hahaha... so like said, 'confirm' kalah. hahaha...

All those extreme cooling do pose certain degree of risk. Dry ice is quite dangerous too if u dont handle it well. So I dont think i want to sell any of those stuff to ppl that I not sure can handle it or not. I dont want anyone parent come to look for me if their child lost a finger or two due to frostbite. haha..

Anyway, I am working on LN2 dewar and so on. So if everything go smooth, you will see coolice and gang doing the first lowyat forum LN2 benching. haha..

This post has been edited by irangan: Jul 2 2007, 01:47 AM
horphi
post Jul 2 2007, 01:58 AM

266 posts

guys gud job. LYN got own OC team rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by horphi: Jul 2 2007, 02:00 AM
cyberloner
post Jul 2 2007, 04:41 AM

1,560 posts

salute notworthy.gif
SlayerXT
post Jul 2 2007, 11:08 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

So this team really can give a good fight in ASUS OC Championship.
raymond5105
post Jul 2 2007, 04:04 PM

5,341 posts

irenic
post Jul 2 2007, 06:26 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jul 2 2007, 11:08 AM)
So this team really can give a good fight in ASUS OC Championship.
wey wey... its great if u guys think so.. but we ourselves honestly dont think we can challenge other participants, as we're still lack of experience compared to those overclocking experts.
since this is our 1st 'international' oc competition, we hope we can gain as much experience as we can and then share them all here @ ly.net..
and hopefully we can at least make other people from other countries to open their eyes in malaysia n gain a lil respect.. also may god help us that we wont burn more than 2 mobos and disqualified bcoz of it . laugh.gif laugh.gif
SlayerXT
post Jul 2 2007, 07:24 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

taxidoor
post Jul 2 2007, 07:54 PM

1,008 posts

guys nice begining.... keep it up
remember vmod important also wor tongue.gif

nice 11sec break on superpi, with umod hardware...
btw if want competive on day 2 need lot hardwork, csz feel like sumone play wanna 9sec WR

interest to see sum burn DFI board tongue.gif
extreme version

This post has been edited by taxidoor: Jul 2 2007, 08:00 PM
SlayerXT
post Jul 2 2007, 08:09 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Is it still applicable for RMA?
casperito
post Jul 2 2007, 09:22 PM

662 posts

Shamino
post Jul 2 2007, 11:22 PM

Hey KOC, no need to hurry on that pot, the old puppy will be glad to find a new home if it gets to exercise regularly wink.gif
alieamin
post Jul 3 2007, 12:09 AM

Mobile Phones Authorized Reseller
1,279 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Jul 2 2007, 01:11 AM)
maybe u guys can organize a donation? from LYN-forumer of course and yeah very nice n smart move laugh.gif

lohwenli
post Jul 3 2007, 12:53 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jul 2 2007, 08:09 PM)
Is it still applicable for RMA?
Of course cannot la..if got any burn mark or physical damage cannot RMA..
taxidoor
post Jul 3 2007, 01:37 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(Shamino @ Jul 2 2007, 11:22 PM)
Hey KOC, no need to hurry on that pot, the old puppy will be glad to find a new home if it gets to exercise regularly wink.gif
lol sham, u sponser the old pot to KOC ?
intothefantasy
post Jul 3 2007, 02:52 AM

1,561 posts

lol sanko stated at the 1st page isnt he?
TSSanko
post Jul 3 2007, 03:06 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

Shamino: thanks man. really appreaciate it. anyway, we will bring the pot to sg for the competition. after that maybe can nego something out. haha...

intothefantasy: it was actually like this, Shamino offered to lend us the DI/LN2 POT without any condition and full of trust just to motivate us for the competition and helping each other out as in a OC Community. He even bare the shipping cost himself, once again without any condition. but definately we will pay back once we reach sg. hehe...

This post has been edited by Sanko: Jul 3 2007, 03:09 AM
Hyde`fK
post Jul 3 2007, 09:24 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

And don't forget to snap some pictures with him. biggrin.gif
akachester
post Jul 3 2007, 10:03 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

irangan
post Jul 3 2007, 11:44 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(casperito @ Jul 2 2007, 09:22 PM)
ya laa.... juz like irenic said.... those people can vmod in a snap... take wire then solder here and there... we, malaysian OCer want to pencil mod also alreadi takut....
ps : quoted from irangan...
LOLZ...... Dont worry... coolice and gang will solder wires too. He got the skills already. Hehe..

QUOTE(alieamin @ Jul 3 2007, 12:09 AM)
maybe u guys can organize a donation? from LYN-forumer of course and yeah very nice n smart move laugh.gif
I dont think that is possible or feasible. I think we should organize a donation drive for lowyat forum itself. So that can upgrade the server and so on smile.gif

QUOTE(taxidoor @ Jul 3 2007, 01:37 AM)
lol sham, u sponser the old pot to KOC ?
He borrow us the pot as Team K.O.C.'s pot is not ready yet. Still in process of making smile.gif

This post has been edited by irangan: Jul 3 2007, 11:48 AM
sup3rfly
post Jul 3 2007, 12:04 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 3 2007, 08:05 PM

628 posts

can post a pic of dice pot here??? with dimension etc... i tried google around but found mostly the marijuana pot!!! lol... but found a very funny design in xtremesystem which require some cnc/ accurate machining job...

i can get some frens to do that for me but it'll take time... dice n ln2 pot has different design???

hey, maybe v just start simple donation of powting howmuch v wanna sponsor here in a thread n person incharge just post the name of sponsor after confirmation... really wanna see a malaysian team... at least that's a great experience...
lolhalol
post Jul 3 2007, 09:23 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

@HaHaNoCluE
dry ice and ln2 post have two types
one is dry ice only and one is ln2 / dry ice if im not mistaken
iirc, ln2 ned surface area and thin base in side teh pot, adn dry ice can also use but will be shit temps.coz base too thin... dry ice requires slightly more thick base, maybe 3mm compare to 1mm for teh ln2.... but ln2 can also used in dryice pot... i hope u understand...
storm88
post Jul 3 2007, 09:49 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Jul 3 2007, 10:23 PM)
@HaHaNoCluE
dry ice and ln2 post have two types
one is dry ice only and one is ln2 / dry ice if im not mistaken
iirc, ln2 ned surface area and thin base in side teh pot, adn dry ice can also use but will be shit temps.coz base too thin... dry ice requires slightly more thick base, maybe 3mm compare to 1mm for teh ln2.... but ln2 can also used in dryice pot... i hope u understand...
/offtopic
hey ur siggy is nice
mind i hav one? btw its quite big..
lolhalol
post Jul 3 2007, 10:07 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

yeah...haha.... forgot to resize... np ur the team mah,.... oh course u can have one

sup3rfly
post Jul 3 2007, 11:54 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 4 2007, 02:20 AM

628 posts

neh, i'm not interested with ln2 (coz no nowledge) but the dry ice look easier n fun... at least beside the pot, all it takes is like preparing a mobo for peltier... i guess maybe ln2 same but supply ain't easy...

can try ask at some high class night club or hotel wher they might use dry ice for serving alcohol...

ps: is that the same ice??? as i know it melt into gas too...
lohwenli
post Jul 4 2007, 09:43 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Jul 4 2007, 02:20 AM)
neh, i'm not interested with ln2 (coz no nowledge) but the dry ice look easier n fun... at least beside the pot, all it takes is like preparing a mobo for peltier... i guess maybe ln2 same but supply ain't easy...

can try ask at some high class night club or hotel wher they might use dry ice for serving alcohol...

ps: is that the same ice??? as i know it melt into gas too...
You mean for storing alcohol. Because drinking something with dry ice would be too cold to drink; it would freeze your lips eventually. You can also ask those roadside ice-cream sellers where they buy, they also use dry ice to cool the ice cream.

I'm not sure if its the same ice, but if it melts into gas then it should be. There are very few subtances that will melt (technically sublime) into gas without turning into liquid first.
sup3rfly
post Jul 4 2007, 11:18 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

if i m not mistaken i think DI wont become water as its a compressed CO2 smile.gif unless condensation
jy14
post Jul 4 2007, 01:21 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

Wow, cheers to Malaysia's very own Extreme OC Team K.O.C !! thumbup.gif notworthy.gif

Wish u guys all the bests in the OC Competition. Make us proud yah thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
akachester
post Jul 4 2007, 01:36 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

What does K.O.C means anyway? laugh.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 4 2007, 01:48 PM

628 posts

Knock Out Cooling??? Kaw x 2 Over Clock??? hehe
sup3rfly
post Jul 4 2007, 01:58 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

K.O.C = Kaki OC tongue.gif
akachester
post Jul 4 2007, 02:07 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 4 2007, 01:58 PM)
LOL..So easy only ar? I thought like what HaHaNoCluE say, some "powderful" name.. tongue.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 4 2007, 02:31 PM

628 posts

haha true malaysian style... Kaki O C... sounds like kaki mamak... tongue.gif

can someone post up a simple design of dice pot??? that u guys think is good for a try lar... dunwan later waste my $$$ asking ppl do for me, then find out useless (can use as drinking glass maybe, lol)... rclxms.gif
storm88
post Jul 4 2007, 04:42 PM

5,595 posts

Kami. Orang. Ciaoz laugh.gif
SlayerXT
post Jul 4 2007, 08:03 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Maybe simply King of overClocker
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 4 2007, 08:51 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 4 2007, 01:58 PM)
no need guess oredi...
taxidoor
post Jul 4 2007, 11:02 PM

1,008 posts

KOC = Kick Our Chips /
KOC = Kepada Orang Cacat

wakakak JK

This post has been edited by taxidoor: Jul 4 2007, 11:03 PM
casperito
post Jul 4 2007, 11:07 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Jul 3 2007, 11:44 AM)
LOLZ...... Not dont have the skills, just dont have the balls and  those deep pocket to play. Most of malaysian dont have alot of spare board to test. hehe
I dont think that is possible or feasible. Not I am pointing finger but ppl in
the same laa... have balls dun have skill, useless... have skill dun have balls.. useless... so either way useless laa... maybe can send some one to learn from the pro... then sure confident to do it...

TSSanko
post Jul 5 2007, 12:17 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

anyway, thanks for all the support shown to us. actually we are not a competitive oc team yet. just forming a team to easier our fund for oc quest. whether this team will stays or not is still unknown. at least 2 of the members has some unforseen personal interest to attend to leaving no other choice but to part with the team. but nothing is final yet. this DI OC Quest may be the 1st and the last Quest for Team K.O.C but let's hope it's not. let's see coolice can pull through or not. hehe...
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 5 2007, 11:57 AM

628 posts

aik, so fast dismissing??? ehhh faster than taiwan singing group/band meh???
penapis
post Jul 5 2007, 11:57 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 3 2007, 11:54 PM)
if u wan to look for a design blue print i can get u 1....its actually in the xs forum smile.gif
as for the design....their design is identical... u can use 1 pot for both method smile.gif
bro...can give any link to that pot design or maybe can get me a blue print...

i've done my research on cost of doing it....

buy a "round bar" copper and ask my customer how much the cost for bore it and cut here and there using laser cut.. no need to weld..

so what i need is the design... so that the 'engineering works' company can quote me the cost....

for the starting...can use both dryce and LN2...to save cost la....

can???

HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 5 2007, 12:06 PM

628 posts

me oso looking for it... at xs forum, ther r some but mostly dun have blue print... some got blue print but oso a lot of comment on its faults... which means might not b a good design... i found solid copper oredi n machining shop which able to do it... why some designs with fins in the middle of the pot??? recommended base n wall thicknest is 5mm and 2mm respectively???
sup3rfly
post Jul 5 2007, 12:19 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

here is the link...i m sure u all went thru this thread

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=145434

seems like there is a lot of issue with the drawing...but i think can use it as reference la smile.gif

why is there a fin in the middle of the pot...that i m really not so sure.... my guess is it will provide more contact surface for the DI or LN2 inside with the base smile.gif
correct me if i m wrong smile.gif

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jul 5 2007, 12:21 PM
penapis
post Jul 5 2007, 12:35 PM

114 posts

that one is MK4 isnt it....

after print that tiborr design....

i cracked my head....coz not so detail in drawing....hard to understand..

got to find other option...

hahanoclue...lets JV together to make a pot....

rather than i'm wasting my time and money..and u too....

let create one unit...then let us see what happen next....

at least... two head is better than one...but too many cooks spoilt the brooth....

This post has been edited by penapis: Jul 5 2007, 03:03 PM
storm88
post Jul 5 2007, 01:40 PM

5,595 posts

i have a suggestion here..
why dont we start up a tech site?
caz we have the o/cer like coolice, water cooling player like irangan and so ...

i can provide information /marketing/ administrative
since lowyat forum is quite lack of review
why dont we make one with clean and clear atmosphere?

irenic
post Jul 5 2007, 04:16 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i hope this team will last forever.. coz it's hard to do extreme overclocking alone here in malaysia.. in terms of cost, and hardware especially..

btw.. any MMU - MIM student here? why mmu so f***ed to do lab test so early in week 3 of new trimester? my dream of going to singapore for the competition seems to fade away.. sigh
ciohbu
post Jul 5 2007, 04:19 PM

2,104 posts

haha..i am one of mmu student..but from foe..tongue.gif...i d finish two labs in week 3..

Added on July 5, 2007, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(storm88 @ Jul 5 2007, 01:40 PM)
caz we have the o/cer like coolice, water cooling player like irangan and so ...

haha..cant wait for the website to launch...i will be the first one to register as member... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Jul 5 2007, 04:22 PM
irenic
post Jul 5 2007, 04:41 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Jul 5 2007, 04:19 PM)
haha..i am one of mmu student..but from foe..tongue.gif...i d finish two labs in week 3..

Added on July 5, 2007, 4:22 pm

haha..cant wait for the website to launch...i will be the first one to register as member... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
wakaka than i'm still 'a bit' luckier than u tongue.gif
ciohbu
post Jul 5 2007, 04:43 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 5 2007, 04:41 PM)
wakaka than i'm still 'a bit' luckier than u tongue.gif
hehe..so wat faculty u from?..foe also?..
sup3rfly
post Jul 5 2007, 05:07 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

irenic u really cant go? sad.gif
akachester
post Jul 5 2007, 05:18 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

LOL..irenic, skip one class lar..Show people the skills of team K.O.C..
lohwenli
post Jul 5 2007, 07:40 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

That would be interesting..something like pcmoddingmy or tomshardware?
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 5 2007, 07:48 PM

628 posts

irenic can't go singapore??? aiya, u not only rich in pocket but i know u oso very very rich in oc interest... y not going??? go lar, no need regret if u miss out anything later... u guys going ther for experience mar... better earn that now so can improve next year mar...

penapis:
i would like to, but me in sabah wor... i juz know that the stupid copper is very pricy lar... however, do u have any drawing in ur mind??? wat i thought is very simple just like the glass... very plain... v can still share oso... u try once then me try once then loan to lyn member for them to try lor... i found dry ice from fish market (not those pasar)... hehehe, maybe can free leh coz they have their own ice making machine i guess, it's difinitely DICE coz they pack those crabs n send to singapore n hong kong...

irenic:
anyther team??? wah, but if u include me u'll definitely cry as i really try luck only 1, not much knowledge in oc oso... lol... c wat ppl do n juz follow, once broken then go drink beers... hahahaha... c my name??? no clue... lol...

K.O.C = Kopi 'O' Cham (kopi 'o' mix with tea) tongue.gif

Added on July 5, 2007, 7:53 pmthat tiborr pot got a few faults... 1st the base too thin... thinnest area is only 1mm... i dunno it's for dice or ln2... then the middle oso dunno y so high... ther's another design in xs wher the maker got to weld/solder the base to the tube... the base was made out of a solid cylinder of copper being machined to several fins horizontally... any idea??? hehehe...

This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Jul 5 2007, 07:53 PM
coolice
post Jul 5 2007, 08:08 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

thanks for suggestion biggrin.gif
however i prefer forum-based review,but still i will follow majority wink.gif

QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 5 2007, 04:16 PM)
i hope this team will last forever.. coz it's hard to do extreme overclocking alone here in malaysia.. in terms of cost, and hardware especially..

btw.. any MMU - MIM student here? why mmu so f***ed to do lab test so early in week 3 of new trimester? my dream of going to singapore for the competition seems to fade away.. sigh
skip skip skip..fake mc..fake letter laugh.gif

edited:anyway,there is one new record coming up soon..faster than my spi biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by coolice: Jul 5 2007, 08:08 PM
casperito
post Jul 5 2007, 08:25 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Jul 5 2007, 08:08 PM)
go find a clinic where u can get a MC laa.. pay onli RM10.. here in gombak got one clinic... RM10 for 1 day MC... ehehehehe...
irenic
post Jul 6 2007, 12:18 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 5 2007, 05:07 PM)
irenic u really cant go? sad.gif
not sure yet.. dis morning will go to exam units and then only know .. sweat.gif

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 5 2007, 05:18 PM)
LOL..irenic, skip one class lar..Show people the skills of team K.O.C..
i've no problem to skip class.. used to dat already haha.. but this one is lab test (xm) sad.gif

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Jul 5 2007, 07:48 PM)
irenic can't go singapore??? aiya, u not only rich in pocket but i know u oso very very rich in oc interest... y not going??? go lar, no need regret if u miss out anything later... u guys going ther for experience mar... better earn that now so can improve next year mar...

penapis:
i would like to, but me in sabah wor... i juz know that the stupid copper is very pricy lar... however, do u have any drawing in ur mind??? wat i thought is very simple just like the glass... very plain... v can still share oso... u try once then me try once then loan to lyn member for them to try lor... i found dry ice from fish market (not those pasar)... hehehe, maybe can free leh coz they have their own ice making machine i guess, it's difinitely DICE coz they pack those crabs n send to singapore n hong kong...

irenic:
anyther team??? wah, but if u include me u'll definitely cry as i really try luck only 1, not much knowledge in oc oso... lol... c wat ppl do n juz follow, once broken then go drink beers... hahahaha... c my name??? no clue... lol...

K.O.C = Kopi 'O' Cham (kopi 'o' mix with tea) tongue.gif

Added on July 5, 2007, 7:53 pmthat tiborr pot got a few faults... 1st the base too thin... thinnest area is only 1mm... i dunno it's for dice or ln2... then the middle oso dunno y so high... ther's another design in xs wher the maker got to weld/solder the base to the tube... the base was made out of a solid cylinder of copper being machined to several fins horizontally... any idea??? hehehe...
dats why i wanna go.. if i miss dis one.. dunno when the next will come sad.gif icon_question.gif

QUOTE(coolice @ Jul 5 2007, 08:08 PM)
thanks for suggestion biggrin.gif
however i prefer forum-based review,but still i will follow majority wink.gif

edited:anyway,there is one new record coming up soon..faster than my spi biggrin.gif
yeah i also prefer forum.. but it's up to u sifu.. thumbup.gif

fake mc?ermm.. whistling.gif

QUOTE(casperito @ Jul 5 2007, 08:25 PM)
go find a clinic where u can get a MC laa.. pay onli RM10.. here in gombak got one clinic... RM10 for 1 day MC... ehehehehe...
rite now seems like using fake mc is the best choice.. ouch hopefully there is no mmu lecturer here laugh.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Jul 6 2007, 12:19 AM
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 6 2007, 01:51 AM

628 posts

if ur lecturer here then he'll understand...hahaha
irenic
post Jul 6 2007, 06:42 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jul 7 2007, 03:03 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

err... something i don understand... y need DI for 1.113V vCore...? i thought lower voltage lower temp... hmm.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 9 2007, 01:53 AM

628 posts

so how's everything now??? any progress???

0.0415sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:58 PM