Windows not booting after I installed new GC RTX 2, Bought new GC, plugged in. windows sot

TShoujiji
post Jul 19 2019, 07:13 PM, updated 5y ago

798 posts

Hello all sifus and masters,

I recently bought a new RTX 2060, plugged it in the moment i receive it.

When I try to boot up with new GC it only showed the BIOS American Megattrends.

After that all turns black.

That being said I think the windows is running in the background because when i plug in my mouse, it has that default "usb plugging in" sound effect coming out from my speaker.

Any idea what am i doing wrong here?

Thank you in advance sifus...

ckimsem
post Jul 19 2019, 07:25 PM

1,126 posts

QUOTE(houjiji @ Jul 19 2019, 08:13 PM)
Hello all sifus and masters,

I recently bought a new RTX 2060, plugged it in the moment i receive it.

When I try to boot up with new GC it only showed the BIOS American Megattrends.

After that all turns black.

That being said I think the windows is running in the background because when i plug in my mouse, it has that default "usb plugging in" sound effect coming out from my speaker.

Any idea what am i doing wrong here?

Thank you in advance sifus...
Did you plug the HDMI cable to your GC?
Is it connected to ONE monitor only?

This post has been edited by ckimsem: Jul 19 2019, 07:27 PM
noobz4ever
post Jul 19 2019, 07:27 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Jul 19 2019, 07:25 PM)
If this is true, /k gonna be remembered as the dumbest n excited ppl ever as gtg new gc
lolzcalvin
post Jul 19 2019, 09:12 PM

shibe in predicament
1,519 posts

did you perform DDU before you swap your old GPU with the new one?
xxboxx
post Jul 19 2019, 09:12 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,093 posts

It could be that the default monitor when load Windows is on another display port of the GC. Like mine I have 2 monitor connected, Monitor 1 is my default display on Windows, monitor 2 I have disabled it in Windows. But when the PC boot, bios display will be on monitor 2. Only when display Windows it will be back to monitor 1.
PzGman
post Jul 19 2019, 09:36 PM

Private Pilot
800 posts

Your monitor might not have auto-source detection. Try manually switching the inputs on your monitor instead. Also, check the cables are plugged in correctly.
noobandroid
post Jul 19 2019, 11:18 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

maybe u try plug into the onboard display port first, maybe the display out fallback to the onboard, after you install the driver, it will go to the GC
TShoujiji
post Jul 20 2019, 12:07 AM

798 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Jul 19 2019, 07:25 PM)
Is it connected to ONE monitor only?
I think the monitor's HDMI is no longer working, have tried with 2 different HDMI cables already. Maybe that's why I've been using vga+converter for god knows how long.. doh.gif

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 19 2019, 09:12 PM)
did you perform DDU before you swap your old GPU with the new one?
No I did not. May i know what does it do? confused.gif

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jul 19 2019, 09:12 PM)
It could be that the default monitor when load Windows is on another display port of the GC. Like mine I have 2 monitor connected, Monitor 1 is my default display on Windows, monitor 2 I have disabled it in Windows. But when the PC boot, bios display will be on monitor 2. Only when display Windows it will be back to monitor 1.
Highly possible, but I cant check if this is true because i do not have 2 monitors to troubleshoot. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(PzGman @ Jul 19 2019, 09:36 PM)
Your monitor might not have auto-source detection. Try manually switching the inputs on your monitor instead. Also, check the cables are plugged in correctly.
I think it has! Thanks! Will give it a try! thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jul 19 2019, 11:11 PM)
maybe u try plug into the onboard display port first, maybe the display out fallback to the onboard, after you install the driver, it will go to the GC
on-board is a male and the converter is male too.. Male+Male cant mix hehe laugh.gif
lolzcalvin
post Jul 20 2019, 10:36 AM

shibe in predicament
1,519 posts

QUOTE(houjiji @ Jul 20 2019, 12:07 AM)
I think the monitor's HDMI is no longer working, have tried with 2 different HDMI cables already. Maybe that's why I've been using vga+converter for god knows how long..  doh.gif
No I did not. May i know what does it do?  confused.gif
Highly possible, but I cant check if this is true because i do not have 2 monitors to troubleshoot.  rclxub.gif
I think it has! Thanks! Will give it a try!  thumbsup.gif
on-board is a male and the converter is male too.. Male+Male cant mix hehe  laugh.gif
you had an old GPU before you swapped it with your new GPU, am I right? does your new GPU work as of now?

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Jul 20 2019, 10:41 AM
Champinidan
post Jul 20 2019, 07:41 PM

135 posts

Yes, for sure you need to check how this card really connected to your monitor and such and so on. Sometimes you need to switch the source especially if the monitor is old, mine is 8 years old and need this really. Also it could be PSU you know ?wink.gif
TShoujiji
post Jul 21 2019, 11:23 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 20 2019, 10:36 AM)
you had an old GPU before you swapped it with your new GPU, am I right? does your new GPU work as of now?
Will plug in again and test it, thanks for the suggestion.

QUOTE(Champinidan @ Jul 20 2019, 07:41 PM)
Yes, for sure you need to check how this card really connected to your monitor and such and so on. Sometimes you need to switch the source especially if the monitor is old, mine is 8 years old and need this really. Also it could be PSU you know ?wink.gif
My PSU I believe is more than capable to provide the CPU power with the new GPU. Because it's an overly powered PSU when I build it last time, i bought bigger in case i miscalcaluted. smile.gif

My other option is to get a guy from kaodim which I hired before, and let him kaodim it for me. sweat.gif

[Update: Just tested with another monitor; doesn't work too. Really super confuse now... Will plug in old one and retest.]

Thank you all sifus for your suggestions.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
ave666
post Jul 22 2019, 07:49 AM

Beginner
1,515 posts

This motherboard have display output? Try connect without gfx card
TShoujiji
post Jul 22 2019, 09:25 AM

798 posts

QUOTE(ave666 @ Jul 22 2019, 07:49 AM)
This motherboard have display output? Try connect without gfx card
Got but male output. My dvi cable is male too.
yhsiau
post Jul 22 2019, 09:56 AM

790 posts

Dear TS, can u boot to safe mode? Try using safe mode to remove old drivers.
TShoujiji
post Jul 22 2019, 10:16 AM

798 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 20 2019, 10:36 AM)
Old GPU works. Am using now to view this and reply. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Jul 22 2019, 09:56 AM)
Dear TS, can u boot to safe mode? Try using safe mode to remove old drivers.
If i remove my old driver I will have no way to troubleshoot with old GPU no? I inserted back old GPU and it's working fine now.. rclxub.gif
versey
post Jul 22 2019, 10:23 AM

I Love Huawei ^_^
948 posts

try check your motherboard got new bios update or chipset update to support new GPU.
TShoujiji
post Jul 22 2019, 11:18 AM

798 posts

QUOTE(versey @ Jul 22 2019, 10:23 AM)
try check your motherboard got new bios update or chipset update to support new GPU.
Checked, no more update after 2012,,

I highly suspect is my PSU not enough power now because i found someone from quora with my same problem.

In most cases, if the PSU doesn't provide enough power for the system and all the components you have chosen, the system won't boot.  Sometimes, if it is close, the system will boot, but as soon as the video card changes resolutions (after the BIOS and initial Windows loading screen) the display will remain dark.  Very rarely, the system will boot to a desktop, but the drivers for the card won't load and you'll be stuck using the Standard VGA drivers.

This post has been edited by houjiji: Jul 22 2019, 11:19 AM
yhsiau
post Jul 22 2019, 06:07 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(houjiji @ Jul 22 2019, 10:16 AM)
Old GPU works. Am using now to view this and reply.  rclxub.gif
If i remove my old driver I will have no way to troubleshoot with old GPU no? I inserted back old GPU and it's working fine now..  rclxub.gif
Could be drivers conflicts.. safe mode uses vanilla vga driver guarantee work with all vga card.

Just my 2 cents
lolzcalvin
post Jul 22 2019, 08:40 PM

shibe in predicament
1,519 posts

QUOTE(houjiji @ Jul 22 2019, 10:16 AM)
Old GPU works. Am using now to view this and reply.  rclxub.gif
If i remove my old driver I will have no way to troubleshoot with old GPU no? I inserted back old GPU and it's working fine now..  rclxub.gif
ok, it's definitely time to do DDU.

grab the official executable here: https://www.wagnardsoft.com/content/display...v18015-released

follow this guide: https://www.wagnardsoft.com/content/ddu-guide-tutorial

tl;dr guide:
still having old GPU plugged in, download a fresh RTX2060 driver from nvidia
-> launch DDU and select reboot to safe mode, let it reboot to safe mode
-> use DDU to fully clean and uninstall your old driver AND SHUT DOWN (iirc there's an option in DDU for you to clean uninstall and shut down before proceeding the uninstallation)
-> swap to your new GPU
-> boot up and install the downloaded RTX2060 driver

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Jul 22 2019, 08:50 PM
TShoujiji
post Jul 22 2019, 11:21 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 22 2019, 08:40 PM)
ok, it's definitely time to do DDU.

grab the official executable here: https://www.wagnardsoft.com/content/display...v18015-released

follow this guide: https://www.wagnardsoft.com/content/ddu-guide-tutorial

tl;dr guide:
still having old GPU plugged in, download a fresh RTX2060 driver from nvidia
-> launch DDU and select reboot to safe mode, let it reboot to safe mode
-> use DDU to fully clean and uninstall your old driver AND SHUT DOWN (iirc there's an option in DDU for you to clean uninstall and shut down before proceeding the uninstallation)
-> swap to your new GPU
-> boot up and install the downloaded RTX2060 driver
Thank you very much sifu! notworthy.gif

0.0143sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 06:55 PM