Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Is my current build bottleneck somehow?, Recent upgrade and see fewer weird state

views
     
chocobo7779
post Jul 19 2019, 03:40 AM

Power is nothing without control
*******
Senior Member
9,894 posts

Joined: Sep 2010
Edit

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jul 19 2019, 03:42 AM
TSXanelyne
post Jul 19 2019, 09:11 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
46 posts

Joined: Mar 2019
QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Jul 18 2019, 10:23 PM)
have you monitored the temp of the CPU?
*
its running in 60 to 68 'C
TSXanelyne
post Jul 19 2019, 09:13 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
46 posts

Joined: Mar 2019
QUOTE(BelaCHAN @ Jul 17 2019, 05:12 PM)
Oh ya, TS, is your C drive SSD?

The page file may be another source of bottlenecking.

Win 10 will eat up 5GB RAM on any given day at idle.
Hence adding 8GB more RAM will help that your system does NOT rely on page file when playing games.
*
yup im using ssd
ketaros
post Jul 19 2019, 09:58 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
53 posts

Joined: Apr 2010
Your build is pretty balance even my 4th gen i5 does not bottleneck the 1060. I've watch a video about bottleneck by linus but i dont remember the detail where it shows that when u have a balance system playing in 1440p and then you change to 1080p monitor, the card will work less but the cpu would maintain high work load, its something like that. u could try different setting or different game to compare. Hardware wise is adding one more stick of ram
WiiPS3_74
post Jul 19 2019, 10:25 AM

I simply just don't reply
****
Senior Member
605 posts

Joined: Apr 2008


QUOTE(Xanelyne @ Jul 18 2019, 04:23 PM)
i just did a reset pc and i didnt install any cracked software or game in it afterward. i think should be clean? my overwatch suppose to be secure in 120 fps in epic setting. but now its like staying on 90 or even like to spike drop to 70++
*
Looks like some sort of Vsync option has been enable,framerate limiter has been reached. Temp looks okay under constant gaming load right?

TSXanelyne
post Jul 19 2019, 11:18 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
46 posts

Joined: Mar 2019
QUOTE(ketaros @ Jul 19 2019, 09:58 AM)
Your build is pretty balance even my 4th gen i5 does not bottleneck the 1060. I've watch a video about bottleneck by linus but i dont remember the detail where it shows that when u have a balance system playing in 1440p and then you change to 1080p monitor, the card will work less but the cpu would maintain high work load, its something like that. u could try different setting or different game to compare. Hardware wise is adding one more stick of ram
*
Yes, im usually gaming in 1080P which is enough for me (and the main reason i buy these two baby~) for now i only have 2 game to try on PUBG and overwatch. Not gonna do pirated game again... cuz performance seem to be effected by some of them. About adding another stick.. nowsaday cant really find a ddr4 2133mhz 8GB (usually cost RM200++) mad.gif mad.gif so im wondering to go dual channel ddr4 4gb 2400mhz (will reduced to 2133mhz due to motherboard limit but its okay?) or buy another 8gb 2400mhz instead and add in. what do you think about the ram?

QUOTE(WiiPS3_74 @ Jul 19 2019, 10:25 AM)
Looks like some sort of Vsync option has been enable,framerate limiter has been reached. Temp looks okay under constant gaming load right?
*
Not vsync. cuz if that thing is on my fps is usually stuck on 60fps forever and the slowness of respond is very obvious. Temp for both gpu and cpu work great all under 70'C.

BTS1501
post Jul 20 2019, 09:25 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
62 posts

Joined: May 2019
You need to post the images of cpu-z (memory and spd tabs) then can help you which 2400 can suit your motherboard, as latency timings will decide.
TSXanelyne
post Jul 21 2019, 07:22 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
46 posts

Joined: Mar 2019
QUOTE(BTS1501 @ Jul 20 2019, 09:25 AM)
You need to post the images of cpu-z (memory and spd tabs)  then can help you which 2400 can suit your motherboard,  as latency timings will decide.
*
user posted image
user posted image

This is it and im also playing BF1 recently and having a constant lower fps than 60 in some map

BTS1501
post Jul 21 2019, 11:27 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
62 posts

Joined: May 2019
ok, so you are currently using Kingston valueram, 2133 CL16 8Gb and the clock is operating at 1066 CL15, that means you can get another kingston valueram 2400 CL17 8Gb for dual channel configuration, as the clock of 2400 CL17 can operate at either 1200 CL17 or downstep to 1066 CL15 (which your ram is currently running), you can look at the memory timings here :

https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/ple...400mhz.3455929/

The part number is KVR24N17S8/8

https://shopee.com.my/Kingston-8GB-DDR4-240...7117.1274187261

If you want you can also get kingston 2666 CL18, which the clock should operate at 1333 CL18 or 1200 CL17 or 1066 CL15, but maybe expensive now I think.

Other brands like adata, Hynix, samsung etc can also work, but you need to make sure the CL before buying.

You can also anyhow buy the ram, but you need to put the slower ram in slot 1, and the clock may not be 1066 CL15 or dual channel anymore, it could be other clock speed/CL (depending on the cpu memory controller) and you may get BSOD if not match properly.
TSXanelyne
post Jul 21 2019, 11:54 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
46 posts

Joined: Mar 2019
QUOTE(BTS1501 @ Jul 21 2019, 11:27 AM)
ok, so you are currently using Kingston valueram, 2133 CL16 8Gb and the clock is operating at 1066 CL15, that means you can get another kingston valueram 2400 CL17 8Gb for dual channel configuration, as the clock of 2400 CL17 can operate at either 1200 CL17 or downstep to 1066 CL15 (which your ram is currently running), you can look at the memory timings here :

https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/ple...400mhz.3455929/

The part number is  KVR24N17S8/8

https://shopee.com.my/Kingston-8GB-DDR4-240...7117.1274187261

If you want you can also get kingston 2666 CL18, which the clock should operate at 1333 CL18 or 1200 CL17 or 1066 CL15,  but maybe expensive now I think.

Other brands like adata, Hynix, samsung etc can also work, but you need to make sure the CL before buying.

You can also anyhow buy the ram, but you need to put the slower ram in slot 1, and the clock may not be 1066 CL15 or dual channel anymore, it could be other clock speed/CL (depending on the cpu memory controller) and you may get BSOD if not match properly.
*
thanks for your decent reply!!!
pne more thing.. since the timing is different.. do i need to manually set it to the lower timing even if i put the slowest one on slot one? (actually this motherboard only have two memory slot... i dont know why it's running in slot 3.)

BTS1501
post Jul 21 2019, 03:52 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
62 posts

Joined: May 2019
QUOTE(Xanelyne @ Jul 21 2019, 11:54 AM)
pne more thing.. since the timing is different.. do i need to manually set it to the lower timing even if i put the slowest one on slot one? (actually this motherboard only have two memory slot... i dont know why it's running in slot 3.)
*
No, there is no need to manually set to lower timing, you only need to put the slower ram (2133) on slot 1 and the faster ram in slot 3 (for dual channel) or slot 2 for single channel, and the cpu memory controller will take care of the clock speed/CL. However, some boards you need to put the ram in slot 1 and 2 for dual channel, not slot 1/3. You need to read your motherboard manual. The speed difference between single channel and dual channel configuration is around 10-20%.

Have a nice weekend smile.gif
BTS1501
post Jul 21 2019, 04:47 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
62 posts

Joined: May 2019
oops, my bad, not the speed difference, the correct word should be , the performance difference between single and dual channel is only 10-20%, sometimes even lower or no difference. You will only notice it in memory intensive programs or games (probably a few fps increase). Not all games though.

early 2000 you can see the difference between 64bit (single channel) and 128bit (dual channel), and its in graphics card. Last time the early PCI-e card has 64bit and 128bit memory interface (The old AGP card also has these), like the Geforce 6200 (64bit) and 6600GT (128bit), you can see the stuttering in 64bits cards very often when playing games whereas 128bit cards the games are quite smooth, with occasional stuttering.

However, for cpu/ram, in everyday office tasks/surf net, you won't notice any difference with single or dual channel.
abu.shofwan
post Jul 21 2019, 06:02 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,126 posts

Joined: Jan 2015
From: Qatar


Always interesting to read these kind of threads...

Wish I could contribute also. But I know too little and also I don't play those games that TS play. Maybe TS can check other games to eliminate the possibility that this issue is particular to those games only.
abu.shofwan
post Jul 21 2019, 06:04 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,126 posts

Joined: Jan 2015
From: Qatar


QUOTE(BTS1501 @ Jul 21 2019, 04:47 PM)
oops, my bad, not the speed difference, the correct word should be , the performance difference between single and dual channel is only 10-20%, sometimes even lower or no difference. You will only notice it in memory intensive programs or games (probably a few fps increase). Not all games though.

early 2000 you can see the difference between 64bit (single channel) and 128bit (dual channel), and its in graphics card. Last time the early PCI-e card has 64bit and 128bit memory interface (The old AGP card also has these), like the Geforce 6200 (64bit) and 6600GT (128bit), you can see the stuttering in 64bits cards very often when playing games whereas 128bit cards the games are quite smooth, with occasional stuttering.

However, for cpu/ram, in everyday office tasks/surf net, you won't notice any difference with single or dual channel.
*
I had the 6600gt myself. Prior to that, I had the Ati 9600xt...

Brings back old memories.
TSXanelyne
post Jul 22 2019, 10:18 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
46 posts

Joined: Mar 2019
QUOTE(abu.shofwan @ Jul 21 2019, 06:02 PM)
Always interesting to read these kind of threads...

Wish I could contribute also. But I know too little and also I don't play those games that TS play. Maybe TS can check other games to eliminate the possibility that this issue is particular to those games only.
*
bwhaha some old geezer le ady isit xD
yea i did check online and a lot of ppl report a huge different with this dual channel and single channel. especially BF1 where many said the game is unplayable in single channel (2133 - 2666 those). beside that the other game so so only lorh. PUBG do get a stable FPS la, not really increasing. and Overwatch not much difference since the game not really heavy or so.
TSXanelyne
post Jul 22 2019, 10:22 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
46 posts

Joined: Mar 2019
QUOTE(BTS1501 @ Jul 21 2019, 04:47 PM)
oops, my bad, not the speed difference, the correct word should be , the performance difference between single and dual channel is only 10-20%, sometimes even lower or no difference. You will only notice it in memory intensive programs or games (probably a few fps increase). Not all games though.

early 2000 you can see the difference between 64bit (single channel) and 128bit (dual channel), and its in graphics card. Last time the early PCI-e card has 64bit and 128bit memory interface (The old AGP card also has these), like the Geforce 6200 (64bit) and 6600GT (128bit), you can see the stuttering in 64bits cards very often when playing games whereas 128bit cards the games are quite smooth, with occasional stuttering.

However, for cpu/ram, in everyday office tasks/surf net, you won't notice any difference with single or dual channel.
*
ohhh i see....
i just follow as what you said and now my system is 16GB with dual channel (i added a ddr4 2400mhz 8GB, kingston) the modal u mentioned if not mistaken. So far my BF1 become more smooth le. But isin't 16GB a little bit overkill for gaming? im not sure, just asking xd

abu.shofwan
post Jul 22 2019, 03:03 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,126 posts

Joined: Jan 2015
From: Qatar


QUOTE(Xanelyne @ Jul 22 2019, 10:18 AM)
bwhaha some old geezer le ady isit xD
yea i did check online and a lot of ppl report a huge different with this dual channel and single channel. especially BF1 where many said the game is unplayable in single channel (2133 - 2666 those). beside that the other game so so only lorh. PUBG do get a stable FPS la, not really increasing. and Overwatch not much difference since the game not really heavy or so.
*
No matter how old I would be, I will always be young at heart wink.gif

But I just don't play online games at all. More of a single player (mostly RPG) kind...
BTS1501
post Jul 22 2019, 05:46 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
62 posts

Joined: May 2019
QUOTE(Xanelyne @ Jul 22 2019, 10:22 AM)
ohhh i see....
i just follow as what you said and now my system is 16GB with dual channel (i added a ddr4 2400mhz 8GB, kingston) the modal u mentioned if not mistaken. So far my BF1 become more smooth le. But isin't 16GB a little bit overkill for gaming? im not sure, just asking xd
*
That's good to hear, at least BF1 benefited from dual channel config. smile.gif

For me I am also too old, prefer to spend time watching TV than playing games, as now watching 3D games for a few mins my head will also spin rclxub.gif
DoomHammer
post Jul 22 2019, 05:58 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
183 posts

Joined: Jul 2006
From: USJ7, Shah Alam, Banting


QUOTE(Xanelyne @ Jul 22 2019, 10:22 AM)
ohhh i see....
i just follow as what you said and now my system is 16GB with dual channel (i added a ddr4 2400mhz 8GB, kingston) the modal u mentioned if not mistaken. So far my BF1 become more smooth le. But isin't 16GB a little bit overkill for gaming? im not sure, just asking xd
*
16GB RAM IS THE SWEET SPOT FOR GAMING NOWADAYS CONSIDERING THE PRICE YOU PAID FOR THEM.

My PC spec:
I5 4670k@4Ghz
24gb RAM
GTX1060 6GB
Samsung SSD 512GB + Kingston SSD 480GB

So far I cant feel any bottleneck for any single player games I played. I don't play MP games on my PC tho.

 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0737sec    1.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th August 2019 - 06:38 PM