Buy from Japan and Sell in Malaysia?, Still possible to make money out of it?

TSQuickSilverV3
post Jul 17 2019, 08:24 AM, updated 7y ago

87 posts

Hi everyone,

I will be in Tokyo in the coming months. I was wondering is it still possible to make money by buying things from Japan and resell it here? I am looking into suggestions of products that is viable.

If any of you have actually tried doing it or currently doing it, please do enlighten me little bro here ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Thanks in advance!
Zaire.Ver
post Jul 17 2019, 08:29 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(QuickSilverV3 @ Jul 17 2019, 08:24 AM)
Hi everyone,

I will be in Tokyo in the coming months. I was wondering is it still possible to make money by buying things from Japan and resell it here? I am looking into suggestions of products that is viable.

If any of you have actually tried doing it or currently doing it, please do enlighten me little bro here ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Thanks in advance!
new helmet
used rare helmet
used branded bag..LV?
skII products

iq_myst
post Jul 17 2019, 08:32 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(Zaire.Ver @ Jul 17 2019, 08:29 AM)
new helmet
used rare helmet
used branded bag..LV?
skII products
imported helmet need permit from JPJ.
matmoto5125
post Jul 17 2019, 08:36 AM

Silent Reader
1,305 posts

Wanna ride mainstream wave? Buy G-SHOCK watches. Do some research on more sought-after models. Rare JDM ones too.

Japan-branded toys like Takara Tomy, Epoch, Tamiya are considerably cheap there. Even after conver to RM. Cheap as in half-price from TRU and Hamley's here.

Also, Hello Kitty merchandise. Even at the street market also they're selling the original Sanrio's one.

Some shop offers tax-free purchase for tourist provided you show them your passport, so asked them on that. VAT in Japan is 8%, that's quite a lot.
eviee729
post Jul 17 2019, 09:09 AM

36 posts

Hi everyone,

Thanks in advance!
What are u trying to sell? i saw lots of girls dai gou cosmetics and foods
faiz5688
post Jul 17 2019, 09:49 AM

61 posts

Hi everyone,

Thanks in advance!
NEW ERA CAP
Captain89
post Jul 17 2019, 09:50 AM

Jiken
3,190 posts

Japanese stuffs very cheap can earn a good profit here
sweet_pez
post Jul 17 2019, 01:42 PM

ไฝ•ใ‚’่ฆ‹ใฆใ„ใ‚‹ใฎ
4,277 posts

Hi everyone,

Thanks in advance!
Popular concept. But usually you get your buyers first and what they want - compile a list and then only go hunt in Japan. But you gotta know Japan well enough to know whether the item is commonly available, estimated cost etc and then calculate your luggage space, exchange rate, profit blabla. Have not done it and won't be doing so... too much trouble. With a trip there, i'd be happier spending the time there for ownself, and luggage space for my snacks biggrin.gif
bug_vengeance
post Jul 17 2019, 01:45 PM

: Juve's Historic Battle :
7,131 posts

japan very syiokkk

i wanna return every yearrr
budak_44
post Jul 17 2019, 05:20 PM

81 posts

okamoto dodom...cni byk mhl..3pcs rm30++..small,easy to bring + can be use for ownself..ohwai
Captain89
post Jul 17 2019, 05:24 PM

Jiken
3,190 posts

Resell tyres quit good business. Japan is well know for automotive. Spare parts of certain cars too can consider
TSQuickSilverV3
post Jul 18 2019, 10:42 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Jul 17 2019, 01:45 PM)
japan very syiokkk

This is my second time this year ๐Ÿ˜œ just wanna try if i can earn half of the trip. I m no big spender, I will just stay in dorm hostel and eat at family mart every day ๐Ÿ˜‚ Thought of doing it because I sold some of the stuff earning few hundred ringgits ๐Ÿ˜Š
dennis008
post Jul 18 2019, 12:32 PM

545 posts

streetwear brand

BAPE
Neigborhood
Undercover

reselling streetwear can make profit if you know how to play the game
netmatrix
post Jul 18 2019, 06:30 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Jul 17 2019, 05:24 PM)
Resell tyres quit good business. Japan is well know for automotive. Spare parts of certain cars too can consider
I would try to set up a UP Garage here if i were to go to that route. laugh.gif
Captain89
post Jul 18 2019, 06:31 PM

Jiken
3,190 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jul 18 2019, 06:30 PM)
I would try to set up a UP Garage here if i were to go to that route.  laugh.gif
Sure very high chance of earning profits. I have a friend thatโ€™s doing rn
TSQuickSilverV3
post Jul 18 2019, 10:34 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Jul 17 2019, 05:24 PM)
Hahaha i think this not for me. I assume that I need a huge sum of capital for this. I am looking into things like daily goods, toys or fashion but have not much idea on what to really bring back. confused.gif BTW thanks for the suggestion biggrin.gif
nuvi
post Jul 19 2019, 12:51 PM

28,011 posts

Buy the smallest thing that is the most expensive and most rare in Malaysia.
TSQuickSilverV3
post Jul 19 2019, 09:45 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(nuvi @ Jul 19 2019, 12:51 PM)
Buy the smallest thing that is the most expensive and most rare in Malaysia.
I was thinking of buying toys figure as I sold some and make a profit from it. Other than thought of I have thought of their clothing. Do you have any suggestions about the smaller thing that can be brought back and sell?
dk1
post Jul 21 2019, 05:58 PM

62 posts

Maybe you can try grabean.
See what people want then help them buy.
Pichu00
post Jul 22 2019, 10:24 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(dk1 @ Jul 21 2019, 05:58 PM)
Through platform u earn way way less
TSQuickSilverV3
post Jul 23 2019, 05:48 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(dk1 @ Jul 21 2019, 05:58 PM)
You try before? I have thought of that too.

SUSAngelic Layer
post Jul 24 2019, 08:47 PM

91 posts

Kitchen knife, the good ones are rare in Malaysia.
Learjet35
post Jul 26 2019, 10:31 AM

500hp
1,931 posts

Hi everyone,

Thanks in advance!
Buy helmet for me pls thanks
shirohamada
post Jul 27 2019, 01:24 AM

944 posts

Jav, /k/ will buy.
jajapan
post Oct 3 2019, 08:42 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(QuickSilverV3 @ Jul 19 2019, 10:45 PM)
I was thinking of buying toys figure as I sold some and make a profit from it. Other than thought of I have thought of their clothing. Do you have any suggestions about the smaller thing that can be brought back and sell?
We are here to help if you need anything from Japan
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4360866/+160

asuka16
post Oct 3 2019, 11:14 PM

28 posts

Kcar. Especially half cut Gino, Yrv, Mira.
Pichu00
post Oct 3 2019, 11:35 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(asuka16 @ Oct 3 2019, 11:14 PM)
Kcar. Especially half cut Gino, Yrv, Mira.
Idk why i super like k car
damnself
post Oct 4 2019, 08:37 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Jul 17 2019, 01:45 PM)
japan very syiokkk

Jom bug. Aku nak repeat third time 2021 ni.
damnself
post Oct 4 2019, 08:41 PM

244 posts

My wife make money by buying stuff at Hard Rock Cafe. Simply post at Facebook and then open a wasap group to buy item for them.

You then proceed to buy other item. Example gshock. Put in a group so you can easily track your stuff.

Repeat other stuff โ˜บ๏ธ
bug_vengeance
post Oct 7 2019, 09:28 AM

7,131 posts

QUOTE(damnself @ Oct 4 2019, 08:37 PM)
Jom bug. Aku nak repeat third time 2021 ni.
allahu
g area mana in 2021?

aku kalo g,next destination maybe tokyo
sbb da cover kyoto osaka in previous trip
damnself
post Oct 7 2019, 09:37 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Oct 7 2019, 09:28 AM)
allahu
g area mana in 2021?

aku kalo g,next destination maybe tokyo
sbb da cover kyoto osaka in previous trip
First time pergi Tokyo dah. 5 hari jd 9 hari sebab anak kena chicken pox tak boleh balik flight ๐Ÿคฆ๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ Nasib beli insurance tp pay and claim la. Doktor and pharmacist sana tak tau ckp English ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

Tak pernah pergi Osaka lg. berapa hari nak cover osaka dgn Kyoto tu bug? Apa tempat best dan cost? Hehe.
bug_vengeance
post Oct 7 2019, 09:52 AM

7,131 posts

QUOTE(damnself @ Oct 7 2019, 09:37 AM)
First time pergi Tokyo dah. 5 hari jd 9 hari sebab anak kena chicken pox tak boleh balik flight ๐Ÿคฆ๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ Nasib beli insurance tp pay and claim la. Doktor and pharmacist sana tak tau ckp English ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

Tak pernah pergi Osaka lg. berapa hari nak cover osaka dgn Kyoto tu bug? Apa tempat best dan cost? Hehe.
aku almost 9 hari kt sana
tp kyoto ko wajib spend masa lebih skit weh
worth every seconds & penny

osaka tu bandar metropolitan,ade je bende yg menarik tp nothing comparable to kyoto

cost aku xleh ckp sgt,sbb aku punye trip xde la budget sgt,easily reach 4k sweat.gif

RegentCid
post Oct 7 2019, 01:09 PM

ใ‚ฐใƒญใƒผใƒใƒซ้˜ฒ่ก›ๆง‹ๆƒณ
4,060 posts

QUOTE(QuickSilverV3 @ Jul 17 2019, 07:24 AM)
Hi everyone,

Thanks in advance!
90% Japan online does't offer direct shipping to Malaysia.
You can offer your address and act as middleman. Earn from postage fees to Malaysia.

Lyu
post Jun 23 2020, 06:27 PM

772 posts

saw some used items on amazon

wonder how the quality
hksgmy
post Jun 24 2020, 06:20 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Lyu @ Jun 23 2020, 06:27 PM)
saw some used items on amazon

wonder how the quality
If buying from seller and not shop, it can be a bit of hit and miss - but, Amazon has more reputable listings than some of the other platforms from personal experience
calakoko
post Jun 24 2020, 08:23 AM

61 posts

Hi everyone,

Thanks in advance!
some items that you can resell or consume..
https://goingawesomeplaces.com/what-to-buy-in-japan/
https://www.japlanning.com/?category=Cheap
pretty23
post Jun 24 2020, 08:29 AM

1,791 posts

Yes. Some product / brand in here sell much more expensive than Japan.

Middle man margin huge deep.
ClessRV
post Jun 24 2020, 09:14 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(matmoto5125 @ Jul 17 2019, 08:36 AM)
Wanna ride mainstream wave? Buy G-SHOCK watches. Do some research on more sought-after models. Rare JDM ones too.

Japan-branded toys like Takara Tomy, Epoch, Tamiya are considerably cheap there. Even after conver to RM. Cheap as in half-price from TRU and Hamley's here.

Also, Hello Kitty merchandise. Even at the street market also they're selling the original Sanrio's one.

Some shop offers tax-free purchase for tourist provided you show them your passport, so asked them on that. VAT in Japan is 8%, that's quite a lot.
this is true, went there a few times and most friends and family always ask to buy those things to bring back as souvenirs.

Lyu
post Jun 24 2020, 09:30 AM

772 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 24 2020, 06:20 AM)
If buying from seller and not shop, it can be a bit of hit and miss - but, Amazon has more reputable listings than some of the other platforms from personal experience
yes i am aware normally they will put term like "used-very good" for amazon

but how about mandarake since all like second hand items?

0.0248sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:29 PM