- this is a continuation from part 2 right here -
What 1080p/4K Movie did You Watch Today (Part III), Movies thats worth sharing or warned abt
Jul 16 2019, 03:54 PM, updated 3y ago
1,162 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: PJ |
- this is a continuation from part 2 right here -
Sep 24 2019, 04:52 PM
Parasite (Korean) A winner from this year's Canne Film Festival. From time to time I got attracted to a few nice korean films. Many of which has element of surprises, which I think, becaming an in thing for them. This film may not give us a feel good effect, but just sit down, enjoy every single frame that brings us along with its unique story line. I truly enjoyed the experience. Highly recommended. |
Oct 11 2019, 01:59 PM
Yes indeed. Good movies do not require great accessory enhancement, look at citizen kane. It would be a disaster if they even turn it into colour movie.
Nov 28 2019, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Nov 27 2019, 11:07 PM) Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood - 3 Star. Once upon a time in Hollywood, just like Inglorious Basteud, is a fiction based on real event. But Quentine changed the end results of history too. I think this film has to be watched like eating food. Slowly chew it, digest the flow, and enjoy the character development. Hmm. I don't get why this film is having such high rating. From total 2 hours 31 minutes is freaking slow and meaningless story. Last 10 mins is wow! Awesome! Leonardo acting was very great! That it. I give 3 star the max because of Leonardo acting and also the last 10 mins. Actually this film can straight drag to last 10 mins to watch it. ![]() ps: Roman Polanski's wife Sharon Tate was murdered by Charles Manson's family who lives in outskirt California at that time. This was the real event. |
Nov 29 2019, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 28 2019, 06:59 PM) The Irishman... is quite a piece of work.... from acclaimed Martin Scorsese who also did casino, goodfellas - american mafia crime epics... and the departed, wolf on wall street, shutter island, taxi driver, etc. I took two separate evening to finish the movies, mainly because I didn't know it lasted that long. 3 3/4 hrs long... not much action but not boring either... more of intense drama - of politics and crime. but u gotta like his mafia movies or the godfather trilogy (from francis ford coppola) to like this. star studded - robert de niro, al pacino, joe pesci, harvey keitel. i enjoyed it... but i suspect the younger gen will not... maybe becos there is a lot of "old men" stuff in it. 3.5/5. ![]() Years ago people actually wrote about films where Al Pacino and Robert De Niro both works together was a rare feat. Godfather II was the first, but both never actually seen appeared together in the same scene. Both only appeared in the same scene many years later, in Heat. That was a notable event. Things are different now when they got older. Although De Niro has lost some sparks, appeared in a few low ranking films along the way in recent years, in good hand (like Martin Scorsese), he can still shine. The Irishman needs to be enjoyed slowly, again, just like Once Upon a Time In Hollywood, the characters will grow along. Its based on real historical people, but unlike Quentine's work, Martin did not try to deviate too much from the fact, although one may argue about the authenticity of the whole film. I enjoy the film, the scripts, and the characters too. But to be honest, after years of watching Al Pacino, De Niro and older impression of Joe Pesci from the heyday of Goodfella, Casino etc, their character just need 10 minutes to form when I watch this Irishman. This is a grey factor film, ie. the lights were all focus on older actors of 1980-90's. So younger audience may not enjoy it as much. But for movie buff, do indulge in the movie full of 1960's musics, Classic Cinematographic style of Scorsese, brilliant fast paced editing by Thelma Schoonmaker and finally enjoy the almost final bit of what Scorsese, joe pesci, de niro and Pacino can offer, and most of all, all four combined, to make this I think the final swan song of 70-80's Hollywood's best. |
Jan 13 2020, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 11 2020, 09:29 PM) The Lighthouse Agreed. I actually spent two days to watch it, but everyday I was impacted by the film in every aspect. But after this film, I managed to sit down and spent another two nights watching Joker. Only 3 person in the movie - Robert Pattinson, Willem Dafoe and also Valeriia Karaman where Valeriia Karaman appear less than 5 mins! I give "The Lighthouse" - Cinematography - 5 Star - Acting - 5 Star - Storyline - 5 Star - Emotional Level - 5 Star - Imaginary - 5 Star - Special Effect - 5 Star - Sound/Sound Effect - 5 Star This film was shot using black & white camera in aspect ratio of 1.19:1 (very closed to Instagram aspect ratio). Genres in Drama, Fantasy, Horror & Mystery. ![]() Which I think could be a mistake. Both are grey in subject matter, dealt with human behaviour when placed in extreme situation (or its effect thereof) and both did not give us a sense of closure. Nonetheless in terms of cinema, both films are tour de force. Ps: Trivial I read: (not exactly a spoiler) the stuff W.Dafoe was thrown at was chocolate power. |
Feb 4 2020, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 4 2020, 09:53 AM) i can't think of one that i will give 5/5. Kind of surprise that you gave Cloud Atlas & Matrix a 4 star. I would have thought Avatar would have been a 4 star, not 4.5 ...to me, examples of 4.5 would be... Lord of the Rings trilogy, 2001 space odyssey, Avatar, Apocalypse now, Schindler's List. 4.0 examples wud be Interstellar, Inception, Godfather trilogy, Alien, Heat, Ronin, Matrix trilogy, Cloud Atlas, Pulp Fiction. newer superheroes stuff from dc, marvel... avengers, justice league... raking in hundreds of millions - overdose of CGI, i dun give high. becos like martin scorcese said - those are great entertainment but is not cinema. Using your standard, I think the 5 star contender would still be the Citizen Kane, for its brilliant storyline, dramatic and beautiful monochrome cinematography, and actually very well written scripts, not to mention a fast pace drama. This post has been edited by peter32: Feb 4 2020, 02:01 PM |
Feb 16 2020, 11:00 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
Jojo Rabbit
I actually enjoyed every bit of it. Like Life is Beautiful (1998), it gives a light take on a serious subject of the Nazi Germany, based on the viewpoint of a little child. Except that Jojo Rabbit is probably lighter, more pleasant, and more colourful. I viewed it with my children, with a few guidance on one strong language and a bloodless kill on a small animal, I would think that it suits anyone older than 10. My kid certainly enjoyed the film, along with voluntary discussion from them about Nazi Germany, who is Jew and its historical reason on their persecution etc.. Overall a great movie (with some guidance) for the whole family. |
Mar 23 2020, 12:15 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Mar 22 2020, 09:30 PM) Bro, this one u watch using blu-ray or what software is that? i watched using Plex, but dunno why the color jalan.. the file is mkv with 10bit HDR x265 one.. I actually like this film. Its not meant to be a film about an earth shattering event, but more like a seemingly insignificant event but we get to follow the sequence in which it unfolded continuously. So its very enjoyable if we watch it as a spectator with little expectation.Great editing which made it looked like a continuous uncut film except perhaps once or twice. This film reminded me of Gravity which has good cinematography (I think anyway) and the soundtrack added into the tension greatly. For me 1917's soundtrack played a significant part. |
Apr 28 2020, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Apr 27 2020, 02:21 PM) Ford Vs Ferrari (2019) Its called Aging. I don't like war movies. I don't like sports movies. 2019 did something strange to me... Did you notice that most movies we somehow like even they didn't fall into our favourite genre always have some eccentric characters that captivated our attention? |
May 28 2020, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ May 28 2020, 09:02 AM) dunno why, somehow I see Chinese fantasy martial theme movie, with weird cgi, I give up Agreed. Totally put me off.I really cannot except the fantasy cgi..... Im not sure they improve or not , but it deem too fake or comically to me I think just like Hollywood. Initially CGI when it began, too much focus on CGi diluted the story line and the human aspect of the movies. They will slowly evolve once they noticed too much of it will just dull the whole experience. We need something like Forest Gump from the chinese movie with CGI, where character development, storyline and, one word - 'soul' of a movie can be refocused. |
May 30 2020, 09:25 AM
Memories (1995)
Presented by Katsuhiro Otomo (Akira), its a combination of three short stories. As usual, its excellently made, presented and lots of hand-drawn work that marked the earlier traditional anime brilliance. For the AV-phile, the video may not be that well transferred into the media, but I don't have 4K TV, so do take my word with a pinch of salt. Those three Sci-fi clips are just excellent. With its own complexity of story; One of the story is just pure animation art with simple daily story telling about a special community's life in a normal day. Remember in one scene of Akira, there is a clip about predicting Tokyo olympics was going to be postponed? In this movie, the word Corona was used in one of the 'structure'. Call it coincidence if you may. For Sci-fi and anime fan. |
Aug 6 2021, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(twigky @ Aug 5 2021, 12:08 PM) Not going to share story line to avoid become spoiler. Three Billboards outside Ebbing: Official Secrets - 2019 What triggered me to watch the movie was Keira Knightley. Highly recommend. Gone Baby Gone - 2007 Story behind story... Lucky Number Slevin - 2006 How the movie begin kind of interesting... Fracture - 2007 Quite slow pace crime movie Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri - 2017 Very slow pace drama, watch if you patient. I have watched it long ago, but despite its slow pace, those who are keen for real life drama can check on this. I actually liked this movie quite a bit. I don't mind drama or slow speed because the character can develop well, absorbing us into the story line. This is definitely not for the action minded cinema goer. Think of 'erin brockovich' the classic. |
Oct 2 2021, 10:42 AM
Yes at some point its the movie quality that counts. Sound effect enhances but can never cover the quality short coming.
Cinematography too, they are part of a great cinema but never exists as stand alone feature in most cases. |
Mar 14 2022, 12:51 PM
Disney Short Animation (Available from Disney Hotstar)
Excellent animation as always, but with brilliant music and dance sequence. Video : 4+/5 short and sweet Audio : 3/5 ( is there a way for Malaysian user to enjoy Atmos through streaming?) |
Mar 18 2022, 02:24 PM
Will Smith's Welcome to Earth Series
- Disney Hotstar - FHD and 5.1 audio capable (highly recommended) Well made documentary but never boring. Great photography throughout and excellent audio editing, much like watching a movie than David Attenborough's documentary. |
Apr 5 2022, 09:12 PM
I am sorry but may I know how to watch disney hotstar with full atmos encoding for Malaysia?
Apr 6 2022, 08:29 AM
I noticed some titles in local disney hotstar using TV box came with 5.1 max. American Disney hotstar do come with atmos but not local. Obviously now we only have Malaysian version. Is there a way we can have atmos encoded titles too?
I did try using VPN but using our local account is not usable. Is there any other way around this or I need to register for a new american account. |
Apr 17 2022, 09:41 PM
[quote=Andrewtst,Apr 16 2022, 10:28 PM]
The Sadness - Wah! This Taiwan movie is SHOCKING ME! 3.5 out of 5 star to me. The title seems meaningless to me, I can't join the title to the storyline. - Perverted Index 100% - Gore Index 100% - Violence Index 100% -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- X - I don't buy this film is so high rating, they said it return to old classic horror and give you everything you want. It is so predictable and boring. I am rather surprise that in this day and age people still make this sort of films. Reminded me of those 1970-80's low budget slash flicks with lots of exposed flesh (as in nude). |
Jun 20 2022, 07:12 PM
Jerry and Marge Go Big A nice drama those who are above 50's will enjoy a whole lot. Base on a true story about a retired 9 to 5 guy happened to be pretty good at numbers, and figured out a way to win a local lottery. I recommend it for those who run out of good movie to watch, and forgot that there are still plenty of good drama to slowly enjoy as the story goes along. faizdtk liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0901sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:50 PM |