What 1080p/4K Movie did You Watch Today (Part III), Movies thats worth sharing or warned abt

ben3003
post Mar 18 2020, 06:29 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Mar 18 2020, 10:37 AM)
kodi/plex normally works for me.. if not default android video player works too
wanna ask, does plex still do transcoding on the fly? Cos i not sure why it cant read DD plus audio, then i had to use PCM on my TV to get audio. and i realized even some DD audio output is 2.0 instead of 5.1

This post has been edited by ben3003: Mar 18 2020, 06:30 PM
ben3003
post Mar 20 2020, 05:40 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Mar 20 2020, 08:41 AM)
need to check bro..  brows.gif will let u know once i got the answer
i checked oledi.. is my puny av receiver cannot sendiri switch using ARC lol.. mean i playing the file now but maybe it still stuck at diff input.. then need sendiri switch to TV audio input baru can work. but i think plex is now if ur TV can decode it will not transcode.
ben3003
post Mar 22 2020, 09:30 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 19 2020, 09:23 PM)
Just finish watch 1917. I find this movie is over hype. Yes the acting is brilliant, the cinematography is astonishing! But I give it max 3 Star.

Definitely not the best movie I seen in year 2019 and not good enough to be win for Best Picture, basically I find it not good enough for even nominees.
But I do agreed it deserved to win the Best Cinematography!

One of the fine demo film for Visual and Audio. Outstanding Video and Audio quality!

Bro, this one u watch using blu-ray or what software is that? i watched using Plex, but dunno why the color jalan.. the file is mkv with 10bit HDR x265 one..
ben3003
post Mar 22 2020, 09:31 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 19 2020, 09:23 PM)
Just finish watch 1917. I find this movie is over hype. Yes the acting is brilliant, the cinematography is astonishing! But I give it max 3 Star.

Definitely not the best movie I seen in year 2019 and not good enough to be win for Best Picture, basically I find it not good enough for even nominees.
But I do agreed it deserved to win the Best Cinematography!

One of the fine demo film for Visual and Audio. Outstanding Video and Audio quality!

Bro, this one u watch using blu-ray or what software is that? i watched using Plex, but dunno why the color jalan.. the file is mkv with 10bit HDR x265 one..
ben3003
post Mar 22 2020, 09:50 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 22 2020, 09:44 PM)
This is Plex for Windows, I use it for library catalog only as Plex basically is not very good in many platform, include Windows, Google TV OS, LG WebOS, Panasonic FireFox My Home Screen OS and also AppleTV OS.

So I use Infuse Pro for all my movies. Infuse Pro only support AppleTV Box and support Plex Library catalog. AppleTV is very powerful and capable to playback up to 4K UHD HDR Remux version.

For Android TV Box, I suggest you go for KODI. Unless you got Nvidia Shield, else you can forget about Plex.
ohh ok.. i use plex found it very convenient for normal file la.. only 1917 cannot play lol.. but jumanji and frozen still okay.. too bad no mkv punya DV.. sad. Apple tv box price similar to nvidia shield right? Infuse Pro quite exp sweat.gif So ur Infuse Pro can directly play from ur PC?
ben3003
post Mar 23 2020, 06:48 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 22 2020, 09:54 PM)
They is no DV version even remux, but those rip is proper rip with metadata copy in. I not so sure how is it and not sure it is true or not but I don't have issue playback and output is freaking awesome.

You will facing playback issue on Plex when the file is remux copy which is original uncompressed version.

I can playback using Infuse Pro directly from PC file via wired network perfectly thru AppleTV 4K box.
Do remember you must connect the AppleTV to Soundbar as AppleTV only support output as 5.1 or more PCM format, you cannot directly connect to LG C9 HDMI as C9 got issue where when you change to PCM then the Dolby Atmos is not working, if choose auto, it playback as Dolby Digital where is compress sound format for all none Dolby Atmos track.

So connect directly to soundbar that is support more than 5.1 PCM will prevent the issue of downgrade to Dolby Digital lossy format.

Apple TV only support Dolby Atmos in Digital Plus format not the TrueHD as Apple refuse support it, the box is capable but apple block it. So you need to ensure your sound system support 5.1 or more channel in PCM format.

I buy life time version instead of subscription version of Infuse Pro.
i see.. yeah but now most rip is only HDR10+ at most. too bad lg c9 doesnt support HDR10+, not sure how much we losing out on this but i guess it is not too much. Ouch the AppleTV macam ini.. maybe need think twice.. actually my setup currently also cannot support atmos.. but i am trying to get a good soundbar in near future la.. cos ARC also means i losing out on TrueHD etc.. Probably i pull a HDMI cable from my PC to get direct output.. if not need to get nvidia shield..
ben3003
post Mar 23 2020, 01:42 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ukiya21 @ Mar 23 2020, 12:03 PM)
Current setup of mine for Plex.
1. nVidia Shield (old version)
2. HT-ST5000 sounbar
3. Cheap Sony TV KD-55X7500F

So no HDR10+ and Dolby Vision. But still looks great.  laugh.gif
ur soundbar is relatively more exp than u TV lol..
ben3003
post Mar 23 2020, 01:42 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ukiya21 @ Mar 23 2020, 12:03 PM)
Current setup of mine for Plex.
1. nVidia Shield (old version)
2. HT-ST5000 sounbar
3. Cheap Sony TV KD-55X7500F

So no HDR10+ and Dolby Vision. But still looks great.  laugh.gif
ur soundbar is relatively more exp than u TV lol..
ben3003
post Apr 16 2020, 12:20 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 16 2020, 10:13 AM)
Rip remux version, so it is same as physical disc version. I seldom buy disc already. My original 4K UHD blu-ray disc has less than 10. Haha!

The different is I am watching in HDR10 format instead of Dolby Vision as Dolby Vision is not able to rip out yet. Anyway if I own the disc I also cannot play in Dolby Vision as my 4K UHD blu-ray player not support Dolby Vision.

I had compare Dolby Vision format in Netflix v/s none normal HDR10, it is not very huge differences, I can only said Dolby Vision normally had slightly better contrast. I can't compare with physical disc as I don't have Dolby Vision support 4K UHD blu-ray player. Haha!
i think this due to dynamic tone mapping from LG C9 is fantastic for HDR10 content.
ben3003
post Apr 16 2020, 01:07 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 16 2020, 12:48 PM)
Maybe,  haha! From review, LG did fantastic in Dynamic Tone Mapping.

No regret getting it. I just watch a SD film and I notice it is watchable, the upscale did by C9 is far better than my previous TV also. smile.gif
yeah.. really good job makes HDR10 looks so good that it is basically a HDR10+ rclxm9.gif no wonder they don want to pay additional fee to HDR10+ lol. They say is free but actually to use HDR10+ they need pay annual subscription fee.

Watched the great battle korean movie in 1080p no HDR. It is historical story, felt abit like 300 to me lol. Gonna re-watch godzilla in HDR
ben3003
post Apr 16 2020, 05:25 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(turndownforhuat @ Apr 16 2020, 04:45 PM)
Same, been watching dramas... spending my MCO trying to catch up on Money Heist
I did a full day marathon and watched finish part 4 yesterday lol..
ben3003
post Apr 24 2020, 12:52 PM

10,859 posts

Just watched this ghost in a shell 2045 anime from netflix.. the sound effect is so amazing.. my setup is 2.1 only but i can hear sound coming from my left and right up down back. The Sound directional perception come from this show is so goooood.
ben3003
post Apr 24 2020, 01:37 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 24 2020, 01:09 PM)
Oh! thanks for the headsup. thumbup.gif

i will get the full HD audio episodes! biggrin.gif

a big fan of GITS, this will be the latest addition to all the older tv series and movies in my collection.

supposedly 2 seasons x 12 epis each.

yup this one.. the effects is really so nice.. 1 scene the guy roll the grenade at right side of the screen Toward the screen right side, can literally feel the grenade roll From front until beside me..
ben3003
post Jul 14 2020, 02:01 PM

10,859 posts

Dolby vision is mastered at cinema Viewing ambiance, so hdr10+ is brighter but the deep black is cannot compare. They focus is on deep black. So this yr they come out with dolby vision IQ to suit ambient lighting. Just like cinema home setting if really nit picking, u get black is not pitch black. Hdr10+ also like tat. Ok la, diff ppl diff taste. But i can say is lg dynamic tone mapping is quite good that the hdr10 content is decent.
ben3003
post Jul 15 2020, 07:47 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 15 2020, 12:55 AM)
Tumpang here, I not sure where to post. Just want to highlight Dolby Vision is manage to rip out already as Single Layer.

But so far only MrMC manage to playback as Dolby Vision in my TV.

Infuse said support but it still detect as HDR and from their forum, no one success playback as Dolby Vision.
Plex also not support.

Below is the Video information of the film. Haha!

Video
ID/String : 4117 (0x1015)
MenuID/String : 1 (0x1)
Format/String : HEVC
Format/Info  : High Efficiency Video Coding
Format_Profile : Main 10@L5.1@High
HDR_Format/String : Dolby Vision, Version 1.0, dvhe.04.06, BL+EL+RPU / SMPTE ST 2086, HDR10 compatible

Wow that is good news 👍
ben3003
post Feb 2 2021, 03:34 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Feb 2 2021, 02:19 PM)
Oh I only know it is a very famous novel but I didn't read it.

Asphalt Burning nice? I added to my list now, watch soon.

Now I am soon completing It's Okay to Not Be Okay.
Very nice! I like it. Haha!
u watching tat one is kdrama? ya it is very good one indeed.
ben3003
post Nov 2 2021, 09:52 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Nov 2 2021, 09:02 PM)
Sorry if this has been discussed before. What apps do you guys use to watch 4k dramas/movies?
Netflix, disney+/Hotstar+, Amazon prime video, apple tv+. Support the industry pls.
ben3003
post Nov 5 2021, 05:01 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 5 2021, 02:23 PM)
wah thanks for the link
gov ask us to cut down sugar la... hahahah
eureka got less sweet option, very tasty also and cheaper biggrin.gif

0.0836sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled