MY Kastam may confiscate your hand carry helmet!

jaycee1
post Aug 13 2022, 08:53 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

My HJC doens't come with a sirim sticker. Its an official import from local HJC distributor.

Most wont give a rat's ass to the pretty useless sirim sticker. Unless you are talking about the lowest end of the bunch.

The free xdot helmet I got from my driving school had a sirim sticker. Which do you think I feel safer wearing? LOL
jaycee1
post Mar 8 2024, 07:16 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 7 2024, 11:25 PM)
When I saw that banner during my last return flight, I asked the officer if I were to bring my own helmet overseas and back then how. They said you need to declare it when you leave the country that you're bringing a helmet overseas, then when you return you need to show them the declaration. Not sure exactly what form though but she said the procedure is something like this.

So if you were to purchase a helmet overseas and pretend you brought it from Malaysia, they may not buy your story.
We ride our bikes over to Thailand and back also no declaration mah. Hahaha. Different SOP?

jaycee1
post Mar 9 2024, 01:24 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 9 2024, 01:25 AM)
I thought international flight return they scan your bags? Lupa liao.
Well if you're riding a bike to Thailand then obviously you wear a helmet there and back, but if you return with an extra brand new helmet and no passenger then that is definitely sus.
Wear an old disposable helmet and then buy a new one back. Hahaha
jaycee1
post Mar 12 2024, 05:34 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 12 2024, 04:26 PM)
depends on the helmet i guess.... there are local thai brands sold there but not easily available here and those are the ones that i usually look for.

last time i bought a Soman flip up helmet.. was about 3500baht (abt rm400)... only DOT though....BUT.. theres a shop here which sells the same brand and i think the same model also and claims they are ECE certified... for RM7xx
Isn't Soman a Chinese brand?

I don't know man.... I wouldn't trust a 400rm flip up helmet...regardless of brand....especially one with no proper ece rating. 400rm normal full face maybe still palatable ....but not a flip up given the additional parts and complexity of a flip up.

0.0188sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:53 AM