Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

4x4 Pickup Truck (LYN Official Thread), We talk cock about man trucks!

views

frozen7
post Jul 18 2019, 05:33 PM

Getting Started
176 posts

Seems like Dmax is the least favourite pickup among here. Lol
I wonder why Dmax sales better in Thailand (Top sales is between Hilux / Dmax)
My family own a Dmax (RT50) and Hilux Revo. I have been driving Dmax for 6 years (mileage clocked 170k+ up to now) So far touch wood no major problem occured on my Dmax, the biggest repair/upgrade cost is to replace the suspension (stock suspension is comfort/soft)
This truck is mainly for working purpose (carry some heavy load, go into construction site...)

The following are my own view comparing these 2 trucks,
Dmax Pro:
1, Fuel saving (the main sales point)
2, Low maintenance cost (SC major service cost around 1k)
3, Reliability is ok. Isuzu engine is reliable

Dmax Cons:
1, Slow pickup , lack of power ( i think this is the main reason turn people down after test drive, but there are a lot aftermarket piggyback ECU to raise the engine output)
2, Steering a bit heavy

Hilux Pro:
1, Much better pick up
2, Feel more solid, less body roll
3, Better handling

Hilux Cons:
1, Bumpy (the suspension very hard )

Anyway if i am not carrying heavy load or going into severe construction site, i wont go for pickup truck, i would go for SUV instead. More comfortable and you dont need to install deck cover/canopy to store anything behind. When i am going out with my family (with a baby), I would rather to drive my Fortuner.

This post has been edited by frozen7: Jul 18 2019, 05:34 PM
frozen7
post Jul 19 2019, 11:37 AM

Getting Started
176 posts

QUOTE(SilentForever @ Jul 18 2019, 11:37 PM)