Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> 4x4 Pickup Truck (LYN Official Thread), We talk cock about man trucks!

views

SilentForever
post Jul 18 2019, 11:37 PM

On my way
559 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Jul 18 2019, 05:33 PM)
Seems like Dmax is the least favourite pickup among here. Lol
I wonder why Dmax sales better in Thailand (Top sales is between Hilux / Dmax)
My family own a Dmax (RT50) and Hilux Revo. I have been driving Dmax for 6 years (mileage clocked 170k+ up to now) So far touch wood no major problem occured on my Dmax, the biggest repair/upgrade cost is to replace the suspension (stock suspension is comfort/soft)
This truck is mainly for working purpose (carry some heavy load, go into construction site...)

The following are my own view comparing these 2 trucks,
Dmax Pro:
1, Fuel saving (the main sales point)
2, Low maintenance cost (SC major service cost around 1k)
3, Reliability is ok. Isuzu engine is reliable

Dmax Cons:
1, Slow pickup , lack of power ( i think this is the main reason turn people down after test drive, but there are a lot aftermarket piggyback ECU to raise the engine output)
2, Steering a bit heavy

Hilux Pro:
1, Much better pick up
2, Feel more solid, less body roll
3, Better handling

Hilux Cons:
1, Bumpy (the suspension very hard )

Anyway if i am not carrying heavy load or going into severe construction site, i wont go for pickup truck, i would go for SUV instead. More comfortable and you dont need to install deck cover/canopy to store anything behind. When i am going out with my family (with a baby), I would rather to drive my Fortuner.
I have never driven a dmax before but older dmax are really underpowered. Isuzu diesel engine known for their reliability and the current lineup is dated. I think they gonna refresh soon with the new 1.9 engine. I doubt all these smaller displacements engine can last longer than the larger one.
incredibless
post Jul 19 2019, 08:41 AM