Upgrading to Dual channel, How should i do with current ram channel

TSXanelyne
post Jul 7 2019, 09:34 AM, updated 5y ago

51 posts

Good day, Master !!
Today i was doing a research and found out i did stupid stuff 1 years ago and 2 years ago bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif
1 years ago: Brought a i5 7500 no without realizing the memory (well at least it still support my 8gb 2133ghz
2 years ago: I choose to single channel 8gb ram making me losing out the dual channel benefit. doh.gif doh.gif

but before i start the question here is my current rig:
1. GA-B150M-HD3 (gigabytes) it said to be support up to 2133ghz of memory only (can put 2400ghz but it will limited to 2133ghz)
2. Intel i5 7500, support ram with ddr4 up to 2133ghz/ 2400ghz (with maximum memory 64gb)
3. KVR21N15S8/8 - Kingston, is an 8gb ram with 2133ghz
4. gtx 1060 6gb

So how should i go for dual channel? and should i go for dual channel? i need some idea on this system rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

ifourtos
post Jul 7 2019, 09:36 AM

1,884 posts

Get 4gb x 2
Or 8gb x 2
Thrust
post Jul 7 2019, 09:36 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,690 posts

If you're using integrated graphics, dual channel is a must..

If not, the performance increase is minimal for independent GPU setup.
WiLeKiyO
post Jul 7 2019, 10:02 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(Xanelyne @ Jul 7 2019, 09:34 AM)
Good day, Master !!
Today i was doing a research and found out i did stupid stuff 1 years ago and 2 years ago  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
1 years ago: Brought a i5 7500 no without realizing the memory (well at least it still support my 8gb 2133ghz
2 years ago: I choose to single channel 8gb ram making me losing out the dual channel benefit. doh.gif  doh.gif

but before i start the question here is my current rig:
1. GA-B150M-HD3 (gigabytes) it said to be support up to 2133ghz of memory only (can put 2400ghz but it will limited to 2133ghz)
2. Intel i5 7500, support ram with ddr4 up to 2133ghz/ 2400ghz (with maximum memory 64gb)
3. KVR21N15S8/8 - Kingston, is an 8gb ram with 2133ghz
4. gtx 1060 6gb

So how should i go for dual channel? and should i go for dual channel? i need some idea on this system  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
I wouldn't bother, the performance difference is minimum.
junclj
post Jul 9 2019, 11:22 AM

2,297 posts

if two years ago, you bought 2x4GB ram. your PC will performs better in gaming.
since now you have a 8gb ram, just buy another 8gb to activate dual channel.

chronous
post Jul 10 2019, 12:22 PM

1,139 posts

If purely for gaming, no impact

Coz the dual channel only affect speed between memory and CPU. Unless you are gaming using integrated graphics like mentioned by Thrust above

TSXanelyne
post Jul 11 2019, 11:29 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(chronous @ Jul 10 2019, 12:22 PM)
If purely for gaming, no impact

Coz the dual channel only affect speed between memory and CPU. Unless you are gaming using integrated graphics like mentioned by Thrust above
ohhh like that i save the money la
can go masat with it liao

thanks to all master that reply me !! brows.gif brows.gif

0.0106sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:46 PM