myTHEO MY, Invest in a Moment

xcxa23
post Feb 20 2020, 01:15 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Feb 20 2020, 01:05 PM)
already cashed out . I lost money due to fee & forex. Investment did not bring home enough money to offset.
Anyway they are start up mode , they are very concern people closing acocunt.

I got a call from them asking why i closed. I said i am an idiot in investing . I jumped onto these platform was hoping the app help me invest  but it does not bring home the money.

They said it was a wrong time to close the account because our ringgit strengthen against the US . Instead i should cash-in now . But then i told them , FD is guaranteed return although is low .
If it's few weeks ago yeah, then again it's not significantly
If they said due to the virus, still kinda acceptable

xcxa23
post Feb 20 2020, 02:42 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Feb 20 2020, 01:21 PM)
Yea, I request for close account. However the process is not immediate and while waiting for the account to close , it is still trading .
When i cash out , i remember i was above my initial investment of RM500 ... maybe RM505.00 something like that.
then at one point while waiting for it to close , it went below RM500.
Unsure what you mean but i had RM500 in there for 4 months.
I meant that person blaming currency exchange for the losses it's not completely correct.

Did you DCA? Topping up in between the 4 month?

When you invest, there's risk of profit and losses
And of cos, depending on which investment tool, the % of gain and losses are different.

With etf, there's potential of gain averaging of 8 to 10% (based on s&p500)
And it's practically impossible to see that gain in mere months especially with current global market conditions

Although with SA, deposited on July 2019 and as of now approximately 9% ROI.

xcxa23
post Feb 20 2020, 08:35 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Feb 20 2020, 05:15 PM)
unsure about the lingo used. What is DCA?
but i did not top-up .
just one time RM500 just to test water.

i totally agree to the risk and also you may say 4 months is too short.
however from my noob perspective , I compared day by day , week by week and I see an even up and down.
if it maintain like that for next 12 months , in the end i may end up with the same RM500.
DCA = dollar cost averaging
with so many comment saying negative return despite market reaching all time high, i guess mytheo arent as good as stashaway and wahed

i do recommend stashaway aka SA or wahed. both also robo ai
head over https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4750563/ for SA
since personally i am experiencing good return with SA hence i am recommending

0.0262sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:57 PM