OnePlus OnePlus 7/7T Pro & 7/7T Discussion Thread V2, Go Beyond Speed

attw
post Feb 20 2020, 12:58 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Feb 20 2020, 12:48 PM)
Why get the S10 Lite when with that kind of money, you could get an original set OP7 Pro 8GB 256GB which is way better specs than the S10 Lite. Most importantly its running Oxygen OS.
Like I said bro, I only bought it to try SD855 on a Samsung bro and the experience is notably different from all my previous Exynos powered phones. Battery drain is minimal, reception is strong and I daresay it feels smoother too! So I have no regrets paying for that experience - and also the wisdom to now avoid Exynos powered Samsungs!

That said for RM2699 or even RM2499 street price now, I can't recommend that phone over the OP7 Pro unless you really want a Samsung. While the screen refresh rate is only 60hz, the colour reproduction is better and the camera also edges the OP7 Pro. Beyond that, the OP7 Pro at that price is still a better buy.
retsmot
post Feb 20 2020, 12:59 PM

the power cosmic!
1,219 posts

Personally, I use tablet 60hz(mediapad m3) and op7pro daily and only 'feel' the 90hz when scrolling thru menus, homescreen and those general social apps(fb, whatsapp, Instagram).

When watching video and games I find it no different at all, this is because most games don't support high refresh rate, at least the gachas I play.

And even if it does support high refresh, it will drain batt like crazy since games already drain alot of battery in general, so it's much wiser to play in 30fps to conserve battery.

ezadkd
post Feb 20 2020, 01:03 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Feb 20 2020, 12:48 PM)
I don't think they will go back to 60hz display now that even the non-Pro 7T also comes with 90hz display. Probably 90hz would be the new norm for OnePlus.
Opss my bad 90 hz for OP8 Non-pro.
ezadkd
post Feb 20 2020, 01:13 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Feb 20 2020, 12:51 PM)
If I were looking for a new phone right now and have a budget of around Rm2.5k, the OP7 Pro 8GB 256GB Ori My set at Rm2499 would be the best bang for buck. It's performance would be hard to match by even the latest Samsung offerings of the S20.
Why do you think OP7 Pro is better than OP7T?

I also like OP because they offer Snapdragon unlike Exynos even for S20.
ezadkd
post Feb 20 2020, 01:16 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Feb 20 2020, 12:59 PM)
Personally, I use tablet 60hz(mediapad m3) and op7pro daily and only 'feel' the 90hz when scrolling thru menus, homescreen and those general social apps(fb, whatsapp, Instagram).

When watching video and games I find it no different at all, this is because most games don't support high refresh rate, at least the gachas I play.

And even if it does support high refresh, it will drain batt like crazy since games already drain alot of battery in general, so it's much wiser to play in 30fps to conserve battery.
That's what I use my phones mainly. Social medias, reddit etc.

Not many games support high refresh rate because its kinda new tech (?)

Hows your experience on the battery when playing games a lot? I always charge my phone when playing games.
retsmot
post Feb 20 2020, 01:45 PM

the power cosmic!
1,219 posts

QUOTE(ezadkd @ Feb 20 2020, 01:16 PM)
That's what I use my phones mainly. Social medias, reddit etc.

Not many games support high refresh rate because its kinda new tech (?)

Hows your experience on the battery when playing games a lot? I always charge my phone when playing games.
on auto switch 90hz resolution mode, with my daily game grind, i get bout 4hours+ sot.

on fhd+ mode 90hz, it can go up to 5h+ sot.

from morning to evening workday, average gametime is 3 hours or so. (Afk auto farm)

1-2 hours of other stuff.(texting, browser, reddit those type of stuff)

2k really tax games personally i prefer fhd+. ideally the perfect phone would be snaplong flagship, full screen, 1080p, stereo speakers, headphone jack with micro sd slot, priced bout rm2k.

but does it exist? hehehe. rog phone 2 came close but not fullscreen and expensive.

This post has been edited by retsmot: Feb 20 2020, 01:48 PM
Hexlord
post Feb 20 2020, 02:20 PM

943 posts

Actually if the SOT is 7+ hours plus with 90/120hz, I don't mind upgrading. Will wait until they improve the battery life further... personally don't really feel it to be a must have.
Matchy
post Feb 20 2020, 02:21 PM

1,105 posts

I tried to switch back to 60hz before... even though slightly noticeable in certain scenario, but I have no problem with it. Other than that, pretty much the same if you ask me.
bb100
post Feb 20 2020, 02:31 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(ezadkd @ Feb 20 2020, 12:45 PM)
Haha. None taken. Will you be getting the OP8 then? I read somewhere that the Pro model will support 120hz while the normal model will still use 60 Hz display.

That's why I was reluctant to get Note 10 last time as they are still using 60 hz display even though they have the technology to use 90 - 120 hz since they are the ones that supply the amoled screen to other phone manufacturers doh.gif .
No, I believe my current OnePlus 7 Pro will last quite a while, probably more than 3 years. My close pals pressured me to get an S10+ before I discovered the joy of 90 Hz and OnePlus' clean OxygenOS.
nickchk89
post Feb 20 2020, 03:56 PM

Vodka martini,shaken,not stirred
2,909 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Feb 20 2020, 02:31 PM)
No, I believe my current OnePlus 7 Pro will last quite a while, probably more than 3 years. My close pals pressured me to get an S10+ before I discovered the joy of 90 Hz and OnePlus' clean OxygenOS.
true true

currently there are still no full screen display on coming flagship model

all are punch hole

unless OnePlus 9 decided to go for under screen camera, i also think i wont change phone.
bb100
post Feb 20 2020, 04:21 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Feb 20 2020, 03:56 PM)
true true

currently there are still no full screen display on coming flagship model

all are punch hole

unless OnePlus 9 decided to go for under screen camera, i also think i wont change phone.
Somehow I cannot tahan the punch hole or the notch design, no matter how small they are. It feels to me like there is a big patch of dead pixels whenever the screen is lighted up. This was one of the reasons I hesitated on the S10+. Elongated punch hole some more. Aduhhh.
ezadkd
post Feb 21 2020, 10:10 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Feb 20 2020, 01:45 PM)
on auto switch 90hz resolution mode, with my daily game grind, i get bout 4hours+ sot.

on fhd+ mode 90hz, it can go up to 5h+ sot.

from morning to evening workday, average gametime is 3 hours or so. (Afk auto farm)

1-2 hours of other stuff.(texting, browser, reddit those type of stuff)

2k really tax games personally i prefer fhd+. ideally the perfect phone would be snaplong flagship, full screen, 1080p, stereo speakers, headphone jack with micro sd slot, priced bout rm2k.

but does it exist? hehehe. rog phone 2 came close but not fullscreen and expensive.
Quite good SOT with gaming, and you still can charge after that and with the warp charge you shouldn't have a problem to resume gaming.

your dream phone is 2 years in the making in the future tongue.gif

Eh, how about Realme X2 Pro?
ezadkd
post Feb 21 2020, 10:12 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Feb 20 2020, 02:21 PM)
I tried to switch back to 60hz before... even though slightly noticeable in certain scenario, but I have no problem with it. Other than that, pretty much the same if you ask me.
OK. good to know that. Some polarizing views from some of the users here.
ezadkd
post Feb 21 2020, 10:14 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Feb 20 2020, 04:21 PM)
Somehow I cannot tahan the punch hole or the notch design, no matter how small they are. It feels to me like there is a big patch of dead pixels whenever the screen is lighted up. This was one of the reasons I hesitated on the S10+. Elongated punch hole some more. Aduhhh.
Haha. Alamak. OP7T have hole also icon_question.gif
attw
post Feb 21 2020, 10:15 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(ezadkd @ Feb 21 2020, 10:10 AM)
Quite good SOT with gaming, and you still can charge after that and with the warp charge you shouldn't have a problem to resume gaming.

Realme's UI may not be everyone's cup of tea. Quite a bit of bloatware. Definitely not for the Android purists.
Matchy
post Feb 21 2020, 10:44 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Feb 20 2020, 04:21 PM)
Try first... after a while, you'll get used to it.

The only downside is that some apps that run on landscape mode (eg games) might have issue with the notch/punch hole where it blocks the graphics/settings.
tetsu
post Feb 21 2020, 01:04 PM

414 posts

Go for the cheaper option OP7T/ Realme X2 Pro and used the money saved for a future 5G Phone.

Flat Screen - Cheaper screen protectors that's widely available when compared to curved screens. Personally, curved screen phones just look weird in snap on cases too.

Tear drop notch is barely noticeable especially with dark themes. Way less distracting that a punch hole on the side.

Honestly, I wished OnePlus just went for the same hardware as Realme X2 Pro so we get to enjoy a bigger battery, headphone jack and arguably a better camera, rather than have a polarizing round main camera at the back.

retsmot
post Feb 21 2020, 01:22 PM

the power cosmic!
1,219 posts

realme got nipple notch ma, not full screen right?

the good thing is when reach home resume gaming on pc or ps4 di, no need the phone. hahaha.
attw
post Feb 23 2020, 10:30 AM

32,264 posts

OP8 incoming

https://m.gsmarena.com/oneplus_8_pro_live_i...-news-41656.php

I hope they put a 4000mAh battery as minimum smile.gif
StratOS
post Feb 23 2020, 12:43 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Feb 23 2020, 10:30 AM)
OP8 incoming

https://m.gsmarena.com/oneplus_8_pro_live_i...-news-41656.php

I hope they put a 4000mAh battery as minimum smile.gif
Most flagship will be at minimum 4000mah nowadays.. anything lower it wont have QHD screen already.. battery life sure sucks bad.

406 Pages « < 242 243 244 245 246 > » Top

0.0161sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:34 PM