Honda CB650R review, Any owner?

shyan90's
post Oct 12 2023, 11:19 AM

To Be Old and Wise You Must First be Young and Stupid
1,189 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 12 2023, 10:36 AM)
That's a good thing to hear that the handlebar is somewhat shorter compared to its peers, i am quite confident to cilok in my current bike in a heavy traffic due to the light weight and size of my bike, but just unsure if i can handle a bike that's almost twice the weight of my current bike, in any case if i dont think i can cilok, i will just follow behind a car until it is clear for me to move ahead. I think I will do filtering rather than lane splitting nowadays. cannot afford to hit a car and drop my new bike and injure myself in the process.
yeah, i think being conservative is good. but need to study a bit more about your statement on "a small CC 4cyl is safer than a 2 cyl of equivalent cc".
you always poison me to get the z900 instead.... i know that it is a very value buy given the price vs the specs and performance in it.
but i have also explained before, since i have had a kawa already, so i wanna try honda, ppl have been saying you won't go wrong with this cb650r, given its reputation of being reliable, just good enough spec and you have more than enough of sheer power delivery to the bike. plus, that this bike has always been in stock starvation for the longgest time, ppl couldn't get their bike even in 12 months, but right now, i have one already waiting for me to register it to be on the road, that's why i am more incline with this cb650r instead of a z900.

also, i'm not looking for speed on a bike, it is more of a total package that I could get on it.

But the only bad thing is, i haven't test rode a cb650r or equivalent before, (in size, power, etc). Any comment on this?
no replacement for displacement.
Ever consider 2023 z900 se? tongue.gif
shyan90's
post Oct 12 2023, 12:39 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 12 2023, 11:47 AM)
i have explained multiple times already bruuuhhh
haha! your money, your choice. But 650 indeed last masterpiece from Honda. now all change to inline 2 270CP like yamaha...

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Oct 12 2023, 11:56 AM)
I'm riding the cb250r and from all the reviewers, they all mentioned that the cb650r is a beginner friendly middleweight bike and it feels similar to the cb250r/cb300r on the power on low-mid range. I too just started riding alot 1.5 years ago and only got my license 2 years ago and the cb250r is very easy to ride imo, have no bike experience prior to this.

what i understand from this statement "a small CC 4cyl is safer than a 2 cyl of equivalent cc". is that on a 4 cylinder bike, the power on low- mid range is linear (that's the range you will be at most of the time in city riding) and its easy to control but when it hits high rpm that's when the power kicks in and you'll feel the rush but by then you will be expecting the pull.

a 2 cylinder bike has power at low to mid range rpm and its torquey, harder to control when riding in the city since when you twist abit it pulls forward faster than a 4 cylinder bike would. Even when cornering, a sudden power increase to the wheel would cause the bike to fish tail. the 2 cylinder  MT07 which is branded a hooligan bike, one can do a wheelie easily with that bike due to the power delivery at low end. so a 4 cylinder bike is tamer for a new/beginner rider compared to a 2 cylinder
correct me if i'm wrong guys  biggrin.gif

i too am waiting for the CB650R, like it for its 4 cyl, looks and small size. easier to maneuver.
My last small capacity bike before my MT07 is RS150...and I have upgrade the MT07 to newer 07..
To me no matter 1 cylinder 690 or 2 cylinder 690 or 4 cylinder 600 all depends how you ride the bike.
For me torquey bike is more fun compare to high rev bike..maybe i rarely done long journey but even when long journey i still enjoy my torquey bike...

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Oct 12 2023, 12:43 PM
shyan90's
post Oct 12 2023, 01:08 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 12 2023, 12:54 PM)
see this reply from ExCrIpT
A Harley friend test rode ZX10R in carpark lot, and he exclaimed, "why no power one?"

you can get the CB first, it holds value better than a Kawa, just not sure if it will become the next XJ6, the older CBR650F is slowly becoming like that
+1
racun ohlins kuat
I love the SE spec, worth every penny
ya la..ohlins+ brembo radial caliper + radial fork+ brembo disc please take my 10k without a doubt!

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 12 2023, 12:56 PM)
from LC til now still belum jumpa yumcha
itu lo...geng also chao...Aaron also plan sell his cbr650...tim also jadi bapa...chris also migrate to US? I think?

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Oct 12 2023, 01:09 PM
shyan90's
post Sep 3 2024, 06:59 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 3 2024, 05:54 PM)
no I didnt, due to some reason.
But i would be willing to wait for the e-clutch version.
not rushing anyway.
I wont suggest e-clutch version at all.
E-clutch confirm higher maintenance and got electrical stuff sure wont last long... mega_shok.gif

shyan90's
post Sep 10 2024, 05:21 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 10 2024, 03:20 PM)
no worries, don't think that will deter me from getting one.
I think should be fine.
No problem bro. We just tell all the pros and cons.
In the end you're the rider and owner. We just observer.
shyan90's
post Jan 17 2025, 06:45 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 17 2025, 03:56 PM)
i think it is likely a 2024 manufactured bike, right?
in theory, losses more (in value) compared to a 2025 makes, correct ah?
No...today just launch...how come you get 2024 manufactured bike XD Year of made can be adjust.
shyan90's
post Jan 19 2025, 01:21 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 17 2025, 07:40 PM)
so you think bike launch in Malaysia TODAY, then the bikes delivered in January will definitely not be a bike manufactured in year 2024? (Fac

the bike built in malaysia ke?

but anyway, i checked with them and they mentioned they are only bringing in 2025 makes.

apparently the 2024 makes were all exported elsewhere to other markets already, too many demand but not supplying enough for now.
Why you want denied my statement then agree on my statement?
If the bike launch in 2025, do you think is reasonable for you get 2024 bike as other country already launch the bike year before? brows.gif
shyan90's
post Jan 21 2025, 02:00 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 21 2025, 11:20 AM)
shyan90's the bike that you see here, are 2024 manufactured bikes, just confirmed by them  laugh.gif
Dont see got any reason buy 2024 manufacture bike in 2025 unless got disscount. bruce.gif
shyan90's
post Jan 21 2025, 06:00 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Jan 21 2025, 05:38 PM)
what is the disadvantage of buying a 2024 bike in 2025 time?
Even your bike register at today 21/01/2025, your bike is consider 1yo by Insurance and etc.
When you trade in your bike, they will consider your bike as 2024 instead of 2025 bike although you register on 21/01/2025..Price confirm will kena tekan maybe 500-1k
shyan90's
post Jan 22 2025, 11:07 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 22 2025, 09:51 AM)
yup yup, that's right, sure the logic is right.
500 - 1k izzit. oklah then.
Depends ppl but i am not ok with it.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Jan 22 2025, 11:07 AM
shyan90's
post Feb 21 2025, 12:44 PM

1,189 posts

I think is fine. My case from 150 to 700cc...no issue..but before that i have around 10 years riding experience on bike.
shyan90's
post Feb 21 2025, 02:17 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 21 2025, 01:18 PM)
Yes but you had 10 years riding experience

A new rider with a big, heavy and expensive bike actually hampers the learning process and takes longer to skill up, Compared to someone that started out on a smaller, lighter,  "disposable" bike. Simply because the fear of dropping and damaging the bike leads one to avoid more sketchy and confidence testing maneuvers and situations...and we all know practice makes perfect, even if it means you drop the bike a few times.

Í know big gs riders with a few years under their belt that still cant do a tight U turn for fear of dropping it.

I took my cheap beater off road the first week I got my L licence and promptly dropped the bike 20times. Not to toot my own horn but I believe that really helped me skill up much faster then the average n00bie.
That is why i mentioned i have 10 years riding experience.

0.0316sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:48 AM