> From chinese advice to chinese

Rayvoyal
post Jun 29 2019, 05:08 PM

Why so butthurt?

Cannot take the good points and constructive argument/discussion from there?

Focus on a few inaccuracies and go to town tell author crawl back to whichever hole he came from.

He didn't say we chinese today want to go back china. He said our forefathers and ancestors. Today, the story is more complex, history is not the simple straightforward story we want it to be.

It's become something else, and while he puts forward the opinion that the grievance and misplaced loyalty should no longer be the main factor in keeping vernacular schools (which is good, imo), the jibe about quality is not strong.

This is a self-reflective piece, educative in its big picture narrative, and it is of course sending the message, i am willing to be self reflective, are you willing to be self reflective too?
Rayvoyal
post Jun 29 2019, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(dickybird @ Jun 29 2019, 05:18 PM)
Self reflection is an internal matter not a public call to action. Do self reflect and internalise and keep it inhouse. K thanks bye.
Ya. Internal matter, which begs the question why he wrote in english to the 9% banana. Or if its to the bigger 20% that he claims only know Chinese, and doesn't know anything else.

Shud write in chinese and send to one of the dailies to stir an internal 20% shitstorm.
Rayvoyal
post Jun 29 2019, 06:08 PM

QUOTE(dickybird @ Jun 29 2019, 05:30 PM)
You know, youmight have something there.  Only a small number of bananas would care enough to roast the fella.  People like me who have skin in the game,  like my kids who go to sjkc.
Maybe he thinks bananas wouldn't mind intermarriage or casting aside Chinese culture for local pseudo Arab culture?  But if you're male Chinese taking a malay wife shouldn't she follow your customs where possible and the kids would still be Chinese, right?  Still no bumi privileges unlike the children of Bangladeshi +local or mat salleh + local.
At the end of the day,  what is the result?  You get mixed breeds that are not fully accepted in either culture.  Just a like banana la. Lol
I send my children to sjkc too, for quality issue and china rising concerns. Doesn't mean I wanna go back tongsan. Although the roots of the sjkc is from what he elaborated, that really isn't a source of argument today. This piece of article, imo, is not aimed at the so-called chauvinists, but rather at the ppl who is making it a unification issue. We are willing to be reflective, they are not and have identity issues and point fingers back at us.

What the author is insinuating about our chauvinism in wanting to retain our roots, is probably a bit correct. But overall, no modern 华裔would think go sjkc is to prepare to go back china or pining for lost history. In short, we would internally quickly come to consensus that our sjkc system is a historical heritage of the Malaysian 华裔,that is deserving of our protection and support in the evolving political landscape we live in.
Rayvoyal
post Jun 29 2019, 06:28 PM

QUOTE(peet @ Jun 29 2019, 06:05 PM)
1) For those who wish to quote or reply TS, the correct way is as below. You need not quote the entire text to save space & bandwidth. Thanks.

2) I find the article educational at the beginning 30%. The remaining part is purely conjecture, ie perhaps the writer is basing his opinion on his own family experience. It would have been an even more interesting read if the writer had a better command of the English language.

3) "Loyalty to country" and "patriotism" are propaganda created by governments & politicians to make citizens stay in a country, sign up for the army, go to war or die for the country. In this internet age, the choice of domicile is largely dictated by kinship and economic opportunities. In plain English, where I choose to live depends on where my loved ones (family & friends) are mostly located or where I have a better opportunity to make more money.

4) I still keep in touch with my relatives and cousins from China, including those who have emigrated to the US. I have visited my ancestral home and because I am strong in my mother tongue (Cantonese) and Putonghua (Mandarin), I have no difficulties communicating with my cousins from all over. Because I live in Malaysia, I am fluent in Bahasa, too, speaking the language without that distinctive Chinese accent.

5) My message in a nutshell, each and every ethnic group is unique in its own way and no single group is superior to another. Whatever your ethnic origin, Malay, Chinese, Indian etc, be proud of it. Know your origins, your diaspora or history, speak your mother tongue fluently and continue to pass on your unique culture and tradition to your next generation.
You are right. Nation-state identity is rather irrelevant these days as per above. So author's proposed prescription to ditch our roots, create more mixed descendants is... Silly and naive. Look at Indonesian chinese 1998.

Throw away our unique heritage just to resolve loyalty issues. Seems very barbarous/antique solution that doesn't fit 21st century and sensibilities.

But im not saying that there aren't idiots glorifying china and china advances, but when asked to migrate there, they backpedal la.

Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0134sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:22 PM