Mar 2 2020, 10:10 PM
207 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
A carpenter promised me that he uses Nyatoh wood, but how do I identify it's real? I went to the factory, it's definitely not fibreboard, but not a solid 1 piece also, maybe a few thin wood glue together, something like that. Is he bs or real? Certain part like the KC doors are pretty good solid wood tho .
Location Penang |
Mar 6 2020, 06:27 PM
Hi guys.. still don't understand, is it possible to laminate + Nyatoh?
I thought all laminate = mdf/hdf kind of wood |
May 10 2020, 01:29 AM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Nov 16 2019, 04:44 PM) Until today still a lot of people using concrete top because they don’t mind the look. And concrete is really durable. Yeah i know it’s 1992. But cabinet price has gone 4 fold when salary isn’t increasing as much. I remember debating with my mom about buying house few years back. Back in 1978 they bought a house at 45k in shah alam with household income of RM1800. But now what can you get for 450k in Shah Alam? And my household income isn’t even 18k QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Nov 16 2019, 05:27 PM) Concrete will last long after you perish! That said the good option nowadays is using 2x2 tiles as countertop with concrete structure. Some of these tiles are nice enough. Hi guys.. My sink, cooking hob (use gas, plan to put on top) and dry kitchen cabinets are all separated from each other. Initially, I planned to install quartz top. was quoted 6.6K total for both. (without the dry ktichen cabinet)KV houses are becoming unaffordable. My one legacy to my kids are they will have a nice home and not to worry about buying a house immediately. They can drive proton if they are not capable! 🤣 When I look into the plan, I realized the contractor will cut a big hole on my quartz for my sink, I think it's not worth to pay for that, I will lose a big piece of quartz! Planning to switch to concrete + tiles instead for both sink section and cooking hob section. Can I know both of your opinion? Will it save more? This post has been edited by hahakat88: May 10 2020, 01:30 AM |
May 10 2020, 02:20 AM
QUOTE(pesona3F @ Feb 18 2020, 01:45 PM) I was quoted 30k for full nyatoh. Below is the quotation: Hi bro.. how was it? Did you proceed with it?- kabinet bawah solid nyatoh+ steel body+ quartz stone + riser concrete with mossaic finishing 29 kaki =rm9850 - kabinet atas solid nyatoh full body =rm14840 -tall unit fridge+micro wave compartment+cabinet 6200 Is it okey? I got three quotation, 30k, 30k and another one 50k ![]() ![]() |
May 10 2020, 04:53 AM
QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ May 10 2020, 04:19 AM) How big is your sink that warrant such concern? My granite sink was more than 800mm long and I still pay for that "gap" or hole. I am sure you can ask that piece of quartz back if you want but nobody does that. Looking at the same Blanco as yours, should be 860x500 or cheaper Teka 890x500Of course concrete plus tiles will be cheaper. You save on cabinet cost and tiles are definitely cheaper than quartz top. However, while tiles are tough quartz are tougher. In addition tiles now may come 2x2 and 4x2 so u will likely see grout lines. Some people may not like it. Concrete will last forever but workmanship is important. My counter for sink is 1625 x 600mm, if I can save about RM1.5K, I can upgrade my sink. grout lines are the sacrifices, have to find big tiles like 600 x 600mm to cover, pure white, hopefully the lines are less obvious. feasible choice? |
May 10 2020, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ May 10 2020, 08:55 AM) 600x600 are decent priced now. If you want there are 4'x2' but those are more expensive. There are some really nice designs now including white with patterns. Pure white is classic nice but may be a bit boring? This is very individual though. Thank you very much for your reply. I will study deeper into it 👍🏻👍🏻Get a good technical porcelain tiles. Best grade as they are more uniform and consistent. Otherwise your tiler kung Fu has to be good. |
May 18 2020, 01:58 PM
May 18 2020, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(Skywing1981 @ May 18 2020, 04:46 AM) Hi all sifus, Which kitchen specialist/carpenter u go for ?I just got my house keys not long ago before MCO and i guess its time to start my renovation work now. I'm just wondering whether it is a wise choice to engage an ID just to furnish my living room and bedroom while kitchen, both wet and dry will be done by another kitchen specialist, e.g. Unity Kitchen, Intech, etc? This is because the total combined cost of wet (around 3m bottom) & dry kitchen (L-Shape with 1.8m x 2m) is around RM60k, which I think is neither expensive or cheap because they're using solid wood for dry kitchen and Granite for wet kitchen, materials are plywood. Just thought of comparing around, but more importantly is whether it is a good idea to segregate the jobs in that manner as coordination could be an issue. Appreciate advise from fellow sifus |
May 18 2020, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(Skywing1981 @ May 18 2020, 03:30 PM) the ID is someone i knew and yet to decide on the kitchen specialist cos i'm still figuring out is this even a good idea in the first place Thanks.. also looking for carpenter who uses plywood instead of chipboard.. but I think may be out of my league. If all chipboard I may go for Ikea instead. At least it looks nicer.. |
Jun 6 2020, 06:23 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jun 6 2020, 02:13 PM) If you want solid wood, you can check with one carpenter by the name of Cubix in FB. I find that his price is very competitive compare to the mainstream KC seller. And when I visited his factory for detail discussion, I saw the workmanship of unpainted door cabinets were quite fine and the factory was quite clean and organized compared to industry standard. I sometimes judge a product by how the owner took care of the factory Thank you very much, unfortunately this is in Shah Alarm. Visited his FB page and indeed the photos look good! But his melamine products are quite expensive vs market. I guess he purposely do that since his speciality is solid wood and don’t really want to take melamine order Im in Penang, but this is very good contact for future in case anyone needs it! |
Jun 6 2020, 06:28 PM
Jun 6 2020, 11:24 PM
What's your quartz thickness guys?
China Quartz 1.5cm Vs Silestone 1.2Cm Do u guys go for 2CM? |
Jun 16 2020, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(Corrupted Spirits @ Jun 15 2020, 10:05 PM) Hi Guys, Gas hose conceal.. maybe not good leh if leaking hard to replace?Initially I was going for induction cooker but after discussion and further research, we plan to opt for a gas stove instead. Now the second part I need to figure out is to where to put my gas tank. As you can see from the photo below, the KC maker suggest to put at the most corner side with the gas hose concealed in the wall. However, I have done the wirings on the wall and do not plan to hack my kitchen wall anymore. Will there be any concern or danger if I put the gas tank on the left side of my built in oven instead? ![]() Or is it metal one? |
| Change to: | 0.0409sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:55 PM |