Personal Loan, which banks offer the best deal?

ahnien
post Oct 31 2009, 06:02 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(mmusang @ Oct 31 2009, 01:36 AM)
i think above rates is for gomen or GLC only
correct, some of the banks like public bank, allianz bank, argro, koperasi, al-rahji bank onli provides the loans to gov staffs. and their rate is quite attractive as well. though.... the loan repayment method is based on monthly salary deduction la. this could affect housing loan application
ahnien
post Nov 1 2009, 01:53 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(mars1069 @ Nov 1 2009, 12:42 AM)
I received call from HLB yesterday, they offer me cash advance from my credit card, surprisingly that the interest rate is cheapest than PL. Upon withdrawal charges 3%, service charges Rm25 (one time), 3.2% interest per year. Very cheap, right? But I told him I dun need cash, I have a lot of cash smile.gif
weird. that would be killing off HLB's own PL hmm.gif
but i think they only offer to customers with good payment records.

i heard one of my customer with citibank creditcard, he said citibank provided him cash advance at 4%+ as well. not bad oso.
i guess they dint mention, once you default or made any late payments, the interest rate goes back to 17.5% sweat.gif

cash advance is dangerous!!! dont ever touch it. unless its really for emergency and you are sure you can repay it the next day.
most cash advance profit rate is calculated on daily rest
ahnien
post Nov 7 2009, 01:23 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(astrosurge @ Nov 7 2009, 02:35 AM)
hi guys,
i got a small predicament here that need some opinion. my family have been customers of Hong Leong Bank for 17 years. recently my mom applied a personal loan to do some renovation work of our new house but was turned down after a week (the ads say approval within 48 hrs!). they turned down our application just because my dad was an offshore worker. the eligibility in HLB's website did not mention anything about what sort of profession you do that will ensure your approval. we are quite disappointed given the fact that we were regular customers of 17 years, and we fulfill ALL the criterias outlined before applying.

did anyone experienced similar incident?

any response appreciated. cheers
actually one of the reasons with the lower approval rates nowadays is due to the economic/market condition as well.
NPL pilling up for some banks. higher risk of lending.

of course, in terms of providing a loan and earning an interest. the banks take into account the risk.
many new policies is implemented in these 2 years.
policies that makes unsecured lending harder to applied than it used to.
ther's certain "non-target section" or "high risk nature of business", wher banks would not risk providing UNSECURED loan during these down times.

plz dont take it personal, its nothing to do with your dad, your family, your family's relation with HLB. its jus the market condition which caused the banks to alter their policies to minimize risk.

you can try with me smile.gif
i believe my bank can provided competive rates compared with HLB
HLB is flat 12% + 20% cash rebate (after the 1st year and during the last year, with condition of prompt payment)

click my siggy for more info smile.gif

Added on November 7, 2009, 1:29 pm
QUOTE(skadimo @ Nov 6 2009, 09:39 AM)
Guys, need help here.. I'm getting married this December.. I really need to make a personal loan as I want to help my parents in terms of financial. My salary is 2k per month after deduct EPF, Socso ~ 1.8k monthly. Im 27, work as a project engineer at a construction company doing oil n gas stuffs. I started working on June 1st and this is my 1st job after graduated early this year. I plan to make 5k personal loan for 2 years. Really appreciate for any advice and help from u guys.  icon_question.gif

so far there was no success with HLB and Alrajhi.  cry.gif
hard to apply due to short employment tenure/service.

Added on November 7, 2009, 1:30 pm
QUOTE(jack2 @ Nov 5 2009, 03:34 PM)
Any Standard Chartered Bank agent for personal loan?
why stand chart when OCBC can provide competitive rates compared to stand chart. HAHA rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ahnien: Nov 7 2009, 01:30 PM
ahnien
post Nov 9 2009, 10:46 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(mcthe3 @ Nov 9 2009, 04:55 PM)
Just got news that my personal loan with eon bank rejected. My nett salary after epf is rm2350...car loan rm675. i applied for 10k with 4yrs repayment. what could be the problem? is it because the loan amount is more than 4x of my salary?...or my employment period?...1 year as a teacher?... sad.gif
most personal loans use gross income calculation not net income.
gross income is use to calculate the maximum financing amount.

banks will opt to reduce loan amount if ther's too much commitment leading to negative net disposible income.

housing loans use net income.

any bad credit records in the pass 12months on your car loan/credit cards??
your TOTAL employment service including b4 current job??
ahnien
post Nov 11 2009, 10:42 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(takky @ Nov 11 2009, 04:51 PM)
I need to borrow a personal loan. the amount is the higher the better as I would like to use it as business purpose.
My current salary is 3.8k. how much can I get? thx
UGPM smile.gif

suggestions
Personal loans VS SME start-up loans

personal loans:
cons
higher interest rates
lower amount

pros
way faster processing & approval (SME may take up to 1-2months or more, fastest i heard was 1 month)
no collateral
way more easy & hassle free to apply
no legal fees & procedure
no business proposal required etc

and of course, SME pros & cons is the other way round smile.gif

This post has been edited by ahnien: Nov 11 2009, 10:43 PM
ahnien
post Nov 12 2009, 08:06 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(beckzaidan @ Nov 12 2009, 09:22 AM)
I've made a personal loan with one of the local bank. with the period of 5 years paybak scheme. (u know la which bank)

i do wanna make an early settlements for that loan. So far, i'm just a year in that payment scheme.

Is settling it now will reduce the payback amount? i know there will be penalty...

but want to know wheter the payback amount for settlement will be lesser (few/alot) than the loan balance amount.

let say my loan amount payback is loan itself is 16k (include interest for 5 years payment=25k). now, already pay like 6k. and balance of it is 19k.

thanx upfront.
depending on bank policies and loan contract t & c as well.
normaly for SOME banks, for early settlement,they will ADD in the penalty charge for early full settlement, then they will rebate back the remaining interest fee (if charged up front).

TIPS: to avoid being CHARGED too much early settlement fee. pay a lumsum amount of payment to reduce the outstanding amount till a low amount. then only you notify the bank you wanna make a full settlement. so the final penalty charge will be charge on the lower outstanding amount.
take note not too pay too much on for the lumsum amount, as you shud noe that currently the 19k, part of it is interest charges. so they will be rebates on the 19k(depending on banks t & c)
let say now your balance is 19k, you wanna make a full settlement at 19k. but now pay a lumsum of 15k or more. then after 1 month, call the bank to notify the early settlement, so your penalty charge will onli be charge on the remaining 4k.

This post has been edited by ahnien: Nov 12 2009, 08:08 PM
ahnien
post Nov 12 2009, 09:32 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(What_is_going_on @ Nov 12 2009, 08:28 PM)
Like my name says so biggrin.gif

Dont quite understand, i applied for loans in like 4 banks (including AEON credit)

i am 21, earning around RM44,000 per annual, applied for RM11,000 loan and i get rejected from all banks?
I got no credit cards, no car loans, no house loans, just no debt at all, why do they dont see me as a good risk to take?

Hmm...anyone have any suggestion...?Cause something happened and i would like make loans for amount mentioned above, cause something urgent came up......

hi ther,

based on the information you had given. the highest posibility of rejection is you dont have any credit cards.

application for personal loans are clasified as unsecured loans(high risk loans). so they will need to evaluate your pass credit records on unsecured types of facilities. best example: repayment records on credit card. credit card are a type of unsecured facility.

without credit records, bank cant evaluate the risk of repayment default.

even people with car loans/house loans, but they dont have any unsecured facility, banks cant evaluate their repayment records based on their car/house loans. as car/house loans are secured facilities.

personal loans are very sensitive & risky. the banks evaluate every possible factors.

if you are a degree holder, i believe i can help you smile.gif

This post has been edited by ahnien: Nov 12 2009, 09:34 PM
ahnien
post Nov 13 2009, 01:40 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(toshio14 @ Nov 12 2009, 11:42 PM)
may i know what difference it made if 1 is a degree holder?
i dont know about other banks but, for my bank.

ther's an exception if you dont have any credit card/pass credit record/lack of credit records. the requirement is that the applicant is a degree holder smile.gif

reason: its not about the education, but its one of the factors how banks evaluate risk for unsecured loans. degree holders may have HIGHER chances of getting a stable job, and LEAST chance of lossing a job during recession. all mere statistic based risk calculation?? normally degree holders have higher approval rates, but not nessasary always....
non-degree holders, but been in a stable n steady employment & income have very very high chances as well

note: all mere personal view & assumptions smile.gif

This post has been edited by ahnien: Nov 13 2009, 01:49 AM
ahnien
post Nov 17 2009, 12:45 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(mcthe3 @ Nov 16 2009, 11:55 AM)
let me clarify. Someone with less than 1 year in his/her current employment has very little chance, if any, to get a personal loan?
absolutely CORRECT!!!

Added on November 17, 2009, 12:47 pm
QUOTE(kei18kun @ Nov 15 2009, 04:57 PM)
lol, that goes without saying tongue.gif
at times, cant really blame them oso. the job market oso a problem.
jus for example, nowadays, in banking fields or investment sectors, they RARELY hire freshies. most are internal transfers or scounting for external talents frm other comps.

This post has been edited by ahnien: Nov 17 2009, 12:47 PM
ahnien
post Nov 17 2009, 11:29 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(freestyler_jg @ Nov 17 2009, 05:44 PM)
But howcome i keep receive calls from banks to offer me for personal loans while i didn apply any..?
telemarketing / external referrals.

Added on November 17, 2009, 11:32 pm
QUOTE(wufei @ Nov 17 2009, 01:51 PM)
Can anyone highlight which bank offer the best interest rate?
current market norm 12% - 5.5% (flat rate)

24%++ - 13.5% (reducing balance)

might be inaccurate. but its roughly ther.

some banks may offer very very low rates, as low as 7% - 4% (flat rates), but take note the eligibility. normally onli for government servants / certain setors employee with auto monthly salary deduction.

This post has been edited by ahnien: Nov 17 2009, 11:34 PM
ahnien
post Nov 18 2009, 10:21 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(eevean @ Nov 18 2009, 12:02 AM)
Need some advice.
I wish to apply for a personal loan RM20k to settle all my credit card debts (citibank, hsbc, standchart, maybank & hong leong). I dont care about the repayment tenure but as long as the interest rate is lower than my current credit card interest rate which is 13.5-15% p.a. I'm not a degree holder but have 5 years working experience as a legal clerk with current pay RM2.8k. My consent about the max loan amount that the bank can offer so that I can settle off my card debts in one short (if is possible). I dont have any car loan or housing loan debts except cards!!!
Bro, i'm selling loans. but...

seriously, IF your credit card interest rate is really at 13.5-15%, then DONT apply a personal loan to settle the outstanding balance.

cuz - based on the employment info & income info you had provided

1. i doubt ANY banks in the market can provide a competitive rate thats lower than 13.5-15% interest rate
2. 13.5%-15% rate is relatively low rate for credit cards
3. with your current outstanding balance in credit cards, i doubt you have high chance in securing any other personal (unsecured facilities) loans. even if you did, either the rates wont be low, or the amount wont be enuf

either way, i doubt you can get any profitable rate for you possition from personal loans.
if you really do get a personal loan, you MAY still get some interest rate rebates from your settlements on the cc outstanding balance.
and you can pull longer the repayment tenure to lower the monthly repayments.

TAKE NOTE: most personal loans in the market now provides FLAT RATE based interest rates. your credit card interest rates is REDUCING BALANCE. calculated by effective interest rates & assume your credit card interest rate is really at 13.5-15%, the effective rate for FLAT RATE lower than your cc is for sure lower than 6-7%(rough calculation).
while for current market norm personal loan interest rates range from 4.99%-12% flat rates.
i doubt you can get 4.99% flat rates unless you are premier banking customers or government servants

My advice, get balance transfers.
or stick with a very strict schedule payment for your credit cards. eventually, you can settle it.
as if you are entitled for 13.5%-15% interest rates in ur credit cards, i'm sure you have very prompt payments for your credit cards.
stick with it. its already the least expensive way to settle it.

but of course, if you are still interested to know more about personal loans, you can click my siggy or pm me

cheers

This post has been edited by ahnien: Nov 18 2009, 10:31 PM
ahnien
post Nov 19 2009, 06:08 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(eevean @ Nov 19 2009, 04:00 PM)
sweat.gif so now i am suffering from payment debts every month with half of my salary and cant save any money cry.gif this is the consequences i have now for spending without limit a few years back

btw, STD & HL means???
i think it stands for "standard chartered" & "hong leong"

Added on November 19, 2009, 6:10 pm
QUOTE(affinity_07 @ Nov 19 2009, 10:04 AM)
My friend needs a personal loan, any chance of getting one if he's not working (as in NO stable income) as he is in MLM. He needs around 10k. Please PM me for any infos or contacts. Urgent. Sorry to hijack this thread, I have no intention and I think creating 1 thread just for this is wasteful tongue.gif
not prejudis or biased. but fyi, i think there's no bank in the country that approve unsecured loans to mlm agents.

unless mlm agents pay income tax and have tax receipt & borang b or atleast a credit card.

mlm agents fall under "non-target segment" or "non target nature of business" group.

This post has been edited by ahnien: Nov 19 2009, 06:13 PM
ahnien
post Nov 21 2009, 01:17 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(Sp1cega1 @ Nov 20 2009, 11:23 AM)
As I know MBSB is offering personal loan for government servant only.  Is this loan 100% approve?
not nessasary 100%. but approvals are high at 80%+
ahnien
post Nov 23 2009, 09:28 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(NeophyteHeaven @ Nov 22 2009, 03:30 PM)
im government servant here..and have PGM.. work already more than a year.. am i eligible to do personal loan if im in contract? anyone can help?
normally if you are jus in your 1st year of your contract. then i believe you are not eligible for any loans in the market.
even those bank that provides p-loans to gov servants.

Added on November 23, 2009, 9:31 pm
QUOTE(Morris1127 @ Nov 22 2009, 06:29 PM)
i am hairstylist, salary rm1200 got epf prove,no loan anything before..i want to do personal loan...can bollow how much?? how the percent???
hairstylist fall into non-target segment of quite a lot of banks for personal loans. try CIMB (min income requirement is RM800 - i think)
dont have high hopes. due to the job segment. the approval rate is not that high.

This post has been edited by ahnien: Nov 23 2009, 09:31 PM
ahnien
post Nov 24 2009, 09:14 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Nov 24 2009, 10:23 AM)
ok, im in deep **** now, I have credit card debt of RM12,000.
Minimum payment is how much? 5% right ?
RM600 cc minimum payment is too much for me.

Should I apply loan?
RM200/month for personal would be comfortable amount. Please advise. (or offer)
go for BT with, lately PB offering a good bt package with longer tenure.

Added on November 24, 2009, 9:19 pm
QUOTE(vandetta @ Nov 23 2009, 09:36 PM)
None of banks will disburse total loan is it. So any idea on how much each bank take for them? I did not mean all banks, just any banks that any of you guys know.

Last time my friend he use agency to get personal loan and the agency took 5% from the total amount, I assume that will be 5% for the agency and some more for bank taxes etc.
thats the problem when you are applying from agents / agency

go applying with bank branches. or atleast enquire with branches or call their customer service. they will assign you further help with their bank sales staff

normally, the loan will disburse after deduction of the cost. which nowadays, not much banks charge processing fees, legal fees, stamp duty etc.

normally onli deduct the takaful charges. note: takaful charges are based on charges set by Takaful Malaysia.
its not set by bank itself

This post has been edited by ahnien: Nov 24 2009, 09:19 PM
ahnien
post Nov 25 2009, 09:48 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(Pretty Vanilla @ Nov 25 2009, 09:40 PM)
i would like to apply for the loan. but i don have any income statement or credit card.
then no banks in the market can help you hmm.gif
ahnien
post Nov 27 2009, 05:21 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Nov 26 2009, 07:26 PM)
hehe, hard to say, they will check how is ur payback record for ur cc. If its good maybe can...they will also calculate whether ur income can support all the debt...i can't remember the formula already...
basic calculation:

total monthly commitment (based on ccris) / monthly income x 100% = <50-60%

jus a sample.

the monthly commitment includes all:
- monthly car, house, personal loans, term loans, OD, EPP, or installment, refinancing, etc repayment
- total cc outstanding x 5% minimum payment
- any other monthly repayments to any financial instituition
ahnien
post Nov 30 2009, 11:11 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

onli LISTED companies LISTED in their list can be processed.

thats what my fren from al-rahji told me.
many companies are reluctant to conduct the salary deduction thingy
ahnien
post Dec 2 2009, 09:59 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(kokanchai @ Dec 1 2009, 11:34 AM)
hello guys!

i need a serious help and advise

i need to borrow PL Or do balance transfer to clear out my CC DEBT
CC Debt around Rm6k which are Citi(2.6k),Eon(1.9k),hong Leong(1.2k),Rhb(500)

i dun have any car loans and commitment so far.
my gross salary are Rm2.7k nett
but the issue is i got my new job just less for 3 month working period (currently around 2 month)
but i do have a Credicard for limit :Rm3k since 2006

Any agent can helpme out?

thus are they hv any balance transfer plan with low interest rate?other than Personal loan
(My BT mean at some bank help me  clear all out MY CC,and i will repayback by installment by 3-4 years time
with flat or low interest)
if you need further information
please call me up 0122877853
Nick Wong
i am from Puchong/Subang/Sunway
i believe since you've jus worked less than 3months in your current company, you wont have much success rate in applying for a loan.

anyway, BT provides better interest rates. go survey around to see which serves you best.
PBB's BT seems quite interesting smile.gif

ahnien
post Dec 3 2009, 11:57 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(sms69 @ Dec 3 2009, 05:54 PM)
hi, can somebody help me, i'm trying to apply for a personal loan, i've been working with a new company for 2 months and my salary is rm 3600gross
i can help you. click my siggy

UGPM

0.0452sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:45 PM