REIT, real estate investment...
Jordy
Jul 25 2008, 05:49 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 25 2008, 04:50 PM) Afternoon session all only done 1.60, so settled for 1.60. There is a big Q of 1,000+ on 1.59. Drop further buy again.  I was tempted to buy at RM1.59, but for some reason I think I'll go for ATRIUM, although this will definitely lower my average for AXREIT to around RM1.70.
cherroy
Jul 25 2008, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 25 2008, 05:49 PM) I was tempted to buy at RM1.59, but for some reason I think I'll go for ATRIUM, although this will definitely lower my average for AXREIT to around RM1.70. Personally, I never care much how much can I average down. I care how much they are giving me every year in term of dividend yield/distribution in term of yield. I never look at my average cost, I treat every purchse individually. Just like I bought 10K of share of Axreit at 1.60, then this 10K cost is 1.60, while another 10K was bought at 1.70 then it is 1.70. It is much easier. Just my perference. Reach 2.00 or 2.+ (hopefully) then all sell together in longer future time. Even sell at cost, also gain because it is much better than putting in FD as every year take more than 7% already. That's how I treat them.
Jordy
Jul 25 2008, 09:27 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 25 2008, 09:06 PM) Personally, I never care much how much can I average down. I care how much they are giving me every year in term of dividend yield/distribution in term of yield. I never look at my average cost, I treat every purchse individually. Just like I bought 10K of share of Axreit at 1.60, then this 10K cost is 1.60, while another 10K was bought at 1.70 then it is 1.70. It is much easier. Just my perference. Reach 2.00 or 2.+ (hopefully) then all sell together in longer future time. Even sell at cost, also gain because it is much better than putting in FD as every year take more than 7% already. That's how I treat them. Good pointers my friend  I hope I was having the same mentality as you, but I don't know why I am always looking for capital appreciation. That is why I never really bothered to look at yields for the counters I buy. I treat the yield as an added bonus only  What I care for is to get my cost as low as possible for a counter with strong fundamentals and possibility to appreciate is strong. Looks like we have different mindsets
cherroy
Jul 25 2008, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 25 2008, 09:27 PM) Good pointers my friend  I hope I was having the same mentality as you, but I don't know why I am always looking for capital appreciation. That is why I never really bothered to look at yields for the counters I buy. I treat the yield as an added bonus only  What I care for is to get my cost as low as possible for a counter with strong fundamentals and possibility to appreciate is strong. Looks like we have different mindsets  I have this kind of mindset because I set up or invest in those stocks in order to have passive income as compared money put in FD, while capital appreciation is almost impossible to be predicted when it will happen or not, when they do go up, I treat is as bonus. The other way round than you. That's why I look for those fundamental sound that can deliver consistently throughout years. This is why also I find very hard to buy Airasia (zero dividend) although interested in it because of low price recently. Also historical proves that dividend stocks always outshine growth stock over the long term generally (although not all), mainly because growth stocks tend to tumble quite heavily when economy perform poorly time.
Jordy
Jul 25 2008, 10:51 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 25 2008, 09:40 PM) I have this kind of mindset because I set up or invest in those stocks in order to have passive income as compared money put in FD, while capital appreciation is almost impossible to be predicted when it will happen or not, when they do go up, I treat is as bonus. The other way round than you. That's why I look for those fundamental sound that can deliver consistently throughout years. This is why also I find very hard to buy Airasia (zero dividend) although interested in it because of low price recently. Also historical proves that dividend stocks always outshine growth stock over the long term generally (although not all), mainly because growth stocks tend to tumble quite heavily when economy perform poorly time. Haha, really having totally opposite mindsets  But our individual aim will not determine who's right and who's wrong. Still, we are looking for long term investments. REITs can be used to compound our savings quite safely, as the price rarely moves, we can keep reinvesting the dividends for compounding, without affecting the yield a lot
cherroy
Jul 26 2008, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 25 2008, 10:51 PM) Haha, really having totally opposite mindsets  But our individual aim will not determine who's right and who's wrong. Still, we are looking for long term investments. REITs can be used to compound our savings quite safely, as the price rarely moves, we can keep reinvesting the dividends for compounding, without affecting the yield a lot  But we have the same aim, making more money. Haha.
Jordy
Jul 26 2008, 03:11 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 26 2008, 02:26 PM) But we have the same aim, making more money. Haha.  That is very true my dear friend  Well, now with the IR unchanged, I think there should be some upwards movement in REITs, ya? If that does happen on Monday, I will surely wait for the price to come back down again. I am looking for prices in the range of RM1.60-RM1.65 for AXREIT, and RM0.75-RM0.75 for ATRIUM  For now, should take a rest from buying REITs in my opinion.
kokhoe8
Jul 30 2008, 04:53 PM

I dun understand i found some reit with profit exceeding their revenue... could this happen?
cherroy
Jul 30 2008, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(kokhoe8 @ Jul 30 2008, 04:53 PM) Hi, I dun understand i found some reit with profit exceeding their revenue... could this happen? thanks Those extra profit come from properties revaluation. Under the reits listing rules, reit properties can be revalued for every 3 years in order to better reflect the properties price and reit situation. So properties price is higher than 3 years ago, then the incremental in book value of the properties will be registered under exceptional profit. But to see the actual situation and yield condition of the reit, look for the operating profit or net rental income. This post has been edited by cherroy: Jul 30 2008, 04:58 PM
kokhoe8
Jul 30 2008, 05:08 PM

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 30 2008, 04:56 PM) Those extra profit come from properties revaluation. Under the reits listing rules, reit properties can be revalued for every 3 years in order to better reflect the properties price and reit situation. So properties price is higher than 3 years ago, then the incremental in book value of the properties will be registered under exceptional profit. But to see the actual situation and yield condition of the reit, look for the operating profit or net rental income. ok... thanks thanks... i will study further
georgechang79
Jul 30 2008, 11:11 PM

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 26 2008, 03:11 PM) That is very true my dear friend  Well, now with the IR unchanged, I think there should be some upwards movement in REITs, ya? If that does happen on Monday, I will surely wait for the price to come back down again. I am looking for prices in the range of RM1.60-RM1.65 for AXREIT, and RM0.75-RM0.75 for ATRIUM  For now, should take a rest from buying REITs in my opinion. ATRIUM looks like is going to give a dividend of 2.1¢ with ex date on 06-Aug-08. I will look to accumulate some stock here after the period.
YuNGSeNG
Jul 31 2008, 12:23 AM
May i know how to start invest in REIT ?
Equities = go broker house such as TA , MaybankInvest , OSK188 , Heong Leong , CIMB and so on .
REIT = go where register ?
Jordy
Jul 31 2008, 01:32 AM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(YuNGSeNG @ Jul 31 2008, 12:23 AM) May i know how to start invest in REIT ? Equities = go broker house such as TA , MaybankInvest , OSK188 , Heong Leong , CIMB and so on . REIT = go where register ? REITs are listed trusts, and you trade them like any other stocks. There is no registration needed to begin with.
ante5k
Jul 31 2008, 08:59 AM
i'm still awaiting for axreit dividend report .....
YuNGSeNG
Jul 31 2008, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 31 2008, 01:32 AM) REITs are listed trusts, and you trade them like any other stocks. There is no registration needed to begin with. How to know which stocks is REIT ? Is it all of the REIT under MESDAQ ?
hanif444
Jul 31 2008, 12:05 PM
now is the time..i see many yield 8% REIT
Jordy
Jul 31 2008, 12:17 PM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(YuNGSeNG @ Jul 31 2008, 11:59 AM) How to know which stocks is REIT ? Is it all of the REIT under MESDAQ ? I believe if you open StarBiz newspaper, you can see a huge "REIT" section, right?  They are just right under Main Board my friend.
Neo18
Aug 1 2008, 10:10 AM
mostly likely AXIS will be publishing their interim report today
Jordy
Aug 1 2008, 10:59 AM
Entrepreneur
QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 1 2008, 10:00 AM) Last week my 1.60 bought on AXreit can buy me a Tai Thong dinner already.  If you bought 10 lots, then yeah can buy Tai Thong already. Haha. So, you did buy 10 lots ya? Damn rich la you cherroy "uncle"