Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Airport Express 2 Airplay 2, Great sound

views
     
TSgogo2
post Jun 20 2019, 11:58 PM, updated 2w ago

gogo2
********
Group: All Stars
Posts: 17,822

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Penang



I just updated to firmware 7.8 and it support airplay 2.

I connect the analog out(instead of optical) but the sound is awesome!!! I think the internal dac is very good.

Airport Express need to set to join Network and airplay enable.

You can even see it in your Home app.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Jun 20 2019, 11:59 PM
C-Fu.
post Jun 21 2019, 10:01 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 99

Joined: Feb 2019
got some pics on your setup? mind sharing..
TSgogo2
post Jun 21 2019, 10:04 AM

gogo2
********
Group: All Stars
Posts: 17,822

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Penang



QUOTE(C-Fu. @ Jun 21 2019, 10:01 AM)
got some pics on your setup? mind sharing..
*
Well I just connect from the headphone jack to behind of my stereo amp using 3.5mm to red/white rca connector


https://shopee.com.my/product/28053243/379648437?smtt=0.0.9

firdausbhari
post Jun 21 2019, 03:52 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,808

Joined: Feb 2012


QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 20 2019, 11:58 PM)
I just updated to firmware 7.8 and it support airplay 2.

I connect the analog out(instead of optical) but the sound is awesome!!! I think the internal dac is very good.

Airport Express need to set to join Network and airplay enable.

You can even see it in your Home app.
*
Airplay is lossless thats why the sound is awesome. Like wired.

Im still using my 1st gen airport express for Airplay to my speakers. Works great even after 7 years long.
TSgogo2
post Jun 21 2019, 04:11 PM

gogo2
********
Group: All Stars
Posts: 17,822

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Penang



QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Jun 21 2019, 03:52 PM)
Airplay is lossless thats why the sound is awesome. Like wired.

Im still using my 1st gen airport express for Airplay to my speakers. Works great even after 7 years long.
*
Even watching YouTube and Netflix the sound is sync. It's very nice.
firdausbhari
post Jun 21 2019, 04:18 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,808

Joined: Feb 2012


QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 21 2019, 04:11 PM)
Even watching YouTube and Netflix the sound is sync. It's very nice.
*
yes but Airplay got delay in about 2 secs before the audio played. thats the only downside.
TSgogo2
post Jun 21 2019, 05:09 PM

gogo2
********
Group: All Stars
Posts: 17,822

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Penang



QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Jun 21 2019, 04:18 PM)
yes but Airplay got delay in about 2 secs before the audio played. thats the only downside.
*
I guess the lossless thing need to send huge amount of buffer.
TSgogo2
post Jun 22 2019, 12:10 PM

gogo2
********
Group: All Stars
Posts: 17,822

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Penang



QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Jun 21 2019, 04:18 PM)
yes but Airplay got delay in about 2 secs before the audio played. thats the only downside.
*
Wow I can airplay from Apple TV to my HiFi now.
firdausbhari
post Jun 22 2019, 12:14 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,808

Joined: Feb 2012


QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 22 2019, 12:10 PM)
Wow I can airplay from Apple TV to my HiFi now.
*
Yes bro. If u have apple tv u can airplay it too. Apple eco system smile.gif
TSgogo2
post Jun 22 2019, 12:33 PM

gogo2
********
Group: All Stars
Posts: 17,822

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Penang



QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Jun 22 2019, 12:14 PM)
Yes bro. If u have apple tv u can airplay it too. Apple eco system smile.gif
*
It's great because I use simple hifi stereo without hdmi. So this works great by skipping the optical connection from TV to Stereo. Also I don't need to have TV on to play music. Awesome!!!
Achilles
post Jul 13 2019, 02:17 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 279

Joined: Jul 2005
anyone use that for Time Machine for backup? can it work well?
TSgogo2
post Jul 13 2019, 03:48 PM

gogo2
********
Group: All Stars
Posts: 17,822

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Penang



QUOTE(Achilles @ Jul 13 2019, 02:17 PM)
anyone use that for Time Machine for backup? can it work well?
*
Only can use for printing
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201712
firdausbhari
post Jul 15 2019, 12:22 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,808

Joined: Feb 2012


QUOTE(Achilles @ Jul 13 2019, 02:17 PM)
anyone use that for Time Machine for backup? can it work well?
*
time machine not supported via AirPort Express.

must use Time Capsule/AirPort Extreme new or old gen will work flawlessly.

Or use Synology or router service if available

 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0698sec    1.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st July 2019 - 10:46 PM