In a thread, I noticed the name "D ick Shawn" that I typed became "d*** Shawn". I know that D I C K is a slang for p0n0s, but to censor it when it can also be a name is outright weird. I mean, WTF?
Why The Heck is this CENSORED?
Jun 27 2007, 06:41 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
9,277 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL. Best place in Malaysia. Nuff said |
In a thread, I noticed the name "D ick Shawn" that I typed became "d*** Shawn". I know that D I C K is a slang for p0n0s, but to censor it when it can also be a name is outright weird. I mean, WTF?
Jun 27 2007, 08:57 PM
3,952 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Sector 1921B, Delta Quadrant |
That as in D i c k Cheney.... he a d*** btw.... does that explains why the censorship....?
Jun 27 2007, 08:59 PM
4,341 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bora-bora u jelly? Special: Age of multi-monitor |
lololol d i c k is a problem!
Jun 27 2007, 09:07 PM
1,067 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: おさか |
Them censors wants us to use the supposed proper name instead of the short-nick. Although Richard Cheney and Richard Shawn sound awful
Jun 27 2007, 09:13 PM
876 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tokyo, London, Singapore, KL, Space |
This sounds like why can't I call my cat by the name of p****, or my Grandpa's rooster by the name of c***
I guess can't say much about the censorship though, it was made universally for the entire forum. To lift up the censors will have alot problems from people who might just abuse/exploit it. |
Jun 28 2007, 01:21 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
d***, penis, vagina - they're body parts. words like c*** and p***** are actually valid words referring to animal too.
but seriously - is there a problem with the board censoring it? no choice have to censor also la cos at least it looks nicer when people abuse those words. |
Jun 28 2007, 01:43 AM
Admin
1,806 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Captain's Cabin, Black Pearl |
Until a time that our white-coated-scientist figure out a way to write code that can differentiate the name of a person, from a bad word, we have little choice but to enforce a global word filter of the words.
Jun 28 2007, 03:39 PM
3,110 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(se7en @ Jun 28 2007, 01:43 AM) Until a time that our white-coated-scientist figure out a way to write code that can differentiate the name of a person, from a bad word, we have little choice but to enforce a global word filter of the words. haha, i think it will be very tough for him but can the censor choose to censor small letter or capital letter?? like make it just censor small letter of d-i-c-k and leave D-i-c-k?? |
Jun 28 2007, 03:55 PM
heh, there goes my d*** Tracy thread
Jun 28 2007, 06:32 PM
Use "female dog" as a substitute word? More explainfying
Jun 30 2007, 11:15 PM
5,366 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
thats the funny part in english
one word multiple meanings |
Jul 1 2007, 12:39 AM
441 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
And yet the word 'lanjau' is not censored.
Jul 1 2007, 12:43 AM
1,857 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Jul 2 2007, 07:59 PM
6,562 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
rather than using profanities to further express your emotions, why not use smileys instead?
it doesnt make you sound cool to drop the f-bomb, and the others such as lan**u or whatever... p/s er, yeah, off-topic |
Jul 3 2007, 12:49 PM
2,633 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
I don't see a point with * censorship anyway.
As if people do not get what it means. Even minors, f*** <--- what are the odds for them not to see what it really is? |
Jul 3 2007, 01:05 PM
Some still does not know what it stands for. And besides, it's manners. Honestly, I agree with censorship, but sometimes word like D I C K which is not usually used in Malaysian profanity should not be censored as unlike the F word, the original meaning has nothing to do with sex or sex organ
Jul 4 2007, 12:58 AM
6,008 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Yeah, it's true that it's not as if any reasonably-educated person wouldn't be able to tell what's behind those st*rs. I reckon that it's more of a symbolic move to discourage the use of profanity in the community? Note that it's profanity that's censored; there remains other means to express yourself (expand your vocab if you can't!). Hence, it's the presentation of thoughts and not the thoughts themselves that are censored. Although you could argue otherwise
Disclaimer: I wasn't here from the start, so the real motive behind the censorship rests on someone else.. |
Jul 4 2007, 03:00 AM
2,475 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: kopitiam |
n*w i u*d*rst*nd
TH*NX M*d!!! This post has been edited by dgrebel: Jul 4 2007, 03:00 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0164sec
5 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:26 AM |