Centurion C5, Front intake mod

TSianho
post Jun 27 2007, 04:52 PM, updated 19y ago

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Here's 1 u guys can do to improve case temps. Lotsa nice cool air from the front intake. While i was doing the front intake mod, I also added a top 120mm blowhole n a cut out on the mobo tray for better wire management. The PSU's wires can now go straight to the back to gif it that "wireless: look.

Here's the front intake mod. Cut an acrylic plate for the 80mm intake fan.

Top 120mm blowhole.

Mobo tray mod for wire management.

Intake mod all done. The fan plate is installed using the stock Coolermaster slide locks. Just slide the plate inside the ROM slot, slide the sliders forward to lock the plate in place just like a normal ROM device n ur done. It can be placed anywhere. I put it at the top in this pic but it can also be placed lower down.

WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 27 2007, 04:55 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

How do u keep the "front panel" fan intact to casing?
solder to front casing?
kalakatu
post Jun 27 2007, 05:01 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

any idea how many 5.25" slots will be used to place up the 120mm fan? smile.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 27 2007, 05:03 PM

10,530 posts

120mm would usually take up 3 bays
TSianho
post Jun 27 2007, 05:07 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 27 2007, 04:55 PM)
How do u keep the "front panel" fan intact to casing?
solder to front casing?
Just slide it in n lock it in place using the stock slide locks on the case.
Same method as sliding in the DVD ROM n locking in place with the locks.

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jun 27 2007, 05:01 PM)
any idea how many 5.25" slots will be used to place up the 120mm fan?  smile.gif
80mm intake will need 2 slots. 120mm intake will need 3 slots.

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 27 2007, 05:03 PM)
120mm would usually take up 3 bays
Yup
ciohbu
post Jun 27 2007, 05:26 PM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

nice mod...but for the 80mm fans...it expose to outside then mayb will bring in dust also..hehe
Doom
post Jun 27 2007, 05:38 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Add in a filter would be a very nice option and can be done easily ..

I've always love uncle's whole cutting skill ... damn smooth and round in shape...
any1else87
post Jun 27 2007, 06:40 PM

310 posts

how old is this so-called "uncle" ? His cutting skill is tremendous. OMG. PRO *salute*
no1luvnow
post Jun 27 2007, 06:56 PM

21 posts

nice mod , actually i also wanna mod for that b4...
but i feel if mod on my case sure look ugly...tongue.gif
@meno
post Jun 27 2007, 08:20 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

no1luvnow,
The chenbro was yours?
Nice job by uncle there...

Btw Uncle, why don't you just stick a fan to the existing C5 front mesh panels, saves, at least u get to use the original so called filters and it looks much neater that way.
mADmAN
post Jun 27 2007, 09:49 PM

10,530 posts

actually i think its better to put the fan on the bottom 2 bays...

putting it on the top 2 bays pretty useless IMHO. coz the amount of air being pushed in by the fan will prolly be sucked out by the top 120mm blowhole before it can get anywhere tongue.gif
peaceofluck
post Jun 28 2007, 01:03 AM

357 posts

yer lor....make it useless to put it there...
Samuel_Takumi
post Jun 28 2007, 01:11 AM

22 posts

nice mod...
i also thinking mod the top blowhole for my C5...
tebong
post Jun 28 2007, 01:04 PM

160 posts

hi y'all seems my casing oledi uploaded by uncle ian.. hahaha... i really admire n love it, all my friends looked it in aww especially on the front panel fan.. readjusted the position to the 2 lowest bay. ..i wanted to put mesh filter.. tried to order from uglyvamp but said already out of stock.. planning to go Vcool's store in ss2 this weekend but not sure if he has the mesh filter for 80mm. if not have to create my own.. aiyark no idea how to do.. any suggestion.

This post has been edited by tebong: Jun 28 2007, 01:09 PM
TSianho
post Jun 28 2007, 01:33 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 27 2007, 09:49 PM)
actually i think its better to put the fan on the bottom 2 bays...

putting it on the top 2 bays pretty useless IMHO. coz the amount of air being pushed in by the fan will prolly be sucked out by the top 120mm blowhole before it can get anywhere tongue.gif
QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Jun 28 2007, 01:03 AM)
yer lor....make it useless to put it there...
Haiyaaaaaa the picture shows the front intake at the top 2 slots because I put it up there so I can do the final fitting to make sure everything fits perfectly. The top 2 slots r used for that so I can c if the front plate is totally flat with the front of the case only. After that I forgot to put it down at the bottom for final placing. smile.gif

QUOTE(tebong @ Jun 28 2007, 01:04 PM)
hi y'all seems my casing oledi uploaded by uncle ian.. hahaha... i really admire n love it, all my friends looked it in aww especially on the front panel fan..  readjusted the position to the 2 lowest bay. ..i wanted to put mesh filter.. tried to order from uglyvamp but said already out of stock.. planning to go Vcool's store in ss2 this weekend but not sure if he has the mesh filter for 80mm. if not have to create my own.. aiyark no idea how to do.. any suggestion.
If u really cant find the mesh filter, y not try making a stocking filter? U can c how to make 1 in my Worklog: Sidewinder.
tebong
post Jun 28 2007, 05:22 PM

160 posts

i'll go check it out, sure it'll be awesome.

aisey,, which post# to look?

This post has been edited by tebong: Jun 28 2007, 05:38 PM
TSianho
post Jun 29 2007, 02:50 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(tebong @ Jun 28 2007, 05:22 PM)
i'll go check it out, sure it'll be awesome.

aisey,, which post# to look?
Look at my signature n click on "Sidewinder". GOGOGO mod urself a stocking filter. thumbup.gif
tebong
post Jun 29 2007, 03:00 PM

160 posts

hi guys.. this is wat it looks like from the front

there are more pics i post in cooler master league.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=12268296

This post has been edited by tebong: Jun 29 2007, 10:16 PM
Ryo
post Jun 30 2007, 07:11 PM

.:: Rise Lord Vader ::.
871 posts

nice clean mod! thumbs up as always...excellent workmanship thumbup.gif
yongfei
post Jun 30 2007, 11:49 PM

190 posts

nice DIY.....tat mean u sacrify 2 bays lol.

0.0291sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:42 AM