F30 LCI 318i, Running cost, parts pricing etc

ktek
post Jan 6 2020, 02:02 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

sc told me 318 a lot owner claim turbo spoil.
and my house one just sent sc due to drivetrain warning msg.
ktek
post Jan 6 2020, 03:49 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(4WD_er @ Jan 6 2020, 03:05 PM)
318 as in 1.5 3 cylinder turbo or

1.6 4 cylinder turbo prince engine ?
318 is 3 api
316 is 4 api prince
ktek
post Jan 6 2020, 10:10 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(4WD_er @ Jan 6 2020, 04:04 PM)
I thought the 3 pot 1.5Turbo engine from BMW is a lot better than the 1.6T prince engine, as it's supposed to be a strip off from the normal 4 pot 2.0 engine of BMW.  So you are saying that this 1.5T is not so good ?  That can mean a lot of Mini will kena too.

this turbo charger is join together with exhaust manifold. gurantee always high temperature
suspect due to ckd parts? i hope import cbu are better.

beside this, rear axle make noise during uturn + funny shift pattern.
3api is given poor gear ratio

This post has been edited by ktek: Jan 6 2020, 10:12 PM
ktek
post Jan 8 2020, 11:47 AM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ Jan 7 2020, 12:39 PM)
i'm a 318i owner (purchasd end of 2017)  and during 2019 dec after 2 years of intense usage  of 96,000KM, yes the turbo issue came up , causing a DRIVE TRAIN MULFUNCTION error.
from SC, found out its actually the hosing to the turbo unit causing the issue, causing the ECU to show this error.
as it does have 5 years warranty, got it fix within 2-3 days and problem is solve.

hence, if you're purchasing a pre-own one, i would suggest going certified SC or atleast have a warranty from 3rd party. not a big issue, but its an annoying issue. heard some cases on outside repair that the mechanic changed the whole turbo unit and stuff, racked up big bills.
i see. the air hose fault.
my house bought mid 2016, within 5yr warranty too.
ktek
post Jan 8 2020, 04:56 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Jan 8 2020, 02:41 PM)
Good info, thanks for sharing.

Any buyers potentially looking at buying a used 318i should take heed.
pic to scare u all potential buyers
ktek
post Jan 18 2020, 10:42 AM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

budang sc come out become like this.
ur vehicle detect Rpa or Rdc on tyre?

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jan 17 2020, 10:43 PM)
2015–2019 BMW F30/F31 318i is the only generation using B38 engine which is a 3 cylinder 1.5L turbo engine.

FYI, the latest BMW 318i G20 series 318i already ditch the B38 3 cylinder engine and go back to B48 2.0L 4 cylinder turbo engine with a detune version from 320i.

So you still want the F30 318i? Only 1 generation with 3 cylinder..  rolleyes.gif
cooper got use
ktek
post Jan 18 2020, 09:56 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(drummerboy @ Jan 18 2020, 05:42 PM)
Yes I heard it is very common in Minis.
But since 318i is the only bmw model using 1.5 3pot, will it be hard to find parts next time ?

316i also the only one on 1.6 right ?
1 serie or 2 serie also got 118i 218i
im not sure msia version
ktek
post Aug 29 2020, 07:23 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(drummerboy @ Aug 28 2020, 04:25 PM)
Hi guys, do you all know if it is possible to turn off auto start-stop by default ?
cucuk laptop by outside shop. mine changed to saving last memory
ktek
post Aug 29 2020, 07:42 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Jul 30 2020, 11:03 PM)
Full tank range test

- approximately 59litres of Petronas RON95
- 80% city drive with frequent stop and go traffic
- Remaining range on the clock: 22KM
- 782KM covered

bro
how did u display my vehicle beside weather forecast. i only got weather
ktek
post Aug 30 2020, 04:51 AM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Aug 30 2020, 12:22 AM)
while at the menu, press the menu button once and you will be in customization mode and all icons will be minimized. Rotate your iDrive dial to 'my vehicle' icon and toggle right / left to your desired position.
tQ master 님 🤝🤝
ktek
post Sep 2 2020, 09:28 AM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(drummerboy @ Sep 1 2020, 09:45 PM)
Yes for the ZF gearbox in F30. From gear 2 onwards it almost has zero feel of changing gears (ZF is really the smoothest gearbox), that's why i was a bit curious for gear 1 to 2. I thought it should be super smooth as well
my one also got. i dont mind the upshift 1->2
what bother me is downshift 2->1 terrible
ktek
post Sep 4 2020, 01:55 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(drummerboy @ Sep 3 2020, 01:46 PM)
At what rpm do you all drive at first gear before shifting ? I notice if i press it above 2.5k rpm at first gear, it will jolt when shifting to 2nd gear. Is it normal ?
random。。。。。 sometime low as 1500 sometime above
i wonder can reset gear pattern or not. online ppl say it doesnt save driver memory
ktek
post Sep 4 2020, 03:21 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(ctw88 @ Sep 4 2020, 03:14 PM)
You can clear the adaptive gearbox back to default

1) start the car in accessory mode (no foot on brake, dont start engine)
2) hold down accelerator for 40sec
3) turn off car
4) foot off accelerator
5) wait couple minutes
6) start car like you normally would and go for test drive

After a while it will still learn your driving behavior and adapt back though. If you're mostly light-footed person, they gearbox will become relaxed/lazy over time.
i must TRY tQ bro u r so help full
ktek
post Sep 4 2020, 08:12 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Sep 4 2020, 04:53 PM)
promotion? at one of BMW's authorized SCs? If yes im surprised it's that cheap.
sc dont have procedure to change atf. only can change whole piece gear box
ktek
post Sep 4 2020, 08:13 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Sep 4 2020, 04:53 PM)
promotion? at one of BMW's authorized SCs? If yes im surprised it's that cheap.
tight turn my axle got noise ady. went to sc he change handbrake cable mount only

going to complain more
ktek
post Sep 4 2020, 09:59 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Sep 4 2020, 08:24 PM)
Which SC you went to? I just had a near end of warranty 72 point check at AB. They changed alot of stuffs. Some I didn't even know need to replace.

I asked for the invoice just for fun, total 17k.
AB penang island= ok, TS butterworth= not ok
ktek
post Sep 6 2020, 10:46 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(drummerboy @ Sep 6 2020, 05:57 PM)
Hey guys, what is your normal FC ? The best i got for highway is 15.5km/L. City drive seems to be quite bad around 8km/L.

Not sure if it is because my oil wasn't changed even after 1year. Tian Siang said no need to change cause less than 10k altho more than 1 year. Doesn't sound right
i 8kml same as u. city drive and rush rush drive
ktek
post Sep 7 2020, 12:45 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

main reason is rpm dont have go down by itself
ktek
post Sep 30 2020, 02:52 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(drummerboy @ Sep 28 2020, 09:26 PM)
Checked with SC. They said it's normal for 316/318
lol mine terbalik. low rpm not smooth. higher rpm smooth
ktek
post Apr 15 2021, 12:17 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(drummerboy @ Apr 15 2021, 10:04 AM)
Hey guys,
Anyone faced steering noise before on the 318i? I read somewhere that it is a common issue on the F30.
Also, anyone faced transmission issues before? Managed to claim for warranty?
a knock sound when reverse only. claim handbrake cover, stabilizer link.
macam not fully resolve yet

0.0321sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:11 PM