F30 LCI 318i, Running cost, parts pricing etc

DM52
post Feb 17 2020, 09:02 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 26 2020, 01:26 AM)
Let's say someone buys a 330i G20 with B48 engine, and another buys a 320i G20 with the same B48 engine but detuned a little

Both drivers have the same driving characteristics, and drove very similarly in a closed track as an experiment; would the two cars burn the same/similar amount of fuel?
330i will consume more fuel due to volumetric efficiency.more power bring more wastage.someone explain b4 on older threads but not regards to bmw argument, but argument between 2.4 vs 2.0 engine.

I cant explain more about volumetric efficiency since I too stupid to understand engineering topics.

Maybe u can open a threads regards to this and hear the engineer explanation about this. Ya, got few engineer inside here.

This post has been edited by DM52: Feb 17 2020, 09:04 PM
DM52
post Feb 19 2020, 10:45 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 17 2020, 10:29 PM)
But the B48 in both 330i and 320i have the same hardware down to the "volume"

But ok perhaps i will google
Internal is different yo. High horsepower one usually got bigger intercooler. Component different a bit.

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 17 2020, 11:21 PM)
Perhaps you are right. Similar designs but not exactly the same hardware. Then they tune up? I wonder if the B48 320i F30 owners have tuned up their engines? A lot of workshops claim that it can be done, but what about the side effects?
Can be done. Almost no side effect. But need to wait until warranty end. That is why u can see got stage 1, stage 2, stage 3. All tuner company done.

Yes, 320i can upgrade up to match 330i level, but 330i can upgrade to much greater power.

Bobby ang, car journalist upgrade his s4 from 333hp to 430hp..no problem oso. Just make sure warranty finish first.

QUOTE(drummerboy @ Feb 18 2020, 03:18 PM)
I think i still favor the 318i over the 330e.  brows.gif

How's the power like? Is it better than a 1.5L light-weighted toyota or like a 1.6L overweight mazda? Although judging from its 8.9s specs, it should be more powerful than a vios despite its weight
Turbo ma. Power comes early. Once drive turbo, u will never come back to na. Especially on rapid accelerate and decelerate, turbo is so effortless bro. If people drive na and want to going fast, he need to rev his car a lot as compare to turbo. Na u rev up until engine scream like want to explode, then only it go fast, turbo is not like that.
DM52
post Feb 19 2020, 10:46 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Feb 18 2020, 08:27 PM)
Yes.. my VW keep masuk WS since last year till yesterday.. not done yet, gonna go again end of this week.. too high-tech..
What model is this?. Passat b7?.
DM52
post Feb 19 2020, 06:55 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Feb 19 2020, 01:34 PM)
Polo 1.2 gonna be 8 years soon..
I think Passat owners already get rid of theirs before 6th or 7th years..
Change newer passat la like that..vw already throw price for passat elegence.not even 1 year in the market. Lulz.

0.2754sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:45 AM