164 Pages « < 138 139 140 141 142 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.32, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In

ZM Fong
post May 26 2020, 01:43 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(rko1268 @ May 26 2020, 12:48 PM)
Yes
go for business laptops: Latitude 5000/7000 DFO or wait for new Thinkpads
StarFalls~*
post May 26 2020, 02:15 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 22 2020, 10:34 AM)
By performance you mean system responsiveness?

Fine with low sRGB display?

Lenovo Thinkpad T495s / T495

AMD laptops will not have Thunderbolt 3

Swift 3 is a better package overall
Thank you!
Haxilli
post May 27 2020, 01:51 PM

18 posts

@ ZM Fong

Currently is there any gaming laptop that is not matte finish screen , like clear crystal panel type ?

what is the benchmark currently and how expensive it is ?

Regards
Sebastian
NoobZaii P
post May 27 2020, 02:24 PM

Probation
22 posts

Hi guys, I know this ain't the right thread but considering so many tech experts here...Was just wondering if limiting charging capacity to just 60% actually saves the battery's life span, or is it just a hoax cause my logic is that constant charging and discharging would be worst for the laptop battery.

Thanks in advance
stevenX
post May 27 2020, 03:49 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(NoobZaii @ May 27 2020, 02:24 PM)
Hi guys, I know this ain't the right thread but considering so many tech experts here...Was just wondering if limiting charging capacity to just 60% actually saves the battery's life span, or is it just a hoax cause my logic is that constant charging and discharging would be worst for the laptop battery.

Thanks in advance
why dont u take out the battery while using with plug ?
HyperLiner
post May 27 2020, 04:03 PM

Hi;

Could anyone suggest AMD Ryzen laptop for following program use:

1- AutoCAD
2- CATIA

AMD Ryzen 4000 Series processor
Minimum 8GB DDR3 RAM
Minimum 256 GB of SSD
Windows 10

Budget around 2.5k - 2.8k, could stretch up to 3k max
zz287963
post May 27 2020, 06:08 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(stevenX @ May 27 2020, 03:49 PM)
why dont u take out the battery while using with plug ?
Maybe it's a built in battery
ToiletMaster
post May 27 2020, 06:23 PM

774 posts

LF a laptop that can play slightly old games like DotA 2 with good settings, xcom, civilization if possible.

Budget is around 4k, would this be sufficient?

Size brand and battery doesn't matter as long as the gaming can be done.

Thanks!
ZM Fong
post May 27 2020, 06:24 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Haxilli @ May 27 2020, 01:51 PM)
Currently is there any gaming laptop that is not matte finish screen , like clear crystal panel type ?

what is the benchmark currently and how expensive it is ?
You mean glossy panel? If I remember correctly the 4K OLED Samsung display in some gaming laptops is using glossy panel

Glossy panel is glass panel in other words, might increase cost but I'm not sure on that. However it can improve lid rigidity and the material feel. Only downsides are more obvious reflections, and the glass might break and costs money to repair (if something bad happens)
QUOTE(NoobZaii @ May 27 2020, 02:24 PM)
Was just wondering if limiting charging capacity to just 60% actually saves the battery's life span, or is it just a hoax cause my logic is that constant charging and discharging would be worst for the laptop battery.
Battery should be kept at 30-70% (or 20-80%), so yes it does help the lifespan by limiting charge and not discharging battery
QUOTE(HyperLiner @ May 27 2020, 04:03 PM)
Hi;

Could anyone suggest AMD Ryzen laptop for following program use:

1- AutoCAD
2- CATIA

AMD Ryzen 4000 Series processor
Minimum 8GB DDR3 RAM
Minimum 256 GB of SSD
Windows 10

Budget around 2.5k - 2.8k, could stretch up to 3k max
Looking for Ultrabook or gaming/performance type?
QUOTE(ToiletMaster @ May 27 2020, 06:23 PM)
LF a laptop that can play slightly old games like DotA 2 with good settings, xcom, civilization if possible.

Budget is around 4k, would this be sufficient?

Size brand and battery doesn't matter as long as the gaming can be done.

Thanks!
Can consider Legion 5 customize (use code LENXCIMB)

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: May 27 2020, 06:28 PM
nickchk89
post May 27 2020, 07:00 PM

Vodka martini,shaken,not stirred
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 27 2020, 06:24 PM)
You mean glossy panel? If I remember correctly the 4K OLED Samsung display in some gaming laptops is using glossy panel

Glossy panel is glass panel in other words, might increase cost but I'm not sure on that. However it can improve lid rigidity and the material feel. Only downsides are more obvious reflections, and the glass might break and costs money to repair (if something bad happens)

Battery should be kept at 30-70% (or 20-80%), so yes it does help the lifespan by limiting charge and not discharging battery

thanks for your code,just placed an order for legion 5

i was thinking too long until i missed the "weekend" and "raya" code

thank to you, i can use this as i had cimb
ZM Fong
post May 27 2020, 07:17 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ May 27 2020, 07:00 PM)
thanks for your code,just placed an order for legion 5

i was thinking too long until i missed the "weekend" and "raya" code

thank to you, i can use this as i had cimb
you're welcome, do share your order status (shipment) in Legion user thread
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4750900/
ToiletMaster
post May 28 2020, 12:27 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 27 2020, 06:24 PM)

Thanks for the info, will check it out!
EpicStory1 P
post May 28 2020, 03:57 AM

Probation
27 posts

Hi sifus, would appreciate some recommendations.

1. Budget :
RM4500 and below (can adjust if needed)

2. Usage :
Gaming for AAA titles (medium/high settings for the next at least 2-3 years, can stretch budget a bit if needed), side hobby for video editing, programming

3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) :
Not particular about display size or RGB accuracy, preferably lower than 2.4kg, battery life I expect to plug in charger all the time already but of course hope can last 6 hours idle time under medium load.

Please recommend me laptops for where I can buy immediately, and recommendations if I can wait 1-2 months.

Thank you
ZM Fong
post May 28 2020, 11:38 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(EpicStory1 @ May 28 2020, 03:57 AM)
Hi sifus, would appreciate some recommendations.

1. Budget :
RM4500 and below (can adjust if needed)

2. Usage  :
Gaming for AAA titles (medium/high settings for the next at least 2-3 years, can stretch budget a bit if needed), side hobby for video editing, programming

3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) :
Not particular about display size or RGB accuracy, preferably lower than 2.4kg, battery life I expect to plug in charger all the time already but of course hope can last 6 hours idle time under medium load.

Please recommend me laptops for where I can buy immediately, and recommendations if I can wait 1-2 months.

Thank you
Level51 Forge 15R 1660Ti
EpicStory1 P
post May 28 2020, 02:00 PM

Probation
27 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 28 2020, 11:38 AM)
Level51 Forge 15R 1660Ti
I'll take a look. May i know if got other brands to recommend too?
ZM Fong
post May 28 2020, 02:01 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(EpicStory1 @ May 28 2020, 02:00 PM)
I'll take a look. May i know if got other brands to recommend too?
you need to up budget to around RM5k if you want more decent models with 1660Ti/2060
EpicStory1 P
post May 28 2020, 02:10 PM

Probation
27 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 28 2020, 02:01 PM)
you need to up budget to around RM5k if you want more decent models with 1660Ti/2060
That's fine, what models are those? For 1660Ti
ZM Fong
post May 28 2020, 05:46 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(EpicStory1 @ May 28 2020, 02:10 PM)
That's fine, what models are those? For 1660Ti
a few examples:
Lenovo Legion 5i 15 81Y6005JMJ 1660Ti (use code LENXCIMB)
Lenovo Legion Y7000 SE 81NS0021MJ
EpicStory1 P
post May 28 2020, 07:01 PM

Probation
27 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 28 2020, 05:46 PM)
a few examples:
Lenovo Legion 5i 15 81Y6005JMJ 1660Ti (use code LENXCIMB)
Lenovo Legion Y7000 SE 81NS0021MJ
I tried customising Lenovo Legion Y540, can get cheaper at RM4.8K with i7-9750H and 1660Ti and include Microsoft Office.

1) May I know if there is a reason why we should go for the Legion 5i 15? It costs around RM5.2K I understand the Legion 5i has a i7-10750H processor, is this a lot more powerful than the i7-9750H? And the 5i 15 don't include Microsoft Office.

2) Also, do you have to be a CIMB customer to use the LENXCIMB promo code?
ZM Fong
post May 28 2020, 07:39 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(EpicStory1 @ May 28 2020, 07:01 PM)
I tried customising Lenovo Legion Y540, can get cheaper at RM4.8K with i7-9750H and 1660Ti and include Microsoft Office. 

1) May I know if there is a reason why we should go for the Legion 5i 15? It costs around RM5.2K I understand the Legion 5i has a i7-10750H processor, is this a lot more powerful than the i7-9750H? And the 5i 15 don't include Microsoft Office.

2) Also, do you have to be a CIMB customer to use the LENXCIMB promo code?
1. Main reason is Y540 don't have 144Hz for customization anymore
2. According to some previous buyers, other bank card also will work, not sure why

164 Pages « < 138 139 140 141 142 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:21 PM