TSlowyatboy123
Jun 5 2019, 09:01 PM, updated 7y ago

Good evening,
My macbook pro’s screen has turned black. The panel is not damaged and the keyboard backlight is working as usual. I checked online and apparently there is an issue on the flex cable for MacBook Pro 2016 model. I tried checking repair shops online in Malaysia, there are charging more than RM 2000 by replacing the entire panel. I want to only replace the cable at cheap cost.
I am around KL area. Is there any apple repair Centre offering this service? I would be grateful if you could help me with this.
Thank you and have a great day
This post has been edited by lowyatboy123: Jun 5 2019, 09:16 PM
Find The Way
Jun 5 2019, 09:20 PM
Their authorised seller has service center at 1-U.
sanosizo
Jun 5 2019, 10:27 PM
If I remember correctly the ribbon is soldered on the display so if flexgate happens need to replace whole display.
ychwang
Jun 7 2019, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jun 5 2019, 10:27 PM) If I remember correctly the ribbon is soldered on the display so if flexgate happens need to replace whole display. yes, flexgate will cost you the whole display
wei
Jun 10 2019, 12:03 PM
There are now official recall: https://www.apple.com/support/13-inch-macbo...klight-service/Send back to Apple if your unit affected. They will replace the panel FOC.