Movies Ford vs Ferrari - The story of the Ford GT40, Starring Christian Bale, Matt Damon

TS+Newbie+
post Jun 3 2019, 11:10 PM, updated 5y ago

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

The true story of the battle between Ford and Ferrari to win Le Mans in 1966.

Ford v Ferrari is an upcoming action biographical drama film directed and co-written by James Mangold

Starring Christian Bale, Matt Damon and Jon Bernthal

Looks like an interesting low profile movie.
skylinelover
post Jun 15 2019, 09:24 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
10,478 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Jun 3 2019, 11:10 PM)

The true story of the battle between Ford and Ferrari to win Le Mans in 1966.

Ford v Ferrari is an upcoming action biographical drama film directed and co-written by James Mangold

Starring Christian Bale, Matt Damon and Jon Bernthal

Looks like an interesting low profile movie.
Haha hope it can be as good as RUSH about 75 F1 season battle

Never knew Thor dude can play the great James Hunt laugh.gif rclxms.gif
defaultname365
post Nov 14 2019, 05:45 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,097 posts

Anyone?

Hoping to catch it this weekend.

James Mangold worked on this after "Logan"

defaultname365
post Nov 16 2019, 03:29 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,097 posts

Just got back from the cinema, watched this on IMAX - - totally worth it! Definitely one of the best films I've seen this year.

To put it simply, this movie is pure adrenaline fueled racing action + epic feud between Ford/Shelby/Ferrari (literally the person) on and off the track.

It is such a beautifully made film, no thanks to James Mangold's direction and the chemistry between the two leads who did a brilliant job.

The racing sequences has to be some of the best I've ever seen in a film - - in some ways, even better than 2013's "Rush". You can't just strap a camera on a car and let it rip through the track - - here you get quick cuts in, out and the sideswipes/duels of the cars with barely any fuzzy blurry dash of speed; something most other racing films suffer from. The clarity of the speedy sequences has to be lauded, it is as good as it can get.

I didn't quite know the full story of Ken Miles so the whole plot seemed a bit unreal - - after looking it up, it actually happened (Ken Miles' story). sweat.gif

Overall a brilliant film from start to finish clocking in at 2 1/2 hours, it is easily one of the best films of the year. Satisfyingly good.

9.5/10

The depiction of the era was spot on, everything looked just right. The actors themselves do mirror the actual individuals to a very good extent.
amandamai
post Nov 16 2019, 03:58 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Nov 16 2019, 03:29 PM)
Just got back from the cinema, watched this on IMAX - - totally worth it! Definitely one of the best films I've seen this year.

To put it simply, this movie is pure adrenaline fueled racing action + epic feud between Ford/Shelby/Ferrari
I love it too. I came in blind not knowing anything. Nxt time I'll watch it on imax. I haven't googled this yet, so i wonder how much was real and how much was fiction. I mean every movie needs a villain and they made Bebee as it. It's a good movie. Introduced Ken Miles to ppl who had never heard of him
cooldude17
post Nov 18 2019, 09:26 AM

693 posts

This movie is really touching, I shed my manly tears . Although this movie about 2 and half hours , I never felt a single dull moment. The highlight of the film was when Matt Damon point out the actual fact to FORD boss, absolutely outstanding. I rate it 9/10.
ThalaFan
post Nov 18 2019, 09:37 AM

Lotsa positive reviews...gotta catch it somehow
6so
post Nov 18 2019, 09:50 AM

121 posts

No complaints as a movie, the race scene very well shot and a deeply engaging storyline. While Damon handles the corporate meddling, Bale is the eccentric genius behind the wheel. It's your pull and push mechanic that fuels their narrative. Scope wise, Ron Howard's Rush is better at depicting tense rivalry but here you get better performance from the actors and the adrenaline pumping visual aesthetic is the selling point. A good Oscar bait movie that might go somewhere especially the technical aspects of sound and editing.
6so
post Nov 18 2019, 09:59 AM

121 posts

minizian
post Nov 18 2019, 10:30 AM

1,053 posts

I am surprised the move actually ran 2.30 hours. It seem to flow quite smoothly from start to end.

Not to mention it was well balanced for non car nerd too, especially for those who do not know anything about the whole story (Hint: Thrilling thumbup.gif )

I read the book "Go Like Hell" (detailed story abt this) and "Unfair Advantage" (slightly later racing era 70's where the person had crazy thing to get advantage) way before the movie was released.

Watched in Imax, was expecting more action to be honest but no complain. Not sure if thing would be different if watch in Atmos?

This post has been edited by minizian: Nov 18 2019, 10:31 AM
Catnip
post Nov 18 2019, 11:29 AM

1,078 posts

Nice. They finally made a movie about it. Looking forward to see it later on Blu Ray...

For those who haven't seen it, try reading this book first on the history of Ferrari. The story of the GT40 is is mentioned in detail. It also changed my perception and opinion of Ferrari and his cars and understands why Jay Leno never owns one.

Enzo Ferrari: The Man and the Machine by Brock Yates
yeelong
post Nov 20 2019, 05:43 PM

K for /K
1,218 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 15 2019, 09:24 AM)
Haha hope it can be as good as RUSH about 75 F1 season battle

Never knew Thor dude can play the great James Hunt laugh.gif rclxms.gif
My hope also high up there to hope this movie is same like RUSH
soulseeker6187
post Nov 20 2019, 05:56 PM

2,765 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Nov 20 2019, 05:43 PM)
My hope also high up there to hope this movie is same like RUSH
I rate this better than rush.
skylinelover
post Nov 21 2019, 12:00 PM

10,478 posts

QUOTE(Catnip @ Nov 18 2019, 11:29 AM)
Nice. They finally made a movie about it. Looking forward to see it later on Blu Ray...

For those who haven't seen it, try reading this book first on the history of Ferrari. The story of the GT40 is is mentioned in detail. It also changed my perception and opinion of Ferrari and his cars and understands why Jay Leno never owns one.

Enzo Ferrari: The Man and the Machine by Brock Yates
Haha ouch

Ferrari hate in USA is real not like Malaysia

laugh.gif laugh.gif
briantwj
post Nov 21 2019, 12:04 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,965 posts

Watched it Saturday 12am show, not knowing it's a 2 hour+ movie, but dayum it's good.

Good cinematography, good acting. I can say that the casting for this movie is just spot on. Everyone acted their role very well. Even Miles' kid was acting very well.

This movie have to be at least nominated for some of the prestigious awards.
mdnosz
post Nov 22 2019, 03:04 AM

66 posts

mat racing kena tengok cerita ni woi .

geng2 mustang pon kena tengok thumbup.gif

tribute to ken miles!
skylinelover
post Nov 22 2019, 07:40 AM

10,478 posts

Haha interesting history

Never knew le mans very intense in the 60s

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Skrg punye boring sama Toyota dominasi
skystrike
post Nov 22 2019, 03:12 PM

back to normal
1,269 posts

from review look like oscar material movie..
minizian
post Nov 26 2019, 12:04 AM

1,053 posts

Kinda sad that I managed to catch Imax version of it before it was changed to Frozen 2.

Kinda feel like shit re-watch again in normal cinema. The sound in Imax is awersome thumbup.gif

Not sure with holiday season i will be able to catch it in Imax.

I got a feeling not many people appreciate this movie.

Heck, even senna movie was not shown here. I watch in cinema in australia.

This post has been edited by minizian: Nov 26 2019, 12:07 AM
skylinelover
post Nov 29 2019, 09:06 AM

10,478 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Nov 26 2019, 12:04 AM)
Kinda sad that I managed to catch Imax version of it before it was changed to Frozen 2.

Kinda feel like shit re-watch again in normal cinema. The sound in Imax is awersome thumbup.gif

Not sure with holiday season i will be able to catch it in Imax.

I got a feeling not many people appreciate this movie.

Heck, even senna movie was not shown here. I watch in cinema in australia.
Haha not many petrol heads i guess laugh.gif laugh.gif

0.0147sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th March 2024 - 12:02 PM