2018/2019 Toyota Hilux 2.8 L Edition, Buy now or wait for 2020 new model?

marvinben
post Jun 9 2019, 11:04 PM

249 posts

The 2.8 roadtax is expensive if you're in Malaya, 2.4 version is good enough. Fuel would be around 10L/100km and maintenance is 5000km interval. Toyota will be the cheapest pickup to maintain so I highly recommend it. Other model spares not so cheap. Avoid FORD at all cost.
Anyway you sure want a pickup truck? Its really bumpy, steering ratio is low and driving one is kinda tiring compared to a crossover/suv.
marvinben
post Jun 10 2019, 01:53 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(figuremeout @ Jun 10 2019, 01:00 PM)
Noted. Will explore accordingly
Fortunately im in sarawak. Another huge relief on roadtax.
99% sure to get a pickup truck. Hehe.. I kinda like the rough driving experience & the commanding presence.
Does Ford really have poor after sales/ high maintenance issues? I've heard a lot about these issues. I took it out of my checklist since the price which is above my budget.
Tq. Will look into it. Mostly a lot of annoying promo to sell this and that. I should dig deeper.
Based on 177hp at a slightly higher torque for the 2.8L edition, I think it is quite decent. Plus it has power mode (assuming fuel is not a concern)
Dmax is unfortunately outdated. the interior needs a total refurbishment
Nissan has a stunning exterior but interior is also disappointing. Power & comfort is tiptop
Conclusion: hilix 2.8 L edition is still close to my heart and wallet haha
Tq for the feedback
Sarawak just buy the 2.8L. Ford if plan use below 100,000km and drive pasar mall crawler only can la.
I drive 3.0 vigo and it's very useful to traverse Pain Borneo Hellway. Work truck is 12 years old 2.5L vigo and apart from wear and tear items, a gearbox rebuild, and wiring harness change, it's running well. Mileage more than 400,000km.
marvinben
post Jun 10 2019, 02:46 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(figuremeout @ Jun 10 2019, 02:25 PM)
Definitely painful and hellway bro. Haha
I'm sure you had a wonderful 12 years driving the 3.0 Vigo.
Btw, What tyres are you currently using? I heard the stock ones are unreliable. From what I read, the options are narrowed down to 3.

1. Michelin SUV/LTX
2. Dunlop ATS
3. Bridgestone Dueller
12 years old is the 2.5 commonrail vigo and i only drove it for 2 years now. 3.0 vigo is personal car and thats 5 years old.
Yea the stock bridgestone is not really good in the wet. I just use cheapo GT Radial since used to hentam lubang. I can recommend Bridgestone Dueler AT001 since used on company car and really tahan. My brother np300 running the Dunlop Maxgrip AT5 and it seem to be holding up fine too. It's a good idea to trade in the stock bridgestone tyre as soon as keluar kedai.

Michelin I dont really have experience coz dealer here in sarawak mark up price kaw-kaw.

This post has been edited by marvinben: Jun 10 2019, 02:48 PM
marvinben
post Jun 11 2019, 10:44 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(SilentForever @ Jun 11 2019, 12:29 AM)
I was just thinking about adding a front mount intercooler and doing a remap. (Proven and trusted tuner of course) gonna wait till I save up more. But they really should bring in the intercooled version last time, its a no brainer for a turbodiesel imo.
Since 2.5 commonrail resale value still godlike, I'll say sell it and get a used 3.0L vnt.
marvinben
post Jun 11 2019, 10:48 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(SilentForever @ Jun 11 2019, 10:42 AM)
Hmm... What about the AT001 vs AT697?
Never used AT697 so can't input on that.
marvinben
post Jun 11 2019, 10:56 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(figuremeout @ Jun 11 2019, 10:53 AM)
Just for sharing. Few brands which I gathered online. However, no feedback from owners yet.

1. Yokohama Geolander AT G015
2. Maxxis Bravo AT 771
3. Silverstone AT 117
4. TOYO Open Country U/T

The price is slightly below RM800. Probably some shops have attractive offer.
Take out that Silverstone. It's shit tier even worse than Chinese branded. I have used them over the years on and they never fail to bulge.

0.0162sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:48 PM