Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

jlkueh
post Aug 12 2007, 12:56 PM

156 posts

To all sifus here, need your help......
I've done some HG gundam before, never bother to paint them, just cut out and snap em on smile.gif! Now that I've gotten myself a MG Titan MK-II, would really like to build it nicely. I've been following the posts here, very informative stuff, in fact some are really too "deep" for me to understand, ok, here goes:

1. Can I use the Mr. Surfacer to cover the gap lines between 2 parts snap together (called seams right?)

2. Can Mr Surfacer act as primer or base coat before painting?

3. I don't have airbrush, and model spray paint are hard to come by here in where i live. So if using industry spray, what should i take note of?

4. Will flat topcoat cover up the glossy feel of paint?

jlkueh
post Aug 13 2007, 01:15 AM

156 posts

Thanks for the replies guys, I live in Sarawak. You guys mentioned using super glue to cover up seams, any guide to do that? Won't super glue create those white mark once it's curing?

If I cover up the kits with Mr. Surfacer first, will that help in preventing those industry paint melting the plastic?
jlkueh
post Aug 13 2007, 01:59 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Aug 13 2007, 10:38 AM)
yes..super glue does leave those white marks after dry...but you going to prime it what after that...then paint it...so no worries about that white thing lo

even with surfacer...you will still have the risk of melting...
surfacer just to make your paint stick better on the plastic...not to prevent from melting or make your plastic stronger
OK, looks like that I should start ordering some gundam spray can paint soon, or is there any alternative spray paint for modeling that is easy to get and reasonably priced?

Also, is the Tamiya plastic cement meant for advanced modeler or can also be used by beginner like me?

jlkueh
post Aug 14 2007, 12:58 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Aug 13 2007, 02:18 PM)
tamiya cement or whatever cement for model kits can be use by anyone...expert or beginner a like...it just a glue for plastic anyway...

gundam kits never use any cement at all or sometimes use very little cement...but tamiya model like cars, tanks all that, then cement is a must
Actually I was thinking to use cement for the plastic to melt and bond together, then sand it (so that I can cut the step of putty filling the seams) and straight on spraying color to the kits. Will that work?

Added on August 14, 2007, 12:59 am
QUOTE(Kyoshiro @ Aug 13 2007, 11:05 PM)
industrial srpay cans can use, there are better ones on sale in hardware shops. but be sure to use it carefully. i've never tired using those b4 coz i'm afraid they wont turn out great as in having those bubbles coming out or tears drop.
May I know waht brand are you refering to?

Added on August 14, 2007, 1:05 amclivengu, I really salute you, untill now I don't dare to hand paint my kits. And that's why my kits are still lying around unassembled coz I have no AB. wink.gif

This post has been edited by jlkueh: Aug 14 2007, 01:05 AM
jlkueh
post Aug 15 2007, 12:08 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Aug 14 2007, 10:10 AM)
and no need to wait till you got AB only start assemble your gunpla...just assemble them first...and can always paint later...
wanna wait for ab, considering their price, calculating your budget...then your gunpla will never see the light of being build at all
You are mighty right on that on, I've got one mg sazabi still in sealed plastic bag since 2004.

By the way, can some one pls enlighten me on the below:

acrylic-->water base-->use ?? thinner
lacquer--> ?? base--> use ?? thinner
enamel-->oil based--> use ?? thinner

jlkueh
post Aug 15 2007, 11:34 AM

156 posts

OMG, starting to get dizzy now...... smile.gif
jlkueh
post Aug 15 2007, 06:50 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Aug 15 2007, 12:19 PM)
you feel more confuse and dizzy if you keep on asking more and more question...

the best thing to do and to learn is to hands on...ask little question and try more..practice more yourself...you learn better that way...

there is no short cut in learning something...and learning means you will do mistake at the beginning....but people learn from mistake...

trust me...me myself also still learning and also i discover many new technique in painting when i actually practice with them...nobody become an expert overnight...remember that
Just got meself a 1/100 "little white dragon" kit to "refresh" my skill after few years stop medeling, glad to say that it's coming back slowly. Trying to apply those technique learnt from the net recently. Have to say that I appreciate all the help you guys provide. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

0.0390sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:48 PM