Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

clivengu
post Jul 5 2007, 01:19 AM

1,850 posts

Hey Vinc... is really great for u to create a tread Like this. Should be very usefull. Especially with a Sifu like you here. thumbup.gif

I have a question bout CHrome, Silver, aluminium or watever in these catagories..
Are you guys able to get wat you really want for all these effect?

Lets take example.. Now i want to repaint My Leader Class Optimus Prime... those grey plastic parts to CHrome finish like in d movie.. If I just buy the CHROME paint then i will surely get the effect? I dont really want silver.. with those tiny glittering thing in it after paint.

Kinda confusing when choosing paint between all these Chrome-silver-aluminium-metalgun..etc pls share some tips here

clivengu
post Jul 5 2007, 09:48 PM

1,850 posts

This is such a COmplicated knowledge. Ha ha..

I just bought mr color-metalic-Silver-primary.... I guess this one is the lacquer paint right? d one with more special cap for us to turn.

Havent try it out. But since im going to paint on transformer..which involve a lot of hand touching mayb scratching... is best to use this lacquer paint compare to acrylic paint as d paint is stronger... Please correct me if im wrong

Can I directly Painted on top of d plastic? Or should I need to Primer it first? Like gundam-----sand-primer--paint--topcoat.?

clivengu
post Jul 6 2007, 06:02 PM

1,850 posts

clivengu
post Jul 8 2007, 08:04 PM

1,850 posts

clivengu
post Jul 9 2007, 03:39 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Jul 9 2007, 09:30 AM)
try topcoat it...

why u mix with the lighter fluid anyway...
I thought i seen some1 said using Zippo for lacquer paint? am i Wrong oredi ? Or should i just stick with using thinner?

So use lacquer paint + thinner + Mr retarded Milo =for brushing?

As for Topcoat.. i got a question.. is Topcoat = Clear Paint... are they almost d same? Because i Notice when i used Clear paint last time (brush) Over sometime.. when dust started to collect on top of the clear painted parts.. It begins to MERGE into the clear surface--so is impossible to clean them off.. Now my MG strike has bcome Blacker than it should b.

If i use SUPER CLEAR TOPCOAT.. will this happen? shocking.gif
clivengu
post Jul 9 2007, 04:23 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Jul 9 2007, 03:43 PM)
u use those lighter liquid with enamel base paint

lacquer stick with thinner or leveling thinner enough already.

topcoat are not clear paint..they are not the same..
i dont think that topcoat can merge with a dust...

clear paint most of the time are use for those to make wet effect looks..not for final protecting layer like topcoat.
Alamak..is for enamel ah.. mayb bcause of tat my metal paint cant stick..I'll try buying gloss topcoat later. That means even if we Spray on normal Matte surface.. it will comes out Glossy right? I wanna paint my TRuck so that it look Solid n glossy.

Comparing acrylic n lacquer.. actually is ther much difference when comes to durability? or are they gonna be d same after we spray topcoat.. Thanks vincC for ur tips thumbup.gif
clivengu
post Jul 10 2007, 10:43 PM

1,850 posts

I try using Topcoat (spray can yesterday) and i found that it is so hard to control... Any tips on using dis can spray? I put d can in warm water for a while b4 using.. n when spray..is from 20-30 cms away.

I cant figure how much do i need to spray.. as d spraying power seems so STRONG that i feel like i will ned to do everything in a very short time.
clivengu
post Jul 31 2007, 02:09 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Jul 31 2007, 12:08 AM)
hi, I am looking for a chrome paint but the closest i can find is metallic silver.

Anyone know how to get better results than metallic silver ?
I'm also looking for Chorme paint.. so far.. the best i come across is the gundam marker: GM100(300).. introduce by XL staff.. Good service..at first i donno n want to bought the Silver Marker..than he introduce me this.. n even test out for me.

The Result are quite good..compare to other metalic paint.. but there are 2 problems with dis marker:

1st. the metal paint wont really dry ..n can be easily wipe away by ur hand.. so you must coat it ..
2nd: very good for small parts like guns.. details.. anything bigger than a surface of 1 inch x inch you can easily see the pen stroke.
clivengu
post Aug 6 2007, 10:15 PM

1,850 posts

I want to try using Mr surfacer 1200 with my Airbrush. (nvr try lacquer paint for AB b4) but do i still need to add Mr surfacer with thinner? or can i just use it directly from the bottle?
clivengu
post Aug 7 2007, 09:47 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Aug 6 2007, 10:37 PM)
add with thinner...i hate using surfacer with AB...it somehow always clog my AB and hard to clear it back

me always end up with the spray can only...but bloody expensive one can and most of the time we use surfacer alot!
upps, So vinc u always use the Can Spray to prime ur model? The last time(oso my first time) prime my BB freedom has almost use finish the whole can of 170ml Primer 1000. Feel very light now.. Usually how many models u can use for a can of primer?
clivengu
post Aug 9 2007, 11:09 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Aug 8 2007, 12:52 PM)
actually no need to spray your kit with primer till the whole thing completely grey one...i just spray thin layer only so it cover up the sanding marks and also some seams line...

even the bottle one and use with AB..one bottle can only last for 2 or 3 MGs only...cans also around that much is you completely turn your model into grey...lol...

OIC good tips. actually the main reason for Primer is to make the paint able to stick strongly to d model n wont easily scratch off right? So thin layer of primer will do? I did spray till every single corner is in grey colour.ha ha..wasting.. unsure.gif
clivengu
post Aug 10 2007, 01:14 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Aug 10 2007, 01:08 PM)
Just wanna share this information. If you are confused which types of paint to be used in your model, this might help
Painting Tips
a very good introduction of d different type of paints thumbup.gif nvr come across enamel paint b4.
clivengu
post Aug 14 2007, 12:34 AM

1,850 posts

FINALLY, I have manage to take my courage to try Lacquer Paint with AB. I just test up the front silver part of my OP truck. This is the first time i successfully:

PRIMER + LACQUER PAINT + TOPCOAT Gloss

The paint feel so solid and durable. GOod satisfaction thumbup.gif Although somehow.. I get this kind of rough surface on certain parts.. Im not sure is it bcause i sprayed too far.. thus the paint dry b4 reaching d surface of d model.. or bcause of the dusty surrounding.

The silver paint on the truck front doesnt really turn out like CHrome.. (but still better than original grey plastic). I tried another technique on the Tanks at both side of the truck with... Chrome markers + Topcoat Gloss. The effect is nice.. but i can only apply that to small parts. As markers tend to leave ugly brush strokes on the large surface. I still left the Big LOWER TANKS unpainted and was wondering which technique should i use.

After finishing all the CHrome parts.. I was thinking to make the Truck Bonnet (the blue yellow flame part) glossy. If any1 has OP leader class like this, u will notice some parts of d truck is painted with really glossy finish. while some other parts are just unpainted mold colour...very plastic. I wonder how to make these part to have the glossy effect as the originally painted parts. The way I use TOPCOAT GLOSS on the silver surface doesnt seem to show the Hi GLoss effect. or should i Spray SUper Clear on it first, follow by TOPcoat?

I wan the Gloss effect like EVA REvoltech series. Gloss n look heavy..

Sifu.. pls comment

Meantime.. im also starting on my rx 78 oyw project .. but With Handpainting with Tamiya Acrylic... Can see some brush stroke marks.. sweat.gif Anyway..i might make some wheatering effect to it.. so hope those can cover them up.

0.6508sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:05 PM