Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

aztechx
post Jul 4 2007, 03:19 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Jul 4 2007, 10:04 AM)
bottle paint - RM6
spray can - RM30
lining markers - RM9
surfacer spray can - RM24
surfacer bottle - RM15
thinner 110 - RM15
leveling thinner 110 - RM16
masking neo - RM15
metal paint series - RM9
topcoat - rm30
masking tape - RM12
tamiya cutter - RM89
craft knife - RM16

now...you need to do your homework and scout everywhere if you wanna find cheap stuff or the stuff that you want...

just sitting around and wait people to mouth feed you wont get you anything...
hello guys..im relli new in modelling..plan to start off this hobby with a few beautiful planes..my question is..
1)how do i practice my painting skills before moving on to the big thing?
2)is airbrush a must?a bit expensive for me..ive noticed the spray can type of paint at model shops..can i use those to replace the airbrushes?
3)do i need normal paintbrush?
3)what are the basic tools i might need to start painting or building a model?

i dun know anything and it makes me feel bad.. sad.gif
aztechx
post Jul 7 2007, 03:02 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

i have done sum research on the net..and need to ask sum advice about painting..shud i paint b4 assembling or do i finish the whole thing before i start painting?they recommended 'paint as you go'..and about the paint brushes..its not advisable to use cheap panda brand brushes right?and finally..if i use acrylic paint and botched my model..thinner will do the job right?

btw..if u guys have any good websites for beginners(real beginners tongue.gif)..please share it with me yea...thanks in advance! smile.gif
aztechx
post Jul 8 2007, 12:28 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

thanks for the feedback guys!
btw..all my models will be airplanes and which kind of part i can paint straight on the tree?
ive came across sum confusing terms..seems to occur alot but din describe what exactly is it..

1)base coat/top coat
2)primer (???)
4)decal settling agent

and the acrylic paints..do i just dip and paint or need to mix with water etc?how many coats are needed?
ive read that a paint shud be left to dry for one whole day..does this apply to finished painting or between coats?
will be visiting Hobby HQ in city square tmrw..any last advice? tongue.gif

wet paper and dry paper whats the difference?i read from a website where he sandpaper after painted..wont be scratched meh liddat?

here

This post has been edited by aztechx: Jul 8 2007, 02:08 AM
aztechx
post Jul 9 2007, 09:04 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

erm..need to ask sum basic questions here..say if i paint over panel lines..will the paint cover the panel lines?and if say a certain area i paint double layers..will the difference be obvious?i mean the double layered surface will be slightly higher right?sorry..ive never painted before.. tongue.gif

0.0374sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:17 AM