126 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

noob4life
post Jan 9 2008, 07:06 PM

162 posts

Eh no one answer my question .. ? tongue.gif

Well ill ask again... can Mr. Mark Setter be used to apply over decals instead of BEFORE applying decals ? If not, wat others can be used to do this ? Most of my decals are peeling off... and its kinda ugly... sad.gif
Thnx in advance.
fyire
post Jan 9 2008, 07:22 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(noob4life @ Jan 9 2008, 06:53 PM)
Lol bro ur shield too many bubbles... kinda wierd leh.  tongue.gif  Personally i never knew how to remove air bubbles too.... but good job nonetheless...
well, the trick to removing bubbles is to avoid having them in the first place smile.gif Normally occurs when handpainting, and the brush splashes on the surface. Can be hard to avoid at times, so its very important to flatten them out with your brush before the paint dries. Otherwise you'll have to go and sand them away, and repaint that spot again.
heatdriv3
post Jan 9 2008, 07:25 PM

QUOTE(noob4life @ Jan 9 2008, 06:53 PM)
Lol bro ur shield too many bubbles... kinda wierd leh.  tongue.gif  Personally i never knew how to remove air bubbles too.... but good job nonetheless...
try give the whole kit a methanol bath treatment?
zheyuen
post Jan 10 2008, 03:39 PM

206 posts

hey one thng bout painting... i wan try handpainting... but nt sure which is the RITE paint... some say laquer...some say acrylic... i wan try acrylic coz it doesnt dry fast so basically i can fix my mistakes better...bt some say acrylic nt gud... so how?
XD... sry for my long wind post.
chriswoo
post Jan 10 2008, 04:24 PM

98 posts

noob4life - well u try use apply over decals it work perfectly for me ^.^ but to avoid from peeling off u need to top coat it then don't move so much at the decal area

zheyuen - well for hand painting in my experience laquer more easyer to control and better flat finishing then acrylic. ^.^

zero1st
post Jan 10 2008, 08:08 PM

QUOTE(noob4life @ Jan 9 2008, 07:06 PM)
Eh no one answer my question .. ?  tongue.gif

Well ill ask again... can Mr. Mark Setter be used to apply over decals instead of BEFORE applying decals ?  If not, wat others can be used to do this ? Most of my decals are peeling off... and its kinda ugly...  sad.gif
Thnx in advance.
Mr. Mark Setter is to apply under the decal not over ..... because Mark Setter is to help the decal stick more better to the kit surface so if u apply over the decal it will not have any effect ...... the 1 that apply over decal is call Mr. Mark softener ......

as for decal peeling off problem chriswoo has answer most of it
noob4life
post Jan 10 2008, 08:47 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Jan 10 2008, 04:24 PM)
QUOTE(zero1st @ Jan 10 2008, 08:08 PM)

Wow... powerful insights from masters... tongue.gif Ok i will try it liao haha. Thnx again !
fyire
post Jan 10 2008, 09:21 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Jan 10 2008, 03:39 PM)
hey one thng bout painting... i wan try handpainting... but nt sure which is the RITE paint... some say laquer...some say acrylic... i wan try acrylic coz it doesnt dry fast so basically i can fix my mistakes better...bt some say acrylic nt gud... so how?
XD... sry for my long wind post.
Acrylics r more forgiving than lacquers, in the sense that its easier for you to strip off the paint and redo it again should you mess up big time. This can be rather useful especially if you're new to painting.

However one problem with acrylics is that the buildup of paint is thicker than compared to lacquers, and it don't adhere as well to the plastic compared to lacquers, so you may get paint scratching off at locations where parts rub against each other.

Added on January 10, 2008, 9:22 pm
QUOTE(chriswoo @ Jan 10 2008, 04:24 PM)
zheyuen - well for hand painting in my experience laquer more easyer to control and better flat finishing then acrylic. ^.^
The flatness of the finishing actually depends a lot on the brand of paint too. Take vallejo acrylics for example, where you actually get ppl complaining about it being too flat smile.gif

This post has been edited by fyire: Jan 10 2008, 09:22 PM
zheyuen
post Jan 10 2008, 11:24 PM

206 posts

wad brand mostly u guys use if u guys use laquer?
fyire
post Jan 10 2008, 11:38 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Jan 10 2008, 11:24 PM)
wad brand mostly u guys use if u guys use laquer?
been using Mr Hobby. The most readily available ones. Mr Hobby has got both lacquers and acrylics, where the acrylics r the bottles with the flat caps, while the lacquers r the ones with the mohawk like cap. Make sure to get the right types, as its a rather common mistake to buy the wrong type by accident
zoidx_chung
post Jan 11 2008, 12:46 AM

道可道,非常道!
791 posts

a hand paint bb gundam using lacquers paints

z3r0717
post Jan 11 2008, 06:53 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

Does anyone have a nice gundam battle damage tutorial link to share? icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by z3r0717: Jan 11 2008, 06:53 PM
ken811
post Jan 11 2008, 07:55 PM

have question here,
I found a printing shop that print transparent sticker, can i used it for custom decals?
earlydevilex
post Jan 11 2008, 08:30 PM

QUOTE(ken811 @ Jan 11 2008, 07:55 PM)
have question here,
I found a printing shop that print transparent sticker, can i used it for custom decals?
print yourself la.. buy the transparent de sticker then spray clear on it then only print or print le spray clear..forget..
noob4life
post Jan 11 2008, 09:11 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(earlydevilex @ Jan 11 2008, 08:30 PM)
print yourself la.. buy the transparent de sticker then  spray clear on it then only print or print le spray clear..forget..
Sorry i do not understand wat u mean. sweat.gif
zheyuen
post Jan 11 2008, 11:16 PM

206 posts

erm... whn i just started modeliing i tried handpaint b4;..just simply use from bottle and paint...i got laquear... which i jus kno it is coz u guys told me XD... i rmb ppl say dun use that type for handpainting...but now like masa telah berubah...XD... but is laquer flat... i see back the one i paint...like shiny oni... or mayb isit i didnt thin it last time?
ken811
post Jan 11 2008, 11:19 PM

QUOTE(earlydevilex @ Jan 11 2008, 08:30 PM)
print yourself la.. buy the transparent de sticker then  spray clear on it then only print or print le spray clear..forget..
heh?
i print there RM6 per A4
i guess print straight at the shop better la
other than print decals can print for my assignment etc... fit everything into 1 A4 to cut cost
ShinAsakura
post Jan 14 2008, 05:45 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

hm...anyone use tis product on ur gunpla b4? i dunno whether it's powder or paint or act like topcoat...
result:
2nd n 3rd are using tis product.
Source here
jz asking if anyone know bout tis haha...

This post has been edited by ShinAsakura: Jan 14 2008, 05:45 PM
zheyuen
post Jan 14 2008, 10:51 PM

206 posts

it looks metalic...XD...looks cool...XD...i wonder wads tat... one mre thng guys... which is the FLATTEST paint to use?
Gundam87
post Jan 15 2008, 01:01 AM

Hi everyone,

I also tried out handpainting recently with mr hobby acrylic paint, but i find that it does not really stick well to the plastic.

I thinned it with water, and when i paint it on the plastic, the paint always flow downwards, what is the reason for this?

And how do you all paint the small gold parts of BB gundam? Very hard to paint small parts using a brush leh.. haha.

126 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:23 AM