126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

vincent09
post Nov 22 2007, 08:57 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

I see, then need to pratice alot biggrin.gif Hmm plan to get some of them (Gundam Marker) to play play around. SD gundam less colour T-T.
ShinAsakura
post Nov 22 2007, 09:47 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Nov 22 2007, 08:23 PM)
But i heard some of the info that say can't erase.. 
But how to erase the wrong marker painting area? I just now waiting dry and use cutter scratch it.
erm, bout marker u can erase it with the Gundam Marker Eraser (dunno correct name or not, i got 1) or any other thingy which i dunno...
bout the real touch marker, i oso got a few, u can even rub it off with ur fingers or eraser...
edan1979
post Nov 22 2007, 10:09 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Nov 22 2007, 08:57 PM)
I see, then need to pratice alot biggrin.gif  Hmm plan to get some of them (Gundam Marker) to play play around. SD gundam less colour T-T.
you can use masking tape to cover the parts.. make it easier to play play with color... just need to add a little time.... icon_rolleyes.gif its just like you want to airbrush.. need to cover some part... painting also can use same teknik.
vincent09
post Nov 22 2007, 10:41 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Ok i get it, biggrin.gif Masking rclxms.gif
But how bout after use gundam marker color + lining, is it will easy drop by touching it ???
After modeling i like to play with them biggrin.gif just like kids biggrin.gif
ShinAsakura
post Nov 22 2007, 10:52 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

^ cute biggrin.gif
wat u mean by "easy drop"? the parts or wat o_O?
alucard_my
post Nov 23 2007, 01:43 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Aug 23 2007, 12:10 AM)
i) Cut out the plastic piece from the runner
Guess everyone start with this one  hmm.gif

ii) Sand it with grade 400 first then proceed with either 600 or 800 grade paper
i used 600 and then 1500/2000. normally finished up using art knife first before sanding.

iii) Apply Mr Surfacer which is a primer (not very sure what is the difference between Mr Surface 500/1000/1200)
bigger the number, smaller the paint particles and get smoother surface

iv) Start painting (it's okay to use Acrylic type?)
i start with lacquer. acrylic should be working too.

v) Weathering (chalk pastel will do fine rite?)
most ppl recommanded enamel paint. chalk pastel or tamiya weathering kit work just fine.

vi) Put on the decal?
i saw some ppl putting decal before weathing.

vii) Apply Topcoat (Flat version if u prefer dull and glossy if u like shinny)
some ppl suggest topcoated before weathering. in case something happen during the weathering, u still have ur kits protected.

I am newbie too, just sharing my idea.
1. I normally cut it out from the sprue, then cut off the remaining carefully using xacto knife. If it's smooth, then just leave it, else just sand it with the finest grit you get. I normally cut out the sand paper and stick it to an ice cream stick.

2. You can either go for primer (which is good to see uneveness) or just soak it in soap water to remove all the demould agent left on the plastic. Try to scrub it using some toothbrush.

3. I've never use primer before as laquer = thinner = dissolves plastic. So Mr. colour mixed with mr. colour thinner = good bond on the plastic parts.

4. I've never do weathering..prefer it to be original colour and clean..heh heh..but will do different tones.

5. Decals can be accurately put on to the kit by cutting it out, and placing it on the kit, then use a pencil, preferable 2B or equivalent and just sketch along the decals.

6. Top coat you can either go for acryllic floor cleaner thinned with mr. colour thinner, or you can get Mr. Colour semi gloss or super gloss for your coat.

I'm using enamel based tamiya colour to do my panel line washing. I've tried oil paste before but it was messy. Anyone tried with tamiya water based colour?
erh_teo
post Nov 23 2007, 02:33 PM

alucard..
wat do u mean by "I've never use primer before as laquer = thinner = dissolves plastic"? smile.gif

as far as i know, most of the primers meant for gunpla are lacquer-base.

anyway, the decals u mentioned is the dry-transfer rite? jus abit curious tongue.gif, y need to use pencil (u mentioned preferably 2B, is there any significant help?)

and how can u use acrylic floor CLEANER as top coat?
isn't those floor POLISH?

Added on November 23, 2007, 2:37 pmi assume the 1 u r refering is Future Floor Acrylics?
FFA is not a cleaning agent, it's just a diluted solutions of clear acrylics smile.gif

This post has been edited by erh_teo: Nov 23 2007, 02:37 PM
zheyuen
post Nov 23 2007, 02:50 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(zero1st @ Nov 22 2007, 06:58 PM)
everything is possible ger .....
marker style shading

this is the marker set that they r using ......

since the above way using marker is usable that also means using enamel hand paint is also possible .... just apply the edge and side with enamel paints then slowly blend the side to the center ..... then top coat it so that when doing lining the shading wont be rub off ........
cool...but still dun get it ... rclxub.gif ... i duno how to read japanese... btw...where to get that marker...and i oso want to knw where to get gundam weathering marker...the one like rusty brown colour and others...
erh_teo
post Nov 23 2007, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Nov 22 2007, 03:38 PM)
isit possible to handpaint shading... or using spray can?
at 1st i oso tot no

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Nov 22 2007, 05:53 PM)
from what i've been told...
Shading can only be achieve by AB but spray cans not sure.. handpaint definitely no
at 2nd thought, i oso think no

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Nov 22 2007, 06:13 PM)
^yeah, vince told me b4 tat shading/max technique can only be achieve by using AB
by 3rd thought, i can almost confirm cannot d

QUOTE(zero1st @ Nov 22 2007, 06:58 PM)
everything is possible ger .....
marker style shading

since the above way using marker is usable that also means using enamel hand paint is also possible .... just apply the edge and side with enamel paints then slowly blend the side to the center ..... then top coat it so that when doing lining the shading wont be rub off ........
then.. WTH shocking.gif
but it is really fun when u realise in modelling world, nothing is impossible, maybe just too HARD to achieve tongue.gif
at one time, it was a hit when alot of pro modellers (esp those japs) were doing washing and weathering without using airbrush, not even with any paint, just markers shocking.gif
rili want to go that far meh.. rclxub.gif

even those dry-transfer decals, pro-modellers were saying to me, once u rub it on, cannot use again (one time apply only) but check check it oso can be removed and re-use again shocking.gif

well.. my guess is that the only thing that limit us is ourselve, if u think u can.. even the skies aren't the limit blush.gif

cheers thumbup.gif

Added on November 23, 2007, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(zheyuen @ Nov 23 2007, 02:50 PM)
cool...but still dun get it ... rclxub.gif ... i duno how to read japanese... btw...where to get that marker...and i oso want to knw where to get gundam weathering marker...the one like rusty brown colour and others...
beg my pardon.. i can't read japanese too tongue.gif
but i think those aren't japanese, the explanation text should be chinese rite? (i can't read chinese either.. poor me cry.gif )

have u try xl-shop or auntie lenny's shop, they shud carry some markers, though quite limited.

blush.gif not everytime u must get exactly the same thing of what others have use to achieve a similar effect

with some imaginations and experience, something else could be explored, namely art shop markers (for rendering drawings), i saw steadler/ or forgot the name, also came out large variety of color makers

spent some more time in art store, bookshop, hardware shop, sometimes u'll find useful tools there too:)

This post has been edited by erh_teo: Nov 23 2007, 03:07 PM
zheyuen
post Nov 23 2007, 03:23 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(erh_teo @ Nov 23 2007, 02:56 PM)
at 1st i oso tot no
at 2nd thought, i oso think no
by 3rd thought, i can almost confirm cannot d
then.. WTH shocking.gif
but it is really fun when u realise in modelling world, nothing is impossible, maybe just too HARD to achieve tongue.gif
at one time, it was a hit when alot of pro modellers (esp those japs) were doing washing and weathering without using airbrush, not even with any paint, just markers shocking.gif
rili want to go that far meh.. rclxub.gif

even those dry-transfer decals, pro-modellers were saying to me, once u rub it on, cannot use again (one time apply only) but check check it oso can be removed and re-use again shocking.gif

well.. my guess is that the only thing that limit us is ourselve, if u think u can.. even the skies aren't the limit blush.gif

cheers thumbup.gif

Added on November 23, 2007, 3:07 pm

beg my pardon.. i can't read japanese too tongue.gif
but i think those aren't japanese, the explanation text should be chinese rite? (i can't read chinese either.. poor me cry.gif )

have u try xl-shop or auntie lenny's shop, they shud carry some markers, though quite limited.

blush.gif not everytime u must get exactly the same thing of what others have use to achieve a similar effect

with some imaginations and experience, something else could be explored, namely art shop markers (for rendering drawings), i saw steadler/ or forgot the name, also came out large variety of color makers

spent some more time in art store, bookshop, hardware shop, sometimes u'll find useful tools there too:)
u kno any art shops in kl? i heard ther is one in ue3...
whn i go shopping ill surely go to bookstores and hardware areas... and so far i actually came up with something i duno wad it is... with a golden gundam marker... i makes it looks a little scratched..but still gold looks too "new"... so i want to get the weatthering marker...mayb will be better... but usually how u guys weather...lets say... with weathering pastels?(and how the art pastels i heard tat can replace it look like?) sry to ask too much...
vincent09
post Nov 23 2007, 03:37 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

But guys, do you think those painting marker is same as gundam marker ?
fyire
post Nov 24 2007, 02:33 AM

9,270 posts

Me latest completed project. One of the classic fatboys smile.gif

edit: argh.. just realized that I posted in the wrong thread...

VincC454, can help me move to the right one? Sorry ya? kinda late at night, and got careless...

This post has been edited by fyire: Nov 24 2007, 02:37 AM
boltguard
post Nov 24 2007, 04:30 PM

hey guys, need some help here, i'm gonna try something a bit crazy here, never done it before though tongue.gif

this is the front body cover for rx78 oyw
see those red lines? i'm planning to "potong" it but i cant just simply potong it, can i? tongue.gif
so is there any advise of how am i gonna get it cut? laugh.gif

thx laugh.gif
edan1979
post Nov 24 2007, 06:58 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

I'm have never mod before.. but I think it can be cut safely using art knife... or p-knife... cut slowly...
alucard_my
post Nov 24 2007, 07:55 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(erh_teo @ Nov 23 2007, 02:33 PM)
alucard..
wat do u mean by "I've never use primer before as laquer = thinner = dissolves plastic"? smile.gif

as far as i know, most of the primers meant for gunpla are lacquer-base.

anyway, the decals u mentioned is the dry-transfer rite? jus abit curious tongue.gif, y need to use pencil (u mentioned preferably 2B, is there any significant help?)

and how can u use acrylic floor CLEANER as top coat?
isn't those floor POLISH?

Added on November 23, 2007, 2:37 pmi assume the 1 u r refering is Future Floor Acrylics?
FFA is not a cleaning agent, it's just a diluted solutions of clear acrylics smile.gif
Laquer = thinner, and all thinner melts plastics in a way or two. I have a newbie friend who even tried out industrial grade thinner on his sacrificial gundam. Works, but the surface it not that unform. If you are using Mr. Colour's thinner which is meant for airbrushing, try to drop a drop or two of Mr. Retarder to reduce 'spider webs' from you airbrush. Or you can mix in a ratio of 60-70% thinner to 40-30% paints (My method).

Yup..I like dry transfer more than wet ones. Wet ones are a real mess. 2B pencil does not do anything. If you use a pencil to sketch along the decal decoration meant to be transfered to the kit, you can actually see the sketches made by your pencil. In another word, you'll know which area of the decals you have yet to fully 'transfer' to the kit.

It is true. It is for floor cleaning. However, there are some modellers out there using this top coat to give a very hard and durable as well as shiny coating. I've never tried it though, coz you need to buy a whole bottle which cost around RM40 or so.

boltguard
post Nov 24 2007, 08:11 PM

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Nov 24 2007, 06:58 PM)
I'm have never mod before.. but I think it can be cut safely using art knife... or p-knife... cut slowly...
lol, at first i was thinking like heat up the hobby knife, then cut it tongue.gif guess i was wrong biggrin.gif
z3r0717
post Nov 24 2007, 08:42 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

doh.gif no nid heat the knife one la...
y u wan to cut it 1sT? separate half?
tat's a saw for gundam for u to cut .. u can use design knife but need to be careful..
edan1979
post Nov 24 2007, 08:54 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

QUOTE(boltguard @ Nov 24 2007, 08:11 PM)
lol, at first i was thinking like heat up the hobby knife, then cut it  tongue.gif  guess i was wrong  biggrin.gif
lol.. heat up iron + plastic = disaster... cry.gif
earlydevilex
post Nov 24 2007, 11:30 PM

QUOTE(boltguard @ Nov 24 2007, 08:11 PM)
lol, at first i was thinking like heat up the hobby knife, then cut it  tongue.gif  guess i was wrong  biggrin.gif
last time i also want heat knife biggrin.gif then i no have la( duh...) go buy modeller saw...many piece 25rm... af hobby got sell..very easy cut...also got another type of bigger saw which i am using now^^
erh_teo
post Nov 26 2007, 09:41 AM

QUOTE(alucard_my @ Nov 24 2007, 07:55 PM)
Laquer = thinner, and all thinner melts plastics in a way or two. I have a newbie friend who even tried out industrial grade thinner on his sacrificial gundam. Works, but the surface it not that unform. If you are using Mr. Colour's thinner which is meant for airbrushing, try to drop a drop or two of Mr. Retarder to reduce 'spider webs' from you airbrush. Or you can mix in a ratio of 60-70% thinner to 40-30% paints (My method).

Yup..I like dry transfer more than wet ones. Wet ones are a real mess. 2B pencil does not do anything. If you use a pencil to sketch along the decal decoration meant to be transfered to the kit, you can actually see the sketches made by your pencil. In another word, you'll know which area of the decals you have yet to fully 'transfer' to the kit.

It is true. It is for floor cleaning. However, there are some modellers out there using this top coat to give a very hard and durable as well as shiny coating. I've never tried it though, coz you need to buy a whole bottle which cost around RM40 or so.
thanks for the clarifications.. smile.gif

well.. some thinner does melt plastics, coz most of those for industrial use are usu a mix of chemical (organic solvents) instead of single type. we just can't be sure to use the same type everytime we buy a new thinner bottle fr hardware. so my rule of thumb is to always test the thinner on plastics before using blush.gif

even so, so thinner melts better than others, which can be seen by looking the reaction of the paint + thinner. some paint dissolve but leaving some small small droplets/ coaggulations blush.gif which is not good.

oh.. for the 2B, yeah.. tongue.gif nothing to do wth the lead, just for safe-tracking tongue.gif how can i miss that point

126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:59 PM