easy n dun leave marks around it
Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here
Sep 23 2007, 02:41 AM
176 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: KL |
i like dry-transfer decals the most though.
easy n dun leave marks around it |
Sep 23 2007, 11:23 AM
4,077 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 한국 |
no doubt dry transfer more easy to use than water base...but still the nicest among all is the water base one...cause it stick and leave no marks at all...leaving it looks like been paint or printed on the body...
but applying water base decal is one shitty job |
Sep 24 2007, 02:20 PM
98 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
hehe so far my experiment with hand painting is succesful (i think) well AB paint more nicer and easyer but hand painting sure give u 100% full control of ur painting kits but need some pratice ^.^
Sep 24 2007, 02:38 PM
427 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
the only problem with hand painting is brush stroke might be visible for larger area. for smaller parts, hand painting still easier than AB
Sep 24 2007, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Sep 24 2007, 02:38 PM) the only problem with hand painting is brush stroke might be visible for larger area. for smaller parts, hand painting still easier than AB agree about some brush stroke might be visible but can fine it again if carefuly stroke just like mine ^.^ http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...entry13369879 |
Sep 25 2007, 11:08 AM
4,077 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 한국 |
please keep the thread clean...
thanks |
Sep 25 2007, 02:49 PM
1,788 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
erm anyone has tips regarding "air-bubbles"? i don't get it often but at times it happens. i'm wondering if its the water and paint ratio.
Sep 25 2007, 02:58 PM
7 posts Joined: May 2007 From: de'caves of rock! |
Sep 25 2007, 03:25 PM
yeap. only paint brushing. i don't have an airbrush tho.
Sep 25 2007, 03:48 PM
not sure can help u not, but bubbling usually happens bcoz:
1) brush is dirty and become hard/old 2) paint prob contaminated (paint mix with dirty brush/thinner) 3) when a not-so-suitable thinner is used (eg. alcohol) |
Sep 25 2007, 03:48 PM
well the paint got buble is because of too much tinner on it u need some sucker tinner massure tools for it to get more nicer and smooth paint
well i bought tamiya mixing color tool the at BTM at TM which is a bit expensive (can't find any other places except u buy AB come with it)but worth it after it save ur time and ur tinner when using. oh ya 1 thing i like to ask is where can i buy the BRUSH Cleaner Bottle something like this http://www.greatmodels.com/~smartcart/cgi/...tem_num=GUZGT35 any idea where to get it? my brush going spoil soon if i just use tinner to clean it This post has been edited by chriswoo: Sep 25 2007, 04:00 PM |
Sep 25 2007, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(erh_teo @ Sep 25 2007, 03:48 PM) not sure can help u not, but bubbling usually happens bcoz: hmm from your list i suspect it might be my brush. getting hardened day by day and of course its not an expensive brush. i got it from MPH for about rm0.70 each lol.1) brush is dirty and become hard/old 2) paint prob contaminated (paint mix with dirty brush/thinner) 3) when a not-so-suitable thinner is used (eg. alcohol) for paint mixing i use separate syringe and spoon from Mr Mixer 2 which i got from TM and only used hobby thinner tho. thanks a lot for the input. QUOTE well the paint got buble is because of too much tinner on it u need some sucker tinner massure tools for it to get more nicer and smooth paint well i bought tamiya mixing color tool the at BTM at TM which is a bit expensive (can't find any other places except u buy AB come with it)but worth it after it save ur time and ur tinner when using. oh ya 1 thing i like to ask is where can i buy the BRUSH Cleaner Bottle something like this http://www.greatmodels.com/~smartcart/cgi/...tem_num=GUZGT35 any idea where to get it? my brush going spoil soon if i just use tinner to clean it hmm at the moment i only use water to thin the paints since its mr hobby's acrylic type paints but there are times i had a drop or two of Mr.Retarder mild when i find the paints dry up too fast. Btw, the paint mixer you're talking about does it looked something like this?. |
Sep 25 2007, 04:41 PM
well nope not tat mixer
i use syringe(which i dunno the name just now) and spoon from Mr Mixer 2 from TM also i just use 5 spoon and 5 drop of mr hobby thinner then 1st brush and then left of 10 min at the fan then 2nd brush it become smooth like AB |
Sep 25 2007, 06:18 PM
well.. u can try with different variations such as :
diff brush (old vs new/good one) diff thinner coz it usually happens to my old paint:( if it's new paint, new brush, voila.. evrything works fine |
Sep 25 2007, 07:53 PM
tat why i trying to find tis item
http://www.greatmodels.com/~smartcart/cgi/...tem_num=GUZGT35 so tat the brush can last longer than normal |
Sep 25 2007, 09:23 PM
9,270 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere out there |
QUOTE(erh_teo @ Sep 25 2007, 03:48 PM) not sure can help u not, but bubbling usually happens bcoz: 4) stir your paints, instead of shaking them. Shaking will form microbubbles that may take a long time to settle, especially when acrylics r heavier than lacquer paints.1) brush is dirty and become hard/old 2) paint prob contaminated (paint mix with dirty brush/thinner) 3) when a not-so-suitable thinner is used (eg. alcohol) 5) use the right brush for the right surface. a flat brush on a flat surface works fine, but a flat brush on a surface with details will tend to form bubbles. For such surfaces, either use a round/pointed brush, or switch to a smaller flat. |
Sep 27 2007, 12:40 AM
950 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
hei im new to here...n i really wanted to paint like a pro like u guyz...
i bought an small airplane 1/144 n completed within 2 days with no decal or paint. now i got a 1/72 airplane...but was wondering whether to assemble 1st or paint it 1st...erm any idea? i went to bought from the shop...n the person is very frenly n he actually told ne that is up to our planning... so any suggestion? |
Sep 27 2007, 12:50 AM
259 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras |
QUOTE(leongtat @ Sep 27 2007, 12:40 AM) hei im new to here...n i really wanted to paint like a pro like u guyz... its is wise for u to assemble first so that u can plan the color scheme for ur plane...i bought an small airplane 1/144 n completed within 2 days with no decal or paint. now i got a 1/72 airplane...but was wondering whether to assemble 1st or paint it 1st...erm any idea? i went to bought from the shop...n the person is very frenly n he actually told ne that is up to our planning... so any suggestion? if its gonna be OOB build, the color scheme will be according to the box art and manual.. if u wanna custom paint it, assemble it is the 1st step so that u can plan the right color scheme for ur plane... assemble 1st so that u can clean those cut marks... uncleaned cut mark with ruin ur good paint job... have fun building and painting ur plane.. |
Sep 27 2007, 12:56 AM
950 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
thx duke_hunt
yeah i know but somtimes there is some sempit place where u cant paint so i juz afraid after i assemble everything i will ruin some small part when i try to reach it for painting. or i assemble half and den paint it half? hehe sorry im a noob |
Sep 27 2007, 01:01 AM
259 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras |
QUOTE(leongtat @ Sep 27 2007, 12:56 AM) thx duke_hunt thats the point of having multiple sized brushes...yeah i know but somtimes there is some sempit place where u cant paint so i juz afraid after i assemble everything i will ruin some small part when i try to reach it for painting. or i assemble half and den paint it half? hehe sorry im a noob and, sharp pointed tooth pick for the sempit areas where ur brush cant reach... oh, forgot to tell u one thing... it is best for u to cover the smaller and sempit area 1st, then level out with brush... so that u can have a better paint job.. This post has been edited by duke_hunt: Sep 27 2007, 01:03 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0264sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:16 PM |