126 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

temptation1314
post Mar 17 2008, 03:29 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

:S Looks like i need to go TM to get a design knife jor... No knife... hard to cover the seam lines...

Here's what I always do when assembling.

Use cutter to cut the pieces --> Use nail clipper to cut the remaining --> Cement on the place where seam lines will appear after you put 2 pieces into 1 --> Push tight ---> Cement ooze out, use design knife to cut ---> Sand

So far correct? sweat.gif
ewynn
post Mar 17 2008, 04:55 PM

83 posts

Is superglue a good alternative for cement? After sanding do i need to like ... repaint that part? Or just cover it with topcoat .. ?@_@

This post has been edited by ewynn: Mar 17 2008, 04:55 PM
edan1979
post Mar 17 2008, 05:14 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

usually need to repaint after sanding... unless you are super pro in sanding... lolz
fyire
post Mar 17 2008, 05:26 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(ewynn @ Mar 17 2008, 04:55 PM)
Is superglue a good alternative for cement? After sanding do i need to like ... repaint that part? Or just cover it with topcoat .. ?@_@
Superglue's good for the impatient, as it dries a lot faster than cement will dry, but it has got its downsides as well. Being fast drying also means that you're forced to work faster, so its easier to make mistakes. Also, for superglue, its a lot harder to sand off the excess that seeps through
zheyuen
post Mar 17 2008, 10:23 PM

206 posts

how long does it take for cement to bond?
future80
post Mar 17 2008, 10:43 PM

1,617 posts

hi,
wanto ask which spray can used to spray gundam?
which spray can in hardware shop are suitable?
ShinAsakura
post Mar 17 2008, 10:58 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Mar 17 2008, 03:29 PM)
:S Looks like i need to go TM to get a design knife jor... No knife... hard to cover the seam lines...

Here's what I always do when assembling.

Use cutter to cut the pieces --> Use nail clipper to cut the remaining --> Cement on the place where seam lines will appear after you put 2 pieces into 1 --> Push tight ---> Cement ooze out, use design knife to cut ---> Sand

So far correct? sweat.gif
try find for Olfa AK-1 art knife (yellow color) from Popular bookstore for RM18.90 or AF Hobby for RM26 i think doh.gif

QUOTE(future80 @ Mar 17 2008, 10:43 PM)
hi,
wanto ask which spray can used to spray gundam?
which spray can in hardware shop are suitable?
sweat.gif deja vu. back pages got info.

anyway, almost all tamiya/mr.hobby spray can be used, while Nippon Pylox which are available fr hardware store oso kinda gd.
future80
post Mar 17 2008, 11:14 PM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Mar 17 2008, 10:58 PM)
anyway, almost all tamiya/mr.hobby spray can be used, while Nippon Pylox which are available fr hardware store oso kinda gd.
thanks bro, actually i hav viewed the previos post but to many post are there rclxub.gif ,make me blur only
i wil try looking fo this--'Nippon Pylox which are available fr hardware store'

fyire
post Mar 18 2008, 12:04 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Mar 17 2008, 10:23 PM)
how long does it take for cement to bond?
cement works a bit differently from superglue, in the sense that superglue glues the pieces together. cement actually melts the plastic slightly for the 2 pieces of plastic to bond with each other.

the bonding process starts the moment u press the pieces together, the bond will form within seconds. But the strength of the bond wont be that strong immediately, as it will take time for it to set.

u should be able to sand within 10 minutes, but the actual setting of the cement may take longer.
boltguard
post Mar 18 2008, 12:42 PM

my secret to success >> rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

normal assemble till completion, then cut excess parts, cement parts, cut excess cement thingy, sand over em, surface em > wait till dry, handpaint / spray / marker em > wait till dry, lining em, then topcoat 1st layer, decals & stickers in, topcoat 2nd layer ^^

anything i missed? rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
MyKy44
post Mar 18 2008, 01:23 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

what about covering seam lines with putty? I'm no expert in that yet, but thought i read it somewhere here b4...
boltguard
post Mar 18 2008, 01:33 PM

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Mar 18 2008, 01:23 PM)
what about covering seam lines with putty? I'm no expert in that yet, but thought i read it somewhere here b4...
well, i've never bought any putty thus i dunno how to use it tongue.gif tongue.gif , i think i oughta buy one and try experimenting on my own xxD xxD
MyKy44
post Mar 18 2008, 01:35 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

Haha me neither. Thought will use it in my next project only. Currently AB'ing my Wing 0, changing the colour scheme a bit.
boltguard
post Mar 18 2008, 01:46 PM

lawl, actually i just wanna ask, about the nippon pylox spray, is it best if i spray before i surface or after i surface? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif, coz i wanna change the colour scheme for meh Chicken Unit 01 & Unit 02 biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
z3r0717
post Mar 18 2008, 01:53 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

must spray after surfacer if not the paint easily peels off
maxim.Freaks
post Mar 18 2008, 02:34 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(boltguard @ Mar 18 2008, 02:46 PM)
lawl, actually i just wanna ask, about the nippon pylox spray, is it best if i spray before i surface or after i surface? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif, coz i wanna change the colour scheme for meh Chicken Unit 01 & Unit 02 biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
if u spray then only apply surfacer.. then how is it going to look like... doh.gif sweat.gif
darklancer
post Mar 18 2008, 05:55 PM

2 layer of topcoat? why?

when applying top coat, do u guys detach the parts eg, head, arms n legs from the main body and spray them separately or just spray ?
noob4life
post Mar 18 2008, 07:00 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(darklancer @ Mar 18 2008, 05:55 PM)
2 layer of topcoat? why?

when applying top coat, do u guys detach the parts eg, head, arms n legs from the main body and spray them separately or just spray ?
Its better to separate them if ur not good at estimating ... u separate the parts, then spray it all around. if u dont separate, u might leave out a few spot on ur kit when u spray, im sure u dont want that to happen.

what i usually do is, i take out all the armor parts, the n spray the internal frame as a whole piece... then i spray the armor pieces 1 by 1. quite tedious la, but you protect the internal frame from paint chipping...

This post has been edited by noob4life: Mar 18 2008, 07:00 PM
darklancer
post Mar 18 2008, 07:21 PM

when comes to spraying, seems tat everyone put the parts on a stick, sate stick for malaysians, izit ok just to put the part on the ground and spray?

bout the sate sticks, wat do u guys put on them to make the parts stick on them?
ShinAsakura
post Mar 18 2008, 07:23 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

QUOTE(darklancer @ Mar 18 2008, 07:21 PM)
when comes to spraying, seems tat everyone put the parts on a stick, sate stick for malaysians, izit ok just to put the part on the ground and spray?

bout the sate sticks, wat do u guys put on them to make the parts stick on them?
you won't be able to get a decent layer of paint if put on the ground i suppose.
and btw, DON'T touch your kit after topcoat, not for at least a few hours later coz you need to wait them to be "matured" enough. that's what vince said to me last last time laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ShinAsakura: Mar 18 2008, 07:24 PM

126 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:22 PM