Super Noobs Help! [Thread V2], Post Your ULTRA Simple Questions Here

Fallen_D
post Jan 23 2008, 12:15 PM

74 posts

Hei guys,

My graphic card just gave up on me this morning. rclxm9.gif HURRAY rclxm9.gif Now i am looking for a suitable graphic card so i play C&C 3. Can you guys recommend me one which is not so expensive? notworthy.gif

My current PC spec is:

Motherboard : MS-7142
Processor : AMD Athlon™ 64 2800+ 1800mhz
Memory : 512mb DDR

I have a feeling, i need to upgrade something else in order to play C&C 3... hmm.gif

Anyway, thanx in advance...

-edited-

This post has been edited by Fallen_D: Jan 23 2008, 12:26 PM
Fallen_D
post Jan 24 2008, 04:19 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 23 2008, 06:51 PM)
wow....graphic card RIP u very happy sweat.gif

wat's ur budget first? i think 8600GT can ply C&C3 with descent performance i think, price is about 350-400
Hehehe... Got a GOOD reason to BUY a new one ma... brows.gif

I would like to know, whether can my m/board (MS-7142) support and fully utilize the PCI gc? I have been using AGP since day 1. And, my gawd, there more PCI gc out there compare to AGP. blink.gif

Najmods mention to choose the higher bit rate and the faster speed with less memory. But, there are so many brands out there, got Asus, Gigabyte, Sapphire, MSI, etc. Which brand is preferred for gaming? rclxub.gif

My budget is around RM 500.

Thanx in advance again. notworthy.gif
Fallen_D
post Jan 27 2008, 12:35 PM

74 posts

Sifu...

I got another noob question.... I was thinking of upgrading my processor since i am getting a new gc...

I notice most shops selling AMD Athlon X2 processors. Can my m/board support it? According to this website, it didn't mention anything about 'X2' in it...

Just wanna confirm, can i use that...? hmm.gif
Fallen_D
post Jan 29 2008, 02:50 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 29 2008, 11:58 AM)
as long as

1. the slot is there for you to put
2. enough power to use the card

yes, you can use. simple as that.
Power? How and where do i check that?
Fallen_D
post Feb 1 2008, 08:37 PM

74 posts

Hmm... Sifus...

Last noob question from regarding graphic card... Can i use either this gc or this gc on my mobo?

Thanx in advance.... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Fallen_D
post Feb 10 2008, 11:55 AM

74 posts

Sifus...

I got a big problem... Some of u might remember that i have the intention to get a new GC...

I didn't get myself a Geforce gc but an ATI gc. (last minute shopping in Pyramid, only can find ATI gc) Anyway, i got myself a Sapphire Radeon 9600 Pro gc. Once i installed it in the computer, everything runs BUT, it hangs often. It even hangs when i set a higher resolutions!

I even tested it with a game Fate/Stay night and it hanged in 20 seconds after running the game. Oh, it even lags when i scroll down the webpage.

So, erm, did i buy a wrong gc for my pc?? Please advise. FYI, this is my mobo.

Thanx in advance...
Fallen_D
post Feb 10 2008, 05:20 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Feb 10 2008, 12:28 PM)
bro, do you install driver for your gc ?
Yeah man, i got the latest driver from ATI website...
Fallen_D
post Feb 12 2008, 12:22 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(camel90 @ Feb 10 2008, 06:12 PM)
could it be ur PSU cannot givee enough power to gc?
How to i check whether do i have enuf power for it?

0.0431sec    1.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:47 PM