Renovations Home Appliances, Suggestion on Home Appliances

TSterryaw P
post May 28 2019, 11:15 AM, updated 7y ago

Probation

Hi Guys,
Newbie here~

Just here to get some suggestion or some your experience on how to choose your Home Appliances? Which including:

1) TV
2) AC
3) Fan
4) Washing Machine
5) Water Pump
6) Refrigerator
7) Oven
8) etc

Do your guys have any comment or which brand on which appliances will be the best experience for you?

Kindly need your guys suggestion for my house renovation smile.gif

thanks in advance.
BEANCOUNTER
post May 28 2019, 01:07 PM

20,146 posts

Depends on your budget lah....

You want brand name or just fhnctionality or cheapest possible?

U want to order from lazada or bulk purchase with one electric appliance company?

You want yr guests to visit yr house and be fill with jealousy on all the high end appliances you packed into yr house?
Bjorn1688
post May 28 2019, 02:54 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(terryaw @ May 28 2019, 11:15 AM)
Hi Guys,
Newbie here~
Just here to get some suggestion or some your experience on how to choose your Home Appliances? Which including:

1) TV
2) AC
3) Fan
4) Washing Machine
5) Water Pump
6) Refrigerator
7) Oven
8) etc
Do your guys have any comment or which brand on which appliances will be the best experience for you?

thanks in advance.
Depends on how deep your pockets are and what you value more.

But from 15+ years of buying appliances and having tenants abusing them here are my findings :-

1) TV : Panasonic, Sony and Philips are decent. Sharp, Samsung and LG aren't bad but expect them to last 5 years only.

2) AC : Panasonic will last you 5-10 years easy and with relatively low or no extra maintenance cost. Cheap? Midea is a good one to go for.

3) Fan : Dyson if you have the budget, else KDK and Panasonic. Cheaper range? Pensonic isn't bad.

4) I've been using Electrolux machines for a long time, they were good but these days don't touch them with a 10ft barge pole. Am sticking to Bosch, Teka and LG. Panasonic is good too but $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

5) Grundfos or Hitachi, though these days many good China made ones on the market that should not be written off.

6) Mitsubishi, Bosch or Hitachi. Miele, Liebherr and Smeg if you have very deep pockets. Else the usual Panasonic is good too.

7) Kitchen appliances : Cooker hoods = Fotile or Fujioh if Performance > Everything else. Electric hobs = Bosch or Teka. Dishwasher = Bosch or Teka. Oven = Teka or Bosch. Next tier = Electrosux, Rubine, Fagor & Haier. Low budget stuff = Elba.
ulala2
post May 28 2019, 06:50 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(terryaw @ May 28 2019, 11:15 AM)
Hi Guys,
Newbie here~

1) TV
2) AC
3) Fan
4) Washing Machine
5) Water Pump
6) Refrigerator
7) Oven
8) etc

thanks in advance.
It is very much depending what ur needs and wants.
What is the purpose for the unit? Own stay, airbnb, rental or....
High budget, low budget, high tech or low tech.

If got budget, advise u to install those high tech controller which cost around RM5k/unit which can sync with your appliances and allow u to control using mobile app.

Bjorn1688
post May 29 2019, 01:42 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(ulala2 @ May 28 2019, 06:50 PM)
It is very much depending what ur needs and wants.
What is the purpose for the unit? Own stay, airbnb, rental or....
High budget, low budget, high tech or low tech.

If got budget, advise u to install those high tech controller which cost around RM5k/unit which can sync with your appliances and allow u to control using mobile app.
Any links for that?
ulala2
post May 29 2019, 08:55 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 29 2019, 01:42 AM)
Any links for that?
sorry, i do not have the link.
I saw those controller during ARCHIDEX exhibition.
Jay_AX
post May 30 2019, 12:36 AM

124 posts

This week I made a study of basic home appliances prices for a task in my office. Not too detailed lah.

Here's some retailer for online survey:

Harvey Norman website
Courts @Lazada
SenQ/Sengheng @Lazada
OnKing website

What i found is that the price is about the same, and they sell about the same product too.

That's all i can help. all the best.
Jay_AX
post May 30 2019, 12:45 AM

124 posts

Btw heres an indicative price for appliances under budget:

2 door fridge ~RM900-1300
Wash basin ~RM400
Cooker 2 Hobs (gas) Rm200-300
Cooker 2 Hobs (induction) >Rm800
Cooking Hood >Rm800 (flat one found cheap cheap about Rm200, not sure what type it is)
Aircond >Rm1100
TSterryaw P
post May 30 2019, 11:48 AM

Probation

thanks for all suggestion, some add on details right here, this unit is for own stay use, mostly for me looking for those appliances with last long with at middle range quality, budget wise I think will be finalize when get the idea with those all appliances, so first of all I still need to survey based on those related brand your guy suggest here smile.gif

However, thanks guys for help biggrin.gif thousand appreciate
zhou.xingxing
post Jun 2 2019, 11:25 AM

:3
1,863 posts

usually electronics i go for japanese except phone.. those sharp panasonic tv washing machines last v long
pinksapphire
post Jun 6 2019, 09:29 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(terryaw @ May 30 2019, 11:48 AM)
thanks for all suggestion, some add on details right here, this unit is for own stay use, mostly for me looking for those appliances with last long with at middle range quality, budget wise I think will be finalize when get the idea with those all appliances, so first of all I still need to survey based on those related brand your guy suggest here smile.gif

However, thanks guys for help biggrin.gif thousand appreciate
Share with us your findings when you've got and bought them smile.gif
Zavia/GenX
post Jun 7 2019, 04:56 PM

274 posts

Look online for major sales. I snagged some cheap stuff during the GST/SST sale by HLK. It may not be this or last years model, but the price was low enough I didnt care. (for tenant)

Go for only 5 or 4 star energy rating Appliances. Why?
My dad just bought a Toshiba GR-A66m 660liter fridge. My office one is a Sharp SJ176M 170liter fridge thats about a year old.
The 660 liter averages 400kWh and is 5 star
The 170 liter averages 453kWh and is 2 star wacko.gif
The amount of $ savings is significant. Get High energy star rating appliances.

*note models written are the ones on the energy star sticker, didnt actually check body to confirm.
**note 2, the brand has different star levels for different range of models, im not saying toshiba is always more efficient than sharp, its just a convenient example.
Zavia/GenX
post Jun 10 2019, 09:44 AM

274 posts

Edit: Ter reply again.

This post has been edited by Zavia/GenX: Jun 10 2019, 09:45 AM
TSterryaw P
post Jun 12 2019, 11:28 AM

Probation

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 6 2019, 09:29 PM)
Share with us your findings when you've got and bought them smile.gif
sure, no problem. but it should take me few months to go
TSterryaw P
post Jun 12 2019, 11:29 AM

Probation

QUOTE(Zavia/GenX @ Jun 7 2019, 04:56 PM)
Look online for major sales. I snagged some cheap stuff during the GST/SST sale by HLK. It may not be this or last years model, but the price was low enough I didnt care. (for tenant)

Go for only 5 or 4 star energy rating Appliances. Why?
My dad just bought a Toshiba  GR-A66m 660liter fridge. My office one is a Sharp SJ176M 170liter fridge thats about a year old.
The 660 liter averages 400kWh and is 5 star
The 170 liter averages 453kWh and is 2 star wacko.gif
The amount of $ savings is significant. Get High energy star rating appliances.

*note models written are the ones on the energy star sticker, didnt actually check body to confirm.
**note 2, the brand has different star levels for different range of models, im not saying toshiba is always more efficient than sharp, its just a convenient example.
thanks for your advise, will looking on this smile.gif

0.0188sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:49 AM