Enquiries/Recommendations Buying directly from Lenovo Malaysia website?

taiko8148
post Jan 28 2021, 08:44 AM

179 posts

Still headache which 1 more better performance between these 2 model.

My usage mostly excel data processing / company software / net browsing , movie and lite gaming.

3 main concern about selection of my next laptop.

AMD Ryzen 5 PRO 4650U VS AMD Ryzen 5 4500U Processor - which better ?

TN Anti-glare 220nits VS IPS, AntiGlare, LED Backlight - i hate the TN screen but option so limited.

Integrated Graphics VS AMD Radeon Graphics - any problem handling lite game/movie/editing?

My budget only around RM 2500 but will add some if budget allowed.

taiko8148
post Jan 28 2021, 12:22 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Eterman @ Jan 28 2021, 09:26 AM)
if you are looking into these 2 models, the e15 can be customized, using 4650u(with extra threads, better in multithreading programs) with the ips screen, removing the extra 8gb ram will get the price down to around 2.7K.

Compare with this model (Ideapad gaming) ?

Spec/price are nice but weights a bit let down cause everyday need to bring around for work and meeting with boss using gaming laptop (face to face)? scare boss say play game at office ah?

taiko8148
post Jan 28 2021, 12:32 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(mindspring @ Jan 28 2021, 12:11 PM)
get the customizable e15. but changing to IPS will delay the shipping to more than 8 weeks.

like poster above, they recommend me getting the ideapad gaming 3 (since i can get it much faster). the only drawback for me is it is a bit heavier (2.2kg vs 1.7kg e15)

use THINKSAVE for e15 or use FRONTLINER for ideapad gaming 3

with coupon, both are individually priced around 2.3k

can you wait? if u cant, then you are in the same boat as me.
Yes, Currently 2 of my child need a PC for online class but only with 1 laptop.
1 use phone but will have problem when teacher give homework cause screen too small.

Buying at store price is ridiculous expensive with lower spec.

Only thing worried me is when will Lenovo charge me cause order will be 1-2 months (may delay if pandemic become worse) to arrive but cr card already need to pay.
taiko8148
post Jan 28 2021, 12:50 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(mindspring @ Jan 28 2021, 12:38 PM)
they will only charge your cc when they already shipped your laptop.

again, if u are fine waiting more than 2 months, then, e15 with ips will the best choice.

as for me, i cant wait. new semester is starting on march. ideapad gaming 3 is a bit tad heavier, but i dont think i have a better option unless im willing to spend 3k.
Few month back i also plan to buy and already customized my need with very good price/spec.

But after KPM announce school will open back in Jan 21, i postpone this purchase and the offer spec gone.

Now change to this package with lower spec and a bit high price.

taiko8148
post Jan 28 2021, 11:43 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Jan 28 2021, 09:08 PM)
This is what I get for my T14 Gen 1 so called " Integrated Graphics" running on AMD Ryzen 7 Pro 4750U Processor. This mean  Integrated Graphics= AMD Radeon Graphics

How is the performance ? I asked Lenovo CS and she also no idea what spec of the integrated graphic.

Is Vega 7 or other dedicated or integrated graphic card?
taiko8148
post Apr 2 2021, 02:25 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Mar 18 2021, 11:01 AM)
I will get extra 5% discount upon arrival of my laptop too.

Black & white in my email:

"Apologize for the delay. I will try to inform our manufacturer to expedite the production.

In the mean time, our management has informed us that they can provide a 5% refund."
How to claim this discount ? via email or chat ? payment made already ?

I received an email from lenovo stated that my order will delay another 6 week (mid july) from mid May.

I want to cancel but cant get the " MASTERCARD" 10% discount already.

kindly advise.
taiko8148
post Apr 7 2021, 10:38 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(al_razi05 @ Apr 2 2021, 05:33 PM)
email Lenovo and ask them why delay the delivery beyond the estimated shipping date during the confirmation. Threaten them that you will escalate this issue to related authority. My experiance, they will provide some discount if you agreed with the shipment delay. In my case, I rejected the offer and I still want the shipment no later than the initial shipment date. So they refer back to manufacturer to speed up my order.

Better to screenshot the shipment date status since it will be revised frequently so that you can use it as a prove they change the shipment date.
Received feedback from Lenovo today and offer me 5% rebate. I replied and request more but turn down. Again i demand extra freebies and finally they agreed to give gaming mouse and cheapest backpack. I accepted their offer as hard of me to reject it because the Ideapad gaming already increase the price by RM 1xx.xx.

Not sure whether i still can exchange to latest model without additional charge if they delay it again...

taiko8148
post Apr 15 2021, 09:45 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(pastadudde @ Apr 15 2021, 04:55 PM)
if you order the Ideapad Gaming 3 / 3i now it's about 10 weeks waiting time (to ship)

Also there are newer Ideapad Gaming 3 models coming out in June this year.
Hope the timing of release of new ideapad gaming earlier then my order shipped out ( estimated end of june21) then will nego for a replacement without additional price.
taiko8148
post Apr 30 2021, 03:17 PM

179 posts

Previously my order being delayed till end of Jun21 and Lenovo already offer with 5% rebate after delivery. But shockingly today when i checked the delivery date back to normal (10May21).
Will they honour the rebate if really ship out within the estimate time? Actually i prefer they delay till end of Jun cos maybe new model came out and try to make an exchange then..

This post has been edited by taiko8148: Apr 30 2021, 03:17 PM
taiko8148
post Apr 30 2021, 06:59 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 30 2021, 05:17 PM)
It doesn't work that way. If you want to change to the new model, you would have to cancel your current purchase and place a new order again
Lenovo won't entertain model exchange without cancelling your current order even if your original order still haven't been shipped
The idepad gaming i ordered price already increase to rm 35xx with my customize order( mine only rm27xx). It seem they try to discontinue this model and maybe new model will come out soon.
If by mid june they still delay my order, then maybe nego with them exchange with latest one.
But now it stated will deliverid May, i just accept it of course will argue about the promise rebate.
taiko8148
post Apr 30 2021, 07:05 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(pastadudde @ Apr 30 2021, 04:59 PM)
Send customer service an email and ask them that you want written confirmation of the 5 percent partial refund - once they offered it, they can't take it back even if your delivery proceeds as scheduled (as in, no delays to shipping date etc).

I did that with customer service and they assured me that they would still honor the 5 percent partial refund for my order even tho it got bumped up by one month from its initial shipping date in July. 

So I suggest that you do the same, so that you have proof that you were offered the refund and you accepted, and also check your credit card  / bank statement for the refund.
I already argued with them in email and they agreed to rebate 5% in written.
But only if delay from earlier estimate time. Now updated timing will deliver on time.....emmmm....will try to argue again...

taiko8148
post Apr 30 2021, 10:32 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(pastadudde @ Apr 30 2021, 08:28 PM)
You shouldn't have any problem regarding getting the partial refund even if your shipment date gets bumped up.

For reference, this is the reply I got from CS after the shipment date got bumped up from June 30th to 20th May. (meaning,

Yeah, will use this as evidence of promise rebate .

taiko8148
post May 9 2021, 03:42 PM

179 posts

My laptop shipped out earlier than estimate time. Only dont know when will arrive here.

Q- during ordering, i used MBB cr card but not succesful. Then i email Lenovo about the problem and they ask me to unblock my card for international usage. After that i called MBB CS and they only unblock for 2 hour max. After that i tried again and successful create my order and Lenovo also confirmed my order.

As what i know from some sifu here, Lenovo only charged after they shipped out my order but still i wonder how do they charge me when my card automatic block any international charging except during the earlier order.(open only 2 hours). And i checked my cr card transaction still no sign of Lenovo charging me.

Any advise?

taiko8148
post May 17 2021, 09:56 AM

179 posts

Since my laptop custemized order only 8gb RAM 3200mhz, any recomended RAM brand for these ?

taiko8148
post May 17 2021, 10:43 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(RedArc @ May 17 2021, 10:26 AM)
I think your laptop is same batch with me , but I received update from UPS is : UPS initiated contact with receiver or importer for clearance information. Once received, UPS will submit for clearance. seems like stuck in kastam
Same batch also?

taiko8148
post May 17 2021, 12:57 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(pastadudde @ May 17 2021, 12:09 PM)
doesn't seem like it? my laptop never went to Ho Chi Minh
Just received mine a while ago after missing update from UPS.

Will unbox later.
taiko8148
post Jun 12 2021, 11:07 PM

179 posts

My Ideapad Gaming came with 8GB RAM. Don't think it will enough with play some game.

Should i invest another 8 GB or 16 GB RAM ? (budget constraints now)

If buy a 8GB RAM, will it be enough for future use ?

If 16 GB RAM (8+16), will be there any complication with the system ?

Any recommended brand RAM to buy ?
taiko8148
post Jun 14 2021, 12:00 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Jun 13 2021, 04:06 PM)
Added mine with 16gb ram
Set it as the primary one , felt slightly snappier
Thanks for your advise, any brand should i use ?
taiko8148
post Jan 12 2022, 10:13 AM

179 posts

Keep receiving notification to upgrade to Window 11, not sure it's from Lenovo (tuned by Lenovo)or Microsoft.

Anyone updated to Window 11?
taiko8148
post Jan 12 2022, 09:11 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jan 12 2022, 07:54 PM)
Upgraded, so far so good, no issue.

You can check the performance comparison between Win10 and Win11 for my Lenovo laptop here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=102012407
need more input from other user only will decide to upgrade to win11.... many thanks...

0.0293sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:56 PM