How do you design the lighting for apartment unit.
I notice sometimes ID use track lighting and point to the wall. For what reason?
Anyone knows why
How do you design Lighting, What type to buy? point where?
May 22 2019, 01:55 PM, updated 7y ago
4,999 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
How do you design the lighting for apartment unit.
I notice sometimes ID use track lighting and point to the wall. For what reason? Anyone knows why |
May 31 2019, 04:40 PM
eyeball lights vs track lights ? Which is better?
assuming you have plaster ceiling |
Jun 3 2019, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(phoenixxx @ May 31 2019, 11:30 PM) For me (personally) I separate lighting into task lighting and ambiance / mood lighting. Sharing my personal experience with you below, hope it helps. I have a mixture of the following: - LED downlights in all areas of my house which provides bright-enough lighting when needed. - Most of the time, I defer to recessed / indirect lighting (cool/warm white) which promotes a soft glow throughout the area. - Low-power edison bulbs in selected places for timer switches. Bulbs because they are easy to replace since lights on timer switches may be switched on throughout the night so they get more use and burn out faster. - I have a couple of track lights installed and pointed towards a feature that I wish to highlight (for example, an accent wall, or a set of musical instruments). - Spotlights near sleeping areas for reading, although they rarely get used as most of my reading is done on the phone. Overall not a good idea in hindsight as it may also disturb your partner, unless you can find one which produces an acceptably narrow beam. - Low-powered spotlight centered above a painting - I find that having tracklights directly shining on it produced too much glare. - 1' LED tubes under bedside furniture (mine is fixed so can install lighting) - serves as night lights and appreciated by relatives with small children staying over. Having good lighting can transform the look of your interior & it ultimately boils down to personal taste. QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 3 2019, 08:59 PM) I have both and both uses the same MR16 LED bulbs. They look like those halogen bulbs of yesteryears. Thanks for the input.If you have plaster ceiling, then just buy the eyeball. Installing tracks can be expensive as those technicians charge per foot run. Lucky my friend installed for me. Mine is about 24 feet long and I have two of these (the other one shorter - about 15ft) So imagine if they charge per foot run....becomes very expensive liao. Assuming the plaster ceiling that comes with the apartment, how do electrician get the wire from what is given(by default from developer) to the hole for the downlight/eyeball? Something I forgot to notice when I was renovating my house a long time ago. |
Jun 11 2019, 12:42 PM
Assuming using full eyeball and 8.5-9 ft ceiling height
1.) How far from wall does the eyeball lights need to be? 1 feet ? 2 feet? 2.) What is the spacing between eyeball ? 4 feet? eyeball lights power?6W ,8w? Power per unit sf? |
Jun 11 2019, 01:05 PM
Another question is , do the electrical first or do the plaster ceiling first?
Jul 17 2019, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 3 2019, 08:59 PM) I have both and both uses the same MR16 LED bulbs. They look like those halogen bulbs of yesteryears. Hi If you have plaster ceiling, then just buy the eyeball. Installing tracks can be expensive as those technicians charge per foot run. Lucky my friend installed for me. Mine is about 24 feet long and I have two of these (the other one shorter - about 15ft) So imagine if they charge per foot run....becomes very expensive liao. Do you have pictures of your place with the lights? I want to figure out how many eyeball lights to put for the area. |
Jul 18 2019, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(barca96 @ Jul 18 2019, 02:12 PM) I once saw a house whereby with one switch it can change color. There are 3 colors, white, cool and warm. What is such a function called? When I Google I get those rainbow type of colors but I just want a simple one depending on the mood, not the rainbow disco type of colors. Those kind changes the color by turning off and on. Not very practical in my opinion.Is this kind of bulb as durable as a single color bulb or less durable? I assume the cost of the bulb will be higher but will there be much difference? How about for the wiring? Big difference? |
| Change to: | 0.0151sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:13 AM |