Foreign Tenant Background Screening

okuribito
post Jun 13 2019, 02:11 AM

1,021 posts

BurgieLaws' Strata Management Case Updates 12 – Can MC prohibits foreigners from renting? >>>> this 2018 case seems to say that you can have House Rules/additional by-laws that discriminates against certain nationality. Is that a correct interpretation?

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 22 2019, 12:12 PM)
Under strata title act, JMB/MC has no right to screen/choose tenant on behalf on owner,
Curious, can please share which section of strata title act says this?

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Jun 4 2019, 12:21 AM)
you, as the proprietor (property owner), surrender full access of usage of your parcel (unit) together with the rights of a parcel owner (right to use the common facilities subject to the management's house rules & regulations) for a certain period of time (number of days' stay). During their stay, you legally do not have any right to access the property or the common area (as you have already surrendered the right of usage to your tenant/airbnb guest).
Is this loss of rights a common law principle or coming from statute?

What happens if an owner does not live in the unit but rents out room by room? Very common eg condos near colleges. Every now and then, he will need to access the unit to show an empty room to prospective tenants, or to do repairs, or to check up on cleanliness etc

- Can the jmb/mc make additional by-law to say that he must surrender his access card, failing which it will be deactivated? That he must register as a visitor when he enters the condo?

Notice of 1st AGM & subsequent AGMs

Form 14 of the Strata Management (Maintenance & Management) Regulations - SMMMR - specifies the notice of the 1st AGM & its contents (agenda items). Do all the same agenda items have to be included in subsequent AGMs? Can certain or any agenda items be omitted?

Question about making/amending additional by-laws:

I think 757 says that JMB/MC can make/amend additional by-laws by special resolution which needs 21 days' notice. Instead of convening an EGM, let's say an MC decides to propose additional by-laws at the AGM. So instead of 14 days notice, the MC will have to give 21 days' notice, right?

Assuming an owner wants to propose a by-law at that AGM, must he give 21 days' notice? OR can he use Rule 12(2) of the SMMMR and write in "not less than seven days before the AGM" to propose a motion to adopt the additional by-law he drafted?

Sorry, many off-topic questions. Dunno where to ask & this current thread seems the best place & most number of knowledgeable ppl rclxms.gif

aurora97 ulala2 hanhanhan please chime in. TQ nod.gif

This post has been edited by okuribito: Jun 13 2019, 02:45 AM
okuribito
post Jun 13 2019, 01:57 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(ulala2 @ Jun 13 2019, 12:39 PM)
I believed your above question is posted at the wrong thread, you should post it at https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3608743

TQ
ok tq. I copy & paste this one to that thread. Replied there

This post has been edited by okuribito: Jun 13 2019, 02:22 PM
okuribito
post Jun 13 2019, 02:20 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Jun 13 2019, 08:17 AM)

BurgieLaws' Strata Management Case Updates 12 – Can MC prohibits foreigners from renting?  >>>> this 2018 case seems to say that you can have House Rules/additional by-laws that discriminates against certain nationality. Is that a correct interpretation? 

We are reading something that is summarized. Also, that is someone else account of what happened. Plain reading itself, there is no discrimination at all. The court allowed gave priority to the by laws and interpreted the wordings to the letter.

I though the things I have mentioned earlier was extreme but actually its child's play LOL... rclxub.gif . This is an interesting case indeed. Thanks for bringing it up.
Thanks & yup it's only burgie law's summary. But where to find the full judgment? google taada. Appreciate if you will update us after reading the source
thumbsup.gif
okuribito
post Jun 13 2019, 02:35 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 13 2019, 09:20 AM)

Strata title act say none on this issue, hence the strata title act does not empower JMB/MC on any matter related to individual parcel apart from common property related and house rules on common facilities/surrounding.
Or in other word, the unit is owned by the unit parcel, he/she can sell, rent to anyone.

JMB/MC only can act on what have been empowered to them based on the act, eg
Collect maintenance fee, taking care of common facilities, fire insurance, impose house rules etc.
That is why even the unit owner defaulting the maintenance fee, JMB/MC cannot stop the owner to access to his/her unit.

The act doesn't say any sale/rent needs to take consent from JMB/MC.

Unless the property is under similar to restricted leasehold property type whereby there is leasehold agreement clearly stated any sale/rent of such property may require consent from the lessor.
Yeah I understand the principle of invalidity of actions beyond the powers conferred upon jmb/mc by 757. BUT the JMB/MC is also empowered to make additional by-laws ... no?

And if the JMB/MC is of the opinion that certain nationalities pose a security risk, they can propose additional by-laws to deal with it... providing the proposal is not inconsistent with Schedule 3. No?

Then the question that needs an answer is whether the proposed screening is inconsistent with Sch 3

PS: by the way, i thought all the provisions that deal with the management of strata properties in the strata titles act that you mentioned have been deleted with the introduction of 757 ?

pps: Sch3 = thrd Schedule of Strata Management (Maintenance and Management) Regulations 2015
okuribito
post Jun 19 2019, 07:26 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(Thasmita @ Jun 18 2019, 07:25 AM)
In one of the condos that I own. It is mandatory for all tenants to have a pass card. In the application  form we ask for copies of passport with valid visa and letter of employment. If student then student pass. Don’t have the info no pass card - cannot enter. For locals a copy of IC. So far no complaints at all.
What if an owner or his agent simply clones the card & gives the clone to the tenant to use? Can say it's highly unlikely the owner would do that but I know of condos where agents manage multiple units belonging to "old uncle" owners who dun want the hassle & the risk of cloning (& bypassing the mgt office) is higher

0.0158sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:44 PM