Suggestion: More video-on-demand sites embedding, ^__^

TSfiredauz
post Jun 25 2007, 02:23 PM, updated 19y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

First of all, thankiu for that wonderful YOUTUBE button.
I'm actually hooked to LYT just because of that biggrin.gif

However, I would like to ask if the admins can consider more video-on-demand sites to be embedded into LYT. Of course not all of them, but the famous ones.
Besides YouTube, there are also:

- Dailymotion.com
- Veoh.com
- Livemotion.com
- Etc.

We have made all those vod websites to be able to be embeded into our forum --> http://exilium.30.forumer.com/index.php?showtopic=20
So just kinda hope LYT can have the same thing too biggrin.gif

Thanks for reading icon_rolleyes.gif
se7en
post Jun 25 2007, 02:35 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

We'll work on it.

The solution you gave as an example will work, and is simple to implement, but the potential of abuse is too high for us to even imagine.

Try keying in [dohtml]<iframe src="http://www.lowyat.net"></iframe>[dohtml] into your forum and you'll see what i mean.
Dark Steno
post Jun 25 2007, 02:39 PM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

Heck, Veoh has some videos which are not appropriate for youngsters.
TSfiredauz
post Jun 25 2007, 05:47 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Don't worry Dark, its the same goes for YouTube contents as well.
As long as LYT users behave & only post appropriately, should be fine.
The Mods would see to it as well happy.gif

QUOTE(se7en @ Jun 25 2007, 02:35 PM)
We'll work on it.

The solution you gave as an example will work, and is simple to implement, but the potential of abuse is too high for us to even imagine.

Try keying in [dohtml]<iframe src="http://www.lowyat.net"></iframe>[dohtml] into your forum and you'll see what i mean.
Thanks bro. I've tested that code, looks funny though tongue.gif

Good thing our forum is just small (just among friends), so almost everyone knows each other & behave nicely.
Hmm.. maybe a little adjustment to fix that error would be of making a dropdown menu (like fonts & font sizes) of selections between YouTube, DailyMotion, Veoh & Livevideo - maybe that would fixed our little exploit biggrin.gif

Thanks for hearing me out - looking forward to it soon! notworthy.gif

0.0146sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:36 PM