Perodua Kancil 660EX, Speed idling speed

TSthom_chai
post Jun 24 2007, 07:57 PM, updated 17y ago

1,830 posts

I have a doubt on my mum's 4 months old Kancil 660EX. The idling speed of the engine when cold (morning cold start) is very high, approx. 2.2k rpm. Idling with aircon on with warmed engine is normal, which is around 1k rpm. But when the aircon is off, the idling increases to 1.2k instead of dropping ohmy.gif

Any Kancil owners here mind to share their views on this? I'm planning to visit the service center soon to clarify this matter smile.gif

Yapmy
post Jun 24 2007, 08:00 PM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,323 posts

The rev setting is adjustable. Just tell the mechanic about that and he can tune it to 1k or below for u.
jceh83
post Jun 24 2007, 08:05 PM

two stepping all the way..
1,234 posts

yup its called timing..just tell them ur timing is high and they'll check and adjust..not a big issue.. dun worry..

has it went in for the first service yet?
zhixin
post Jun 24 2007, 08:06 PM

- Bling bling -
792 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Jun 24 2007, 07:57 PM)
I have a doubt on my mum's 4 months old Kancil 660EX. The idling speed of the engine when cold (morning cold start) is very high, approx. 2.2k rpm. Idling with aircon on with warmed engine is normal, which is around 1k rpm. But when the aircon is off, the idling increases to 1.2k instead of dropping ohmy.gif

Any Kancil owners here mind to share their views on this? I'm planning to visit the service center soon to clarify this matter smile.gif
ask the mechanic to tune ur car for u..
TSthom_chai
post Jun 24 2007, 08:14 PM

1,830 posts

Yes i know the idling speed can be adjusted.

I just wanted to know how's other kancil doing... Especially when the engine is cold, the rpm could shoot up to 2.5k sometimes sweat.gif The Kancil is equipped with auto choke. As the engine warms up, the rpm dropped to approx. 1.2k without aircon. I guess the auto choke feature is way lesser intelligent compared to my other EFI engine.

jceh83, yup it's already been serviced once. Now clocked at 3700km smile.gif
inoitu
post Jun 24 2007, 08:38 PM

1,526 posts

Early morning starts usually the automatic choke is applied thus the high rpm.
jceh83
post Jun 24 2007, 08:43 PM

two stepping all the way..
1,234 posts

hmmm i wonder if the 660cc engine is same as my 11 year old kancil...could be the ratio of air/petrol mixture..wonder if that can be tuned for a kancil...
ernie ball
post Jun 24 2007, 08:48 PM

448 posts

Same here, 2500rpm or higher on icy cold days. No worries, just get used to it.
zombie
post Jan 24 2008, 02:28 AM

Died
684 posts

QUOTE(ernie ball @ Jun 24 2007, 08:48 PM)
Same here, 2500rpm or higher on icy cold days. No worries, just get used to it.
What's the correct idle rpm for a kancil when cold and when warm?
singchaii
post Jan 24 2008, 07:35 AM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Jun 24 2007, 07:57 PM)

You can retune the timing.. My car when start in the morning, also around 2k rpm.. Because the auto choke in working.. After it get warm, then will back to normal..
cpk
post Jul 12 2008, 09:03 PM

81 posts

Recently my girlfriend Kancil 660 engine need to overhaul (as claim by the mechanic) anyone know or recently overhaul. What the price range like? Tq for the info. smile.gif
post Jul 12 2008, 10:07 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,695 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Jun 24 2007, 08:14 PM)
Yes i know the idling speed can be adjusted.

I just wanted to know how's other kancil doing... Especially when the engine is cold, the rpm could shoot up to 2.5k sometimes sweat.gif The Kancil is equipped with auto choke. As the engine warms up, the rpm dropped to approx. 1.2k without aircon. I guess the auto choke feature is way lesser intelligent compared to my other EFI engine.

jceh83, yup it's already been serviced once. Now clocked at 3700km smile.gif
Haha my uncles new Kancil 660EX also same thing.When on air-cond and the engine is idling the rev metre always show 2200rpm.He asked the service personal to adjust it to 1000rpm.

Before that,his kancil damn cacat lah.RM50 only can go 165km.
! Love Money
post Jul 17 2008, 12:29 AM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(cpk @ Jul 12 2008, 09:03 PM)
Recently my girlfriend Kancil 660 engine need to overhaul (as claim by the mechanic) anyone know or recently overhaul. What the price range like? Tq for the info.  smile.gif
y need overhaul ler shakehead.gif just change the whole engine even better... sometimes can tahan longer than ori 1

Added on July 17, 2008, 12:31 am
QUOTE(779364 @ Jul 12 2008, 10:07 PM)
Haha my uncles new Kancil 660EX also same thing.When on air-cond and the engine is idling the rev metre always show 2200rpm.He asked the service personal to adjust it to 1000rpm.

Before that,his kancil damn cacat lah.RM50 only can go 165km.
is ur uncle always rempit 1 sweat.gif mine 50 can go 300km++ for 2.70

This post has been edited by ! Love Money: Jul 17 2008, 12:31 AM
post Jul 17 2008, 12:42 AM

Starry Starry Night
1,695 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Jul 17 2008, 12:29 AM)
y need overhaul ler shakehead.gif just change the whole engine even better... sometimes can tahan longer than ori 1

Added on July 17, 2008, 12:31 am
is ur uncle always rempit 1 sweat.gif mine 50 can go 300km++ for 2.70
its the idling problem.When not moving,the car is literally running on partial throttle cause he idling meter shows 2200rpm.
SeanConnery
post Sep 17 2008, 10:49 AM

236 posts

Early morning, my RPM goes to 2100, and after several minutes goes down to 1700-1800. If I set it lower, the Kancil will vibrate badly. The car is also consuming engine oil, thus planning to do overhaul soon. Will see how that works. smile.gif
TracyL
post May 5 2012, 08:55 PM

43 posts

Kancil got RPM meter ???

My Sister's 1995 kancil has got no rpm meter ?? which version of Kancil is yours ??

Tracy

0.0128sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:56 AM