Chubby Hamsters V5, Fun little furballs
siokjinlim
Nov 2 2007, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Nov 2 2007, 11:20 AM) try to feed ur bb with balance fresh don't only side to carrot  hi everyone! i'm new in this thread, usually hang out in the snake thread anyway, lately i fell in love with hammy's... not sure which to get, as all are equally cute.. if i want one that is easy to handle, and extremely tame(dont simply bite me) which type of hammy should i go for? syrian,ww or robo leh?? thanks yea
siokjinlim
Nov 3 2007, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 2 2007, 11:20 PM) Syrian.... 100% get a Syrian but do get from a breeder or hobbyist... then you would not regret and fully enjoy a tame hamster. Petshops sell untame ones, some are panicky, some are timid and some are biters but from breeders or hobbyist, you won't experience any of those. Contact Nezu lah, she may have 1 or 2 for sale.... Actually, Winter White, Russian Campbell and Robos are normally tame and won't simply bite if you get from breeders. Only those from petshops will. So far none of my campbells bite, all nice and tame... they may nip to test or taste but never bite hard unless you provoke them. haha, neardeath, yea, i own a snake, but no, i wont feed hammys to my snake  that i can ensure you.. umm, hun, i visited a petshop in klang, and i saw many syrians in an aquarium.. they were sooo cute, i couldnt resist touching them.. and it seems like they dont even care that i touch them.. is that a sign of a tame hammy? i guess i'd just have to buy a syrian frm a petshop if i cant get from a good breeder, so can teach me how to identify a tame hammy before i get them.. dun wanna regret after that .. hehe
siokjinlim
Nov 3 2007, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(dien @ Nov 3 2007, 09:40 PM) omg, how extremely cute! izzit tame?
siokjinlim
Nov 9 2007, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 9 2007, 08:41 PM) Breeding takes some reading.... worms.... it is not normal.... I have no idea what worms they are if you do not post any pictures but it could have been deformed babies.... It could have been stress, they fought, and things happen. Breeding is not easy, they are not like humans where a father and mother can be happy and joyful with their kids.... a male hamster and female hamster got no such emotions but to breed for repopulation and caring for the young to survive. pity hammys... my mice at home take so good care of their babies.. eh, the bear bear is cute ler, but i prefer the shorter hair type of syrian.. whats it called ah??
siokjinlim
Nov 10 2007, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 10 2007, 07:49 PM) juz wondering whether female or male hammys are more ganas?? which is more friendly??
siokjinlim
Nov 15 2007, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(won @ Nov 15 2007, 02:19 PM) There was a thread previously discussing about Habitrail OVO I think the conclusion was the design was flashy but not practical for hamster - bad ventilation and small space. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=12861043i think can be a holiday villa for hammy lah, not for permanent stay...
siokjinlim
Nov 19 2007, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(jy14 @ Nov 19 2007, 11:08 AM) I agree with Hun. PetShack has the best syrians and robos on offer bsides other breeders like Nezu, dien and co. I got 1 of my robos from petshack. Awesome chick. Very tame, put it on my palm oso it won't jump off. Give it a light pet, help it brush it's fur and just very tame. Thats for a robos, which if i'm not mistaken are well known for hyperactive. haha Hun: I dun intent to grab 2 of it, coz worry later if it fights, i might need 2 tanks haha but its really white fur. Not sure its RC or WW. If u got time, u go c c lo. Theres loads of Robos there, small and cute but seems tame too. I put my finger near, it takes a sniff and run away. I tried on other robos, from other petshops, it take a sniff and wanna bite my finger liao. Yikes. I'm sure my finger didn't smell like food hehe. I'll c if i got time go c c again and grab a photo. Just near my office only. The owner says about 3 months old, its looks about 1/2 the size of the syrians at Petshack. you guys mean the petshack at sunway ?? then, i'm gonna get it by this week.. that is to replace my fancy mouse who died
siokjinlim
Nov 19 2007, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(dien @ Nov 19 2007, 08:37 PM) which lrt is it?? is it lrt putra, kelana jaya station?? bro, i'm not sure about lrt, but i know how to take ktm... take the ktm, stop at subang jaya stop, there will be alot of taxi there.. get on a taxi, and tell them where you want to go  can tell them to bring you to sunway pyramid, or if the driver knows pet shack, ask him to drop you in front of the shop  i'm going there to get a syrian this week also.. who knows can meet one of you there
siokjinlim
Nov 20 2007, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(sangels @ Nov 19 2007, 09:21 PM) hehe, actually i'm going to petshack tomorrow.. my dad suddenly wanna bring me go o_O and i will add a new member to my family  hmm.. wonder which hammy so unlucky to get picked by me This post has been edited by siokjinlim: Nov 20 2007, 12:11 AM
siokjinlim
Nov 20 2007, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(jy14 @ Nov 20 2007, 09:32 AM) siokjinlim: Happy shopping there. Surely u'll b tempted to grab a few home if you've got unlimited budget. hahaha I went there thinking to grab a hammy and a tank, ended up grabbing extras bedding, food, and even a nice new corner toilet. Temptation are high when there hammy are so lovely and makes u wanna spend more to give it a good place to stay. Grab the organic powder too if u can. Helps the hammy to grow better. the lady at petshack is really helpful! and the syrians there are like bears!!! i got a syrian there today !! too cute to be true lerrr! didnt see the organic powder ): but i got him a toilet and toilet sand.. and a packet of prestige food ! look forward to play with my hammy soon !!
siokjinlim
Nov 20 2007, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 20 2007, 04:40 PM) siokjinlim! Pics of the Syrian! Am going this Saturday to PetShack to get a syrian too. omg, soo soo cute... i sang song to my hammy, and she fell asleep! and when i stopped, she opened her eyes! then i sang again, after i stop singing, i slowly move away, she sleeping now  and weird thing, she got 1 eye black in color, and another red in color.. will post her picture up soon! btw, suggest any name for my hammy??
siokjinlim
Nov 20 2007, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(jy14 @ Nov 20 2007, 05:16 PM) Cute hammy. So cute ah ? Wow !! Next visit u ask joan for the powder lo. Cool eyes u got there. haha, pics and pics are alwiz welcomed. sifus, what should i feed my hammy to make it fat and cute, and look like bear bear?
siokjinlim
Nov 20 2007, 10:49 PM
i'm using pine shavings and my hammy's sneezing all the time... how ler???
siokjinlim
Nov 24 2007, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(jy14 @ Nov 24 2007, 12:39 PM) Oh man. Oni 2 ? Where's the rest ? Wow, u guys really fast grab so many. Male of female left ? Looks like i'll need to wait liao. robos, joan told me they're males and she says its weird why all her customers took all the females.. haha! too bad they dont have ww, else, i wanted to get a pair of ww also.. the syrians there all giant bear size, makes me kinda scared.. hehe.. my hammy bit me ler sangel, u should be proud ur hammy's so tame!
siokjinlim
Nov 25 2007, 09:06 AM
QUOTE(sangels @ Nov 24 2007, 11:07 PM) omg, your hammy looks so much like mine!!!! my best guess is they're siblings !!  the color and pattern of their coat is so similar! um... i got a corner toilet for my hammy, so she only dig inside it loh.. i'm using metal cage, so my hammy is climbing even higher o_O but after falling few times, she stopped climbing so high already.. so sangel, dont worry, in a few more days, he/she will learn not to climb
siokjinlim
Nov 27 2007, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(dien @ Nov 27 2007, 08:07 PM) to bath your hamsters.. simply just use a sandbath.. pour it in a bowl, and put the bowl in your cage or tank.. later or sooner your hamsters will roll over the sandbath themselves.. p/s: dont bath your hamster using water (like what we do to other pets - cats, rabbits, GPs).. it is harmful for them.. a petshop near my house has pearl ww  and there's many of ww put together in the case.. dont really look in 100% good condition, but i might plan to get 1 of the small ww i saw, cos he/she looks quite pitiful
siokjinlim
Nov 27 2007, 09:28 PM
really?? where is the petshop?? [/quote] kajang, vinson aquarium.. recently expended to 3 shops.. the shop is at taman kajang prima.. the pearls are put together with agoutis..
siokjinlim
Nov 28 2007, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 28 2007, 09:10 AM) siokjinlim : eh where is this shop(vinson aquarium)..im in kajaang as well..specific a bit how to go there...landmark? umm, you know the only hsbc bank in kajang ? its in kajang prima.. else, do you know beach cafe? its also the same place.. theres only 2 petshops here, and 1 only sells fish, so, there you go  i might get 1 ww there soon, since i saw he/she looks quite pitiful.. young and thin..
siokjinlim
Nov 28 2007, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 28 2007, 11:33 AM) aih..i dunno all..is kajang prima is a shopping mall?is it located at the kajang town?places i know are Satay Samur(stadium), Kajang Metro, KTM Kajang, KFC&Pizza Hut fast food building..hehe..sori i just moved to kajang.. my creativity sucks as well..lol..jus wana get some idea to make second floor for my glass tank.. no prob.. hmm, frm the kfc & pizza hut, the main road is called jln semenyih.. go along jln semenyih, away from kajang town towards semenyih.. and then about 5 km, you will see a shell station on your left, then u will also see a traffic light on ur right.. so, turn right, into taman kajang prima. from there u can also see a big building, which is a futsal centre
siokjinlim
Nov 28 2007, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 28 2007, 05:23 PM) go away from kajang town means the kfc pizza is on ur right?then go straight till taman kajang prima?wat is the building called? i use aquarium glass tank with polysterine underneath cover..  yeah, kfc on ur right, kajang high school on your left! then go straight till u see a shell petrol station on your LEFT , then you turn right, into kajang prima (: there are many shops there, try and find a signboard "Kumon" .. the vinson aquarium is just beside it i think.