Shizuru
post Jul 2 2007, 06:39 PM

3,699 posts

My Robo gave birth 10 days ago.
Need some advice regarding her diet.
At the moment I'm feeding her with
Sluis Superior menu (her normal everyday diet).
Carrots, apples, cashew nuts and hard boils eggs (started after she gave birth).
Do I need to add anything else or is that enough?
and how about the water, is normal bottle water ok?

This post has been edited by Shizuru: Jul 2 2007, 07:04 PM
Shizuru
post Jul 2 2007, 11:47 PM

3,699 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Jul 2 2007, 09:30 PM)
Shizuru, did you visit this thread??
--> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/477850
Yes, I already visit the thread.
Followed all of the tips given icon_rolleyes.gif
Just wondering if what I done is enough for her diet.
My first time, so I want to make sure.

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 2 2007, 09:35 PM)
You have never place a water bottle before? You need a water bottle... females nursing young become dehydrated very fast and also it can cause the female to give little milk.
Huhu.. never place water bottle, I'm not that cruel sweat.gif
No, what I mean is. Is plain water enough or do I need to give extra kind of liquid, like milk or something?
Shizuru
post Jul 3 2007, 12:36 AM

3,699 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 2 2007, 11:55 PM)
Ohhh... coz you said normal water bottle then I assume you didn't give water bottle hahahah.... I think your words should be bottled water.

Yes, normal water is fine... be it from the tap or boiled. You do not need to give anything extra.... you can give small amounts of cheese if you want.
Yeah, I should have written bottled water, hehe.. my bad tongue.gif
Will give her some cheese tomorrow smile.gif

Got another question, I just noticed today one of the pups got a swollen leg. Red in color. It wasn't swollen before. Any idea why it is so? Do I need to take it to a vet?
Shizuru
post Jul 3 2007, 01:02 AM

3,699 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 3 2007, 12:51 AM)
The vet won't be able to do anything to such a small animal. Swollen can be from a bite from the mom or something injured the leg.... leave it be coz your pups are 10 days old.... later you touch touch can stress the mom.
I see, so its better to wait and see. Got it.
Thanks for the advice notworthy.gif
Great thing you guys got going on here thumbup.gif
Shizuru
post Jul 4 2007, 12:04 PM

3,699 posts

QUOTE(anizarina @ Jul 4 2007, 08:13 AM)
me oso like you last time when i got the first batch...always worried about them..last time i kenot sabar oo

Yeah, this is the 1st and last batch. After this going to put the males and females in separate cages. So kesian my Honey so kecik suddenly got 5 pups but looks like Robo are very good mothers. She really take care of her pups wub.gif
Shizuru
post Jul 14 2007, 10:51 PM

3,699 posts

Roborovski hamsters can be kept in small groups and best if single sexed

I know that Robo can be kept in small groups but what if its only one Robo in a cage?
Will it get lonely or depressed if being kept alone?

and if kept to many in one cage will they fight for space?
Because my hamster seems to be killing her pups, from 5 now only left 2 cry.gif
Should I separate them from their mother? Its been 21 days now from their D.O.B.

TQ

0.0183sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:17 PM