Chubby Hamsters V5, Fun little furballs

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 16 2007, 04:27 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Who said Breeder's Celect is corn cob? LOL.... corn cob is corn cob loh... brands normally like Hagen or LM Farms or others.... but Breeder's Celect is much better than corn cob so why complain?
madmoz
post Sep 16 2007, 04:32 PM

4,250 posts

corn cob, is this to be used for bedding? Corn Cob was the thing that ended my dwarf breeding project!!!
Corn Cob Bedding = evil?

sogoatticus
post Sep 16 2007, 09:15 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 16 2007, 04:27 PM)
Who said Breeder's Celect is corn cob? LOL.... corn cob is corn cob loh... brands normally like Hagen or LM Farms or others.... but Breeder's Celect is much better than corn cob so why complain?
i thought the corn cob is under Breeder Celect brand..silly me..i scare they eat the breeder celect..coz look like one of the rabbit food..lol
zoejehuty
post Sep 16 2007, 10:14 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

hmm... i always separate them last 2 days...
now jus monitor it lo... so i jus leave it there with all my other gerbils tanks lo..
i plan to put other place that more silent one but then cant find any...
but then the thing is that my sis going to take back the hammie since is hers...
jus worrier that she and her housemate all go kacau only...
they all keep without getting any info one... haih...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 16 2007, 10:48 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Sep 16 2007, 09:15 PM)
i thought the corn cob is under Breeder Celect brand..silly me..i scare they eat the breeder celect..coz look like one of the rabbit food..lol
Hahaha... no worries lah. Perfectly safe. I use it for sugar gliders, hedgehogs, geckos, tortoise and snakes.... some of my hamsters are on this while a gerbil gets Healthy Pet bedding.

QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Sep 16 2007, 10:14 PM)
hmm... i always separate them last 2 days...
now jus monitor it lo... so i jus leave it there with all my other gerbils tanks lo..
i plan to put other place that more silent one but then cant find any...
but then the thing is that my sis going to take back the hammie since is hers...
jus worrier that she and her housemate all go kacau only...
they all keep without getting any info one... haih...
Better not let anyone kacau the female so she can successfully have healthy babies.... but then that is if got babies lah.
nezumitaro
post Sep 16 2007, 10:52 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Sep 16 2007, 04:18 PM)
bought Breeder Celect from jtl..but it is cat litter..not corn cob..sad.gif
its one of the best bedding.. no worries..smile.gif
CityLife
post Sep 16 2007, 11:42 PM

325 posts

What are their normal life span?

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 16 2007, 11:43 PM

12,047 posts

1.5 years to 3 years, depending on species.... some can go 4 years. This also depends on care and housing.
CityLife
post Sep 16 2007, 11:54 PM

325 posts

What do they usually died from? Would be nice to know the disease in order to prevent it from happening from healthy one.
jaswwp
post Sep 17 2007, 12:07 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 16 2007, 04:32 PM)
corn cob, is this to be used for bedding? Corn Cob was the thing that ended my dwarf breeding project!!!
Corn Cob Bedding = evil?
As corn cob moulds fast, I guess its not suitable to use unless the owner cleans it very often snce hamsters pee so much. Corn cob also killed 2 of my mice i think, they both develop breathing problems when I was using it.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 17 2007, 12:33 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(CityLife @ Sep 16 2007, 11:54 PM)
What do they usually died from? Would be nice to know the disease in order to prevent it from happening from healthy one.
Well, generally old age. But other deaths can be from the wrong kind of woodshavings, inbreeding, genetic disorders like brain damage or deformity, diabetes, lung infection, kidney failure, liver failure, wet tail is the worst and many others. You can always Google as there is too much to list or buy a book about hamsters.

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Sep 17 2007, 12:07 AM)
As corn cob moulds fast, I guess its not suitable to use unless the owner cleans it very often snce hamsters pee so much. Corn cob also killed 2 of my mice i think, they both develop breathing problems when I was using it.
Yah, the mold from corncob can cause deaths sometimes.... the spores can enter the lungs, cause damage there. We won't really know till 1 day our pet dies or we do an autopsy on it.
madmoz
post Sep 17 2007, 12:34 AM

4,250 posts

so i would say stick to wood shaving as bedding!

Added on September 17, 2007, 12:35 ammalaysian weather hot and humid = good for moulding, bad for bedding

This post has been edited by madmoz: Sep 17 2007, 12:35 AM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 17 2007, 12:43 AM

12,047 posts

The safest woodshavings would be Aspen wood shavings.... but it is very hard to get here and a bit expensive too. For now, only Delikate is safe.... even now I won't buy Chipsi since the current stock all have a strong pine-like smell.

But then Breeder's Celect and Healthy Pet are so far the best and safest. They would mold... absorb odour and liquid very well, last longer in tanks too. Just not so comfortable for them to sleep if using Breeder's Celect since pelleted and hard.... normally as sleeping material, I would give hay and tissue paper.
madmoz
post Sep 17 2007, 12:46 AM

4,250 posts

aiks... aspen shavings naik harga? used to be around RM15 - RM25 for a big block init?

This post has been edited by madmoz: Sep 17 2007, 12:46 AM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 17 2007, 01:08 AM

12,047 posts

No Rm15 liao.... now Rm25 above I think.... I rarely see Aspen coz no one demanded this.... In Malaysia, all like to find the cheapest bedding they can find, so they will go buy cheap but dangerous beddings..... so no Demand for Aspen, so most shops don't wanna bring in anymore. I remember buying large pack of Aspen for around RM15 to Rm18 only years ago.... too bad now no more.
nezumitaro
post Sep 17 2007, 09:41 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

Aspen price up to $33 smile.gif for the small one.. 1200 or 1500 cu in, about 24 liters.

as long as we clean our pets house more rajin. they will be more happy and healthy smile.gif
gstrapinuse
post Sep 17 2007, 10:17 AM

696 posts

Can any 1 tell me is corn cob bad for hamster?I heard it is good compared to bedding..is it true?Kindly advice
kembara
post Sep 17 2007, 10:36 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

hi guys..long time dont post here....
how r u and ur hammies....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 17 2007, 10:40 AM

12,047 posts

Corn cob, if you do not change the bedding once a week, it will start to grow mold.... like when you put the bread too long, it got those ugly fuzzy green black fungus grow? That can happen to corn cob.

It is better than woodshavings but why not add a few ringgit and get bedding that is better than corncob?
madmoz
post Sep 17 2007, 10:42 AM

4,250 posts

FAQ from someone on the internet

Corn cob is also a choking hazard... my dwarfs had bits stuck in their mouth/throat and tummies when autopsied... cry.gif

126 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:48 AM