QUOTE(kembara @ Aug 24 2007, 11:05 AM)
The dedusted softwood shavings ensure soft and hygienic nest.
The natural shavings are made from specially chosen domestic fir and spruce woods, that are from their very compositions absorbent, odour-binding and guarantee a pleasant environment just right for pets.
http://www.jrs.de/cgi-bin/wPermission.cgi?...i_classic.shtmlq: is fir and spruce wood safe forour hammies..?
Don't trust the website..... as I said, trust your nose. Now Chipsi got 1 weird smell.... softwood means pine.... fir and spruce are related to pine. Almost all softwoods secret phenol gas which are harmful in the long run..... we just cannot see. If you dare do experiment, sure can see wan. Place a hamster or mouse in a tank with wood shavings and another hamster or mouse in a tank with paper or hay..... the ones on the wood shavings will normally die first coz their lungs and liver suffer from the phenol poisoning..... I remember reading a website a lady did, her pet rat died and she cut him open, the lungs were infected and black.... The only wood shavings that is super safe is Aspen, which is so expensive here.
Chipsi and Delikate, both are softwoods but the smells produced by Chipsi is much more. So go for Delikate.... if you can afford, change the bedding totally to Breeder's Celect or Healthy Pet or Corn cob..... those are healthier.
QUOTE(iSeeDeadPeople @ Aug 24 2007, 02:32 PM)
hihi maybe you can help with my problem.. when i first started off trying to rare this hamsters.. btw i have 2 winter pearls. Everything was ok.. they got along just fine.. But after that the male started to fight with the female.. so i got rid of the male (send back to the store) and ask to swap for another female. So no breeding lor.. anyways after that still ok.. the 2 females got along just fine.. but still got like sometimes they will fight.. but not so severe..
After that i decided to get 2 more females.. Also got along for a few weeks, but after that they started to fight with each other.. 1 by 1 died.. and then left 2. After a few weeks after that.. the 2 started to fight also.. so i couldnt stand it, i seperated the both of them into 2 different cages. Now both of them are soooo garang.. I dont dare to touch already coz one day my son got bitten while trying to pick her up.. Then after that.. once i also got bitten when i wanted to change the bedding. What is causing them to fight until death and act so aggro? I just pity those that died so much.. How to make them tame

When hamsters are bought from petshops, they are normally young so they have no grudges against each other. Once mature, around 3 to 4 months old, slowly you can start to see which will be more aggressive and dominant. How big was your cage or tank? I normally see more fighting in cages than tanks.... but then if the tank is small then surely will have squabbles and fights. Squabbling is ok as it lets each hamster remind one another who is more dominant than the other. As long no continuous loud fighting and no wounds on the body, then it is safe.
Your mistake was introducing another 2 females.... hamsters actually get quite stress out when you intro new members to them. There is actually a method to introduce hamsters and it takes time and lots of tank washing.
The hamsters are now aggressive, coz they have been fighting on and off for territory, they now keep their guard up and act defensively if any thing enters their cage. That is why they bit you and your son.
Taming them again is gonna be a long and patient procedure. You must now show the hamsters that you are not a threat. Don't catch them using your hand. Use a bowl or cup to scoop them out. Place them on a neutral place like a table or chair, show them your hand, let them smell. Nibbling is ok as they are just testing. Hamsters have poor eyesight so nibbling and touching with their mouths are just away of being cautious. Handfeed their favourite treats..... do this everyday, then they will warm up in time. For now, don't ever use your hand to catch them out of their cages..... use bowls or cups.
Hamsters prefer to live alone.... only Roborovskis need to be in social groups.
QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Aug 24 2007, 02:55 PM)
U wan tame hamsters? Get from breeders. Sure tame. Those petstores hamsters are sick, untamed, And winter whites perfers to stay alone. they are solitary animals. If fighting occurs.. Then seperate each hamster.
The only solution now is juz seperate ur hamster each in a tank/cage.
Sorry to say if u hav only 1 cage then u will have to get another 1. so now u got how many hamster now? if can u get a big transparent plastic fish tank then use cardboard or something to block in the centre to prevent them from biting lor.
I got 2 winter whites. They are very friendly and i never got bitten by them. They stayed along well becoz they are the same age and they are siblings. I bought from someone is this thread "dien".
If u wan tame hamsters.. always buy from breeders as the hamsters are well treated and tame.
Good luck!
Yups, true. Breeders can tell if the hamsters can get along well or not for they have seen the hamsters since born till ready for homes. Sometimes it really depends on luck when it comes to fighting.... some siblings won't fight or squabble but some will bully and squabble for space or food..... this kinda cases can be seen where 1 hamster is big while another appears smaller.... the smaller one is the one getting bullied and pushed around.
I still feel that solitary lives for them is the best for WW and RC hamsters..... unless you have a large nice airy tank for a pair or a small group, then fighting will not really occur much....