Discussion Copa America Venezuela 2007, Brazil Champions !
Duke Red
Jun 28 2007, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(faris21 @ Jun 28 2007, 09:50 AM) Final ResultEcuador..............2 16' A Valencia 23' C Benítez Chile..................3 21' H Suazo 80' H Suazo 87' C Villanueva Bloody hell, Chile actually came back? When I left for the gym this morning, it was 2-1 in favour of Ecuador and they were all over the Chileans!
Duke Red
Jun 28 2007, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(faris21 @ Jun 28 2007, 12:29 PM) look Chile started to begin new succesfull era since Zamorano-Salas era Chile has been shit since Zamorano and Sala left the side. In the match against Ecuador, they were overwhelmed in midfield for much of the game. Even in past when they had Zamorano and Sala up front, they didn't have much to offer at the back. Added on June 28, 2007, 12:39 pmQUOTE(KrazyChinaman @ Jun 28 2007, 12:34 PM) can u imagine that? brasil got 9 shots on target n 11 off target, none of them went in... If you ask me it's down to crap finishing rather than luck, that is often used as a convenient excuse for losing. This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jun 28 2007, 12:39 PM
Duke Red
Jun 28 2007, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(KrazyChinaman @ Jun 28 2007, 12:51 PM) well i dun think those r crap finishing, rather they didnt shoot the right place... those werent some of the mexican GK greatest saves(speaking of the experience being a GK).. I know what you mean mate but when people tell me they play defender or keeper, I'm always reminded of Shebby going, "In my playing days...", and I think to myself, "Shebby, you were playing for Malaysia, Steve McMahon played for England! At the World Cup!, big difference in class there". Great saves but in the end, you pay the price for not finishing. I wouldn't call it luck, as you say the keeper played a blinder. It was just his day I suppose.
Duke Red
Jun 29 2007, 10:37 AM
Paul Masefield is bearable but can someone please shoot Shebby??!!?!  His commentary is pedestrian at best. At one point he went, "That's right Veron, it doesn't matter how big name a player you are, you still have to put on your shin pads right, and your socks.. erm you socks right", or something to that effect. I wake up every morning now looking forward to a good game of football, and then I hear the ever so distinctive voice of one Shebby Singh. Credit to Paul Masefield for not giving him a smack to the head. Waking up to Shebby is like getting up in the morning, gazing at the sun rise from the horizon, listening to the birds singing, taking in a breath of fresh air, looking forward to a great day ahead, only to discover your dog has died.
Duke Red
Jun 29 2007, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(hax123 @ Jun 29 2007, 05:06 PM) also he's gone on and on having his i-told-you-so speech about the lack of pace in the argie's defence when the american scored. argh...that's so farking annoying man  I remember that as well. Something about Ayala being a great player but lacks pace and Milito being... can't remember the word he used.
Duke Red
Jul 11 2007, 10:57 AM
Is that still the latest score? I was watching the first half and what a game is was! Was hoping to catch a bit of the 2nd half before leaving for work but the mother p* floodlight had to go on strike. Uruguay have really been sparked by the return of Recoba whose career went silent for awhile. He is lethal from deadball situations and twice tried to score from a corner. If anything, I would not be disappointed to see Uruguay in the final after the performance they are dishing out now. The Brazilians on the other hand have been giving Uruguay captain, Lugano a torrid time and he was fortunate not to concede a penalty in the first half.
Please continue to provide updates mates! Cheers!
Added on July 11, 2007, 10:57 amDoni to suck and Uruguay to go through?
This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jul 11 2007, 10:57 AM
Duke Red
Jul 11 2007, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(e30 @ Jul 11 2007, 01:57 PM) brasillllllll were super lucky to reach the final. and all the controversy regarding lugano's PK, i believe even if doni didnt step off his line, he still woulld've saved it as it was really a poor penalty. so tomorrow will be an epic match between the argies and the mexicans, cant wait for it. hope mascherano scores again!!!! Well Lugano was lucky to escape unpunished when he nudged a Brazilian player (Wagner Love, Robinho?)to the ground in the first half, so I guess justice was served.
Duke Red
Jul 12 2007, 11:04 AM
Did anyone notice Shebby's lack of vocabulary earlier? He was trying to describe a wayward pass from Veron and went, "... he likes to make those, I can't find the word for it, 'ooohhhhhh' passes. Passes that make the crowd go 'oooohhhhhhhhh'. Either that or those 'wahhhhhhh' passes".
I must give credit to Paul Masefield for being able to tolerate Mr. To be honest.
Duke Red
Jul 12 2007, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(faris21 @ Jul 12 2007, 11:11 AM) must be with Malaysia too even we lost 5-1 Yeah well Mexico tried, we didn't.
Duke Red
Jul 12 2007, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(e30 @ Jul 12 2007, 12:36 PM) ^ i disagree on the veron thing. i thought he was poor, and gave away the ball too cheaply. he tries too many of those fancy flicks but makes a mess of it. i dunno why he is starting for argentina. i prefer fernando gago over him. I agree with your observation. I somehow reckon Argentina would be a better team if he's dropped and Riquelme allowed to dictate play all by himself.
Duke Red
Jul 12 2007, 06:05 PM
And what do you think?
Duke Red
Jul 16 2007, 08:46 AM
Try not to type in caps, makes it seem at though you're shouting, and no one likes "I told you so" comments. Kudos for getting it right, but backing Brazil isn't exactly a big stretch. There were after all 1 of the 2 favourites. Would have been more impressive had you backed someone like Mexico and they won it.
Argentina are arguably the team which plays with a little more flair these days. Under Scolari, Brazil were criticised for adopting a more technical and this boring approach to the game. The same can be said under Dunga. It just comes to show that sometimes you have to play effective football and not attractive football, to get results.